American Literature Research Guide
> Previous Page
This guide serves as a brief
introduction to the major resources found in the college library. The library
has a vast collection of books, journals, videos, and sound recordings, most of
which can be found in the online catalog. You can explore these resources when
looking for background information or doing research on a particular book or
A subject heading or keyword
African American literature in the online catalog will present many books in the
Chesnutt Library. Titles include:
literature: an anthology of nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and drama.
(Main Stacks PS508.N3 A33 1993)
African American literature. (Ref PS153.N5 M264 1992)
anthology of African American literature. (Ref PS508.N3 N67 1997)
Oxford companion to
African American literature. (Ref/Main Stacks PS153.N5 O96 1997)
The library has several
databases for information on African American literature including reviews of
specific works and criticism and theory.
Academic Search Elite
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly
journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late
eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Indexed from 1750 to 1900.
(1600 - 1900). Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the
Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
American Slavery: A
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States
compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
Master File Premier
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health,
general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text
electronic information and indexes.
An electronic database with a reliable and comprehensive archive of
scholarly journal literature covering many disciplines.
Check out the following web
sites on African American literature:
W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC