JOURNALS

> Previous Page

FSU students, faculty, and staff can access electronic and print journals several different ways:

Journal Finder:
Journal Finder's Advanced Search feature arranges the electronic journals by subject for you.  By selecting Accounting you can browse and select from over 150 electronic accounting journals.

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service:
Millions of articles from various publishers available.

Library's Online Catalog:
Search for journal titles through the library's online catalog.

Selected Journals In Chesnutt Library:

Title

Coverage

Accounting & Finance

5/1/1993 -

Accounting Education

3/1/1992 - lack most recent 12 months

Accounting Forum

3/1/1999 -

Accounting Auditing & Accountability Journal

1/1/1988 -

Accounting, Business and Financial  History

10/1/1990 - lack most recent 12 months

The British Accounting Review

3/1/1993 -

Contemporary Accounting Research

9/1/1984 - lack most recent 6 months

Critical Perspectives on Accounting

3/1/1993 -

Journal of Accounting Research

1/1/1963 -

Journal of Business Finance & Accounting

3/1/1974 -

Journal of International Financial Management and Accounting

3/1/1989 -

Management Accounting Research

3/1/1993 -

Review of Accounting Studies

3/1/1997 -

Review of Quantitative Finance and  Accounting

1/1/1997 -

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

STANDARDS

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
The home page of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB)

Responsible for creating accounting standards and principles for the federal government.

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Establishes and improves accounting standards for the private sector of the United States.

Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
R
esponsible for creating and improving accounting standards for state and local governments.


International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Develops accounting standards for the international community.

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

THE BIG FOUR

Click on the above link for a brief history of the Big Four international accountancy firms.
  Below are links to their individual web sites:

PricewaterhouseCoopers

Deloitte

Ernst & Young

KPMG

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

SELECTED DATABASES
Use the Database Finder to Identify Other Business Related Databases

Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals

Business Source Premier 
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexes business periodicals. Now with more full text

Cabell's  
Information about scholarly journals from the perspective of the author …the professor's guide to success."  Includes Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management and Marketing

Compustat  
Archival North American accounting data from Standard & Poor's.
Requires network drive access and client installation.  Contact Library IT Department.

EBSCOhost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously

LexisNexis  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

Mergent Online 
Mergent Online databases are the electronic version of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals.
They provide access to global business and financial information for active and inactive
companies in over 80 countries.

NC LIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the
form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

ScienceDirect  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles.

Wilson Business Abstracts  
(1986-current). International English-language business magazines, covering
accounting, finance, management, and small business.

World Scope Snapshots  
Derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Includes description of the business, selected financials, key ratios, and officers.

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

WEB RESOURCES

Accounting Education.com
A current awareness service for the academic accounting
     community. Site features include current news, job postings,
conferences, and literature reviews, and the Journals Index section
contains the latest titles from major publications with abstracts.

Accounting Information at Business.com
Features information for accounting professionals including
directory listings,web listings, news and company profiles.

Accounting Tutorial
This site, created by the University of Florida's business library,
outlines a ten step process for doing accounting research.
While some of the sources mentioned may not be accessed through
Chesnutt Library, please contact an FSU librarian to find
comparable sources for your research needs. 

CPAdirectory
The largest on-line database of Certified Public Accountants.

CPA net
Provides information on professional accounting issues,
including consulting, audit, financial planning, and taxes.

SmartPros
A leader in online and offline continuing education for professionals.
     With more than 2,000 hours of content, SmartPros has been
providing mandatory continuing education products since 1981.

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory

A comprehensive index of web-based tax and accounting resources.
The directory is designed to be a starting point for people who are
searching for tax and accounting information, products, and services.   

Tax & Accounting Industry Websites
An excellent collection of websites consisting
of accounting associations and state tax agencies.

WebCPA
"A leading provider of online business news for the tax and accounting
community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis,
and a host of Web-related resources and services."

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

E-BOOKS

Access the full-text of over 13,000 reference, scholarly and professional books through NetLibrary.  NetLibrary is restricted to FSU students, faculty and staff. 
Below are some examples of accounting and/or auditing titles found in NetLibrary:

Accounting Best Practices (eBook)
by Bragg, Steven M.
Publication: New York John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (US), 2001.

The Auditor's SAS Field Guide 2001 (eBook)
by Guy, Dan M.; Carmichael, D. R.
Publication: New York ; Chichester John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (US), 2001.

CPA Examination Review, 2001 : Accounting and Reporting : Taxation, Managerial, Governmental, and Not-for-profit Organizations (eBook)
by Delaney, Patrick R.; Hopkins, Debra R.
Publication: New York ; Chichester John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (US), 2001.

The CPA's Guide to Professional Ethics (eBook)
by Guy, Dan M.; Carmichael, D. R.; Lach, Linda.
Publication: New York John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (US), 2001
.

Return to Accounting and Auditing Subject Guide Home Page

ASSOCIATIONS

Academy of Accounting Historians
The American Accounting Association
Association of College & University Auditors
Association of Government Accountants
Beta Alpha Psi
The Institute of Internal Auditors
International Federation of Accountants
National Association of Local Government Auditors
The National Association of Small Business Accountants
The National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers
National Society of Accountants
North Carolina Association of CPAs

 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC, 28301
Page Maintained by:  jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:  May 5, 2006