|
MATHEMATICS EDUCATION This subject guide provides a partial list of internet websites in Mathematics Education. The goal of this list is to assist teachers in grades K-12 with lesson plans, strategies, professional readings and state standards in math. If you have questions or comments, please do not hesitate to call (910) 672-1233.
Mathematics Websites APlusMath.Com http://www.aplusmath.com/ - This website was developed to help students improve their math skills interactively. AIMS Puzzles http://www.aimsedu.org/Puzzle/index.html - Site is designed to provide teachers with a variety of interesting puzzles that can be used to create a learning environment where students engage in doing mathematics. Ask Dr. Math http://mathforum.org/dr.math/ - This is a question and answer site for math students and their teachers. CoolMath.Com - http://www.coolmath.com - A very fun site full of Math stuff! Franklin Institute Mathematics Hotlist http://www.fi.edu/tfi/hotlists/math.html - Site contains a plethora of information in the field of mathematics and computer science. Funbrain Math Games http://www.funbrain.com/ - Designed for K-8 grades, this site has numerous activities for students. IFigure: Online Calculators http://ifigure.com - Website provides links to online calculators and worksheets. Math Activities for K-12 Teachers http://www.sitesforteachers.com - This site helps teachers and students learn math by using real world application. Math Help http://www.study-habits.com/subjects/math-help/ Math in Daily Life http://www.learner.org/exhibits/dailymath/ - Site provides real-life examples to teach mathematics. Math2.Org - http://www.sisweb.com/math/tables.htm - Site contains tons of formulas and tables that you had to learn at one time in your life. MegaMathematics http://www.c3.lanl.gov/mega-math/ - Website designed to bring unusual and important mathematical ideas to students and teachers. Mrs. Glosser's Math Goodies from http://www.mathgoodies.com/ - This free educational website features interactive math lessons, homework help, work sheets to help teachers, parents, and students understand mathematics. Multiplication.com http://www.multiplication.com/ - Site contains the techniques, tips, and secrets used by master teachers in teaching the times tables. Quia Math http://www.quia.com/shared/math/ - Subscription site to mathematics problems. Room 108 Math Activities http://www.netrover.com/~kingskid/108.html - Site is an educational activity center for children. Activities include how to tell time and how to connect dots to name a few. SuperKids Math Worksheet Creator http://www.superkids.com/aweb/tools/math/ - Site contains math drill worksheets. Areas covered include addition, subtraction, and multiplication to name a few. Take A Challenge http://www.figurethis.org/index40.htm - Funded by the Department of Education. This site helps parents, teachers, and students understand basic math concepts. University of Richmond's Web-Based Projects http://www.richmond.edu/~ed344/webunits/math/sport.html - Several sites on mathematics at different education levels. Visual Fractions http://www.visualfractions.com/ - Site provides a visual understanding of fractions.
Mathematics Education and Association Web Sites Math and Science Education Center, Fayetteville State University - http://www.uncfsu.edu/msec/ North Carolina Standards in Mathematics - http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/curriculum/mathematics/ National Council of Teachers of Mathematics - http://www.nctm.org/ - AIMS Education Foundation - http://www.aimsedu.org/ - Current activities integrating NCTM Standards in Mathematics and Science. Association for Woman In Mathematics - http://www.awm-math.org// American Mathematical Society - http://www.ams.org/new-in-math/ See what's new in Mathematics! Charles A. Dana Center, University of Texas at Austin - http://www.utdanacenter.org/about.html - Resources about mathematics education targeting rural and ethnic minority children. Learn NC, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - http://www.learnnc.org/ MathForum@Drexel - http://mathforum.org/ The primary goal of this site is to provide resources, materials, and interaction among professionals. North Carolina Math and Science Education Network (NC-MSEN) - http://www.unc.edu/depts/msen/
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC 28301 updated 06/30/2010 |