> Previous Page

 

Banking and Finance Subject Guide
Electronic Sources    


Electronic Journals

     FSU students, faculty and staff have access to EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (ejs) which is your gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.

 

     You also have access to Journal Finder, which provides online and print access to journals in banking and finance in the advanced search under Business Administration.

 


 

Electronic Databases

Electronic Databases are restricted to FSU students Faculty and staff only.  In order to access  resources from off-campus, patrons must identify themselves as FSU affiliates by entering name, University ID number and library PIN. Please follow the instructions for OFF CAMPUS ACCESSElectronic databases are electronic indexes to journals, newspaper articles, conference papers and much more.  Full-text databases are a good place to begin your research as you can print, save or email complete articles.  Other databases provide citations/abstracts. Below is an annotated list of the more popular electronic databases which may be used to locate banking and finance resources.

 

Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals.

Business Source Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexes business periodicals. Now with more full text.

Cabell's  
Information about scholarly journals from the perspective of the author "…the professor's guide to success"

Emerald Full-Text Journals  
Contains over 35,000 articles from over 100 management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Covers the major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, communication, marketing, finance, and human resources.

Global Development Finance (GDF)  
The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.

Hoover’s Company Capsules  
Provides basic information on more than 13,500 public and private companies. This data includes addresses, phone and fax numbers, names of key officers, sales and employment figures and stock symbols.

International Monetary Fund  
The IMF is an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

Mergent Online  
Mergent Online databases are the electronic version of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals. They provide access to global business and financial information for active and inactive companies in over 80 countries.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously.

Reference USA  
ReferenceUSA contains detailed information about more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.

Value Line Research Center  
The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Wall Street Journal  
Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1995+

 

Wall Street Journal Historical  
The Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1985) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

World Bank Group  
Time series databases from the World Bank.

 

World Development Indicators (WDI)  
Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

 

World Scope Snapshots  
(Current). Derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Includes description of the business, selected financials, key ratios, and officers.


Web Resources

AMEX-American Stock Exchange

Bloomberg.com - This website contains financial, world, and market news.

CNN Money-Follow the latest business stories, get stock quotes, and follow market rumors.  Check out the latest world headlines from CNN.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)-Provides information on the national financial system.

Federal Reserve System-The central bank of the United States, founded by Congress.

Fidelity Investments -Fidelity offers mutual funds, brokerage services and a wide variety of online financial information for investors.

The Financial Data Finder - contains an in-depth collection of financial web sites designed to assist students and researchers.

Finance Mag: Financial Information Link Library- Great collection of links.

FinanceWise - This site features a search engine specifically designed to locate relevant financial information.  Includes special reports on the Euro, Risk Management, Market Data and much more.  Registration is free.

Financial Times Daily-Read the latest world financial news and get key market data.

Investor Web- Covers investing in detail including information for beginning investors and extensive company links, newsletters and private equity investing information.

InvestorWords.com - "The biggest, best investing glossary on the web."

JP Morgan-Rich web page with RiskMetrics system, recruiting information and market commentary. A new system called CreditMetrics is also featured.

London Stock Exchange - Home

MSN Money - CNBC Investing Home - This is one of the few sites that offers rich historical stock data.  In addition, you will find great charting, current market news, portfolio tracking and more.

Mergent Online-Provides detailed information on both U.S. and international companies including annual reports, fact sheets, and equity portraits.  Features EDGAR Search to allow for searches against SEC filings.

Morning Star-Provides stock/mutual fund quotes and reports.

NASDAQ -Provides detailed company information.

National Financial Services Network -Find information on many types of loans, insurance and investments.

NUMA -Best information on the Web on derivatives. Fun and informative.

NYSE- The New York Stock Exchange

NY Times Banking Center - This site is updated daily and includes quotes from both nationwide and statewide financial institutions.

PCQuote -Get free quotes, fundamental information, look up symbols and access MarketSmart with Markets at a Glance, Currency Watch, Fixed Income Watch, rankings and more.

Quicken Financial Network- Features information for users of Quicken.

StockMaster -This great source provides quotes plus stock and mutual fund charts and lots of links.

Stocks.com:  Financial Resource Guide - Very comprehensive list of finance links.  Well done.

Tokyo Stock Exchange

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission - Edgar database provides SEC filings online (10Ks, 13Ds).

Wells Fargo - Wells Fargo offers commercial banking, ATM machine search, a virtual secure mall and a variety of personal financial services. You can check your account balance and recent transactions over the internet at no charge. Good page!

Yahoo Financial Services- Find hundreds of companies and services involved in markets, finance and investments.

Zacks Investment Research - Zacks provides coverage of 10,000 publicly traded companies. The research is compiled from over 3,200 analysts at more than 185 different brokerage houses.


FSU Department of Managerial Economics and Finance

Content Developed by: Gloria J. Garner

Updated by Linette Neal on 4/13/06

Phone:  910-672-1230

E-mail: lneal3@uncfsu.edu

06/30/2010