Chemistry Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Chemistry Subject Guide Contents

 

 Chemistry iconGetting Started

Reference Resources

Electronic Databases & Indexes

 Journal Titles

 Related Subject Guides

Related Web Sites

 

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

Other Useful Electronic Databases & Indexes

Database Finder

Off-Campus Access

 

 

 

Electronic Indexes and Databases:

Electronic indexes and databases provide citations or references to the articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, government documents, etc. In some library databases, the full text of the articles is available.

 

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  

 

Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Scifinder Scholar  
SciFinder Scholar is today's leader in providing the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. NOTE! On campus use only.

FSU Web access campus or home CA Selects  
Chemistry and Forensic Science Resource  "Please leave the Login Id and Password boxes blank, --- Just click the Login button."

FSU Web access campus or home Journal of Chemical Education  
Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) Index contains citations for all articles published in the Journal. Author names and titles of articles have been indexed from 1924 to the present.

FSU Web access campus or home Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles.

BACK TO TOP

Other Useful Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

FSU Web access campus or home Access Science  
Access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology.


FSU Web access campus or home Agricola  
(1970-current). Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture.


FSU Web access campus or home American Chemical Society  
Access dozens of journals published by the American Chemical Society.


FSU Web access campus or home Basic Biosis  
(1994-current). A wide range of bioscience topics.


FSU Web access campus or home Bio Digest  
(1989-current). Non-technical digests in biology, ecology & health.


FSU Web access campus or home BioAGINDEX  
(1983-current). English-language periodicals in life sciences and agricultural subjects, published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Includes book reviews.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.


FSU Web access campus or home CA Selects  
Chemistry and Forensic Science Resource "Please leave the Login Id and Password boxes blank, --- Just click the Login button."


FSU Web access campus or home Cinahl Plus with full text  
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. (index 1982+; abstracts 1986-current ).


FSU Web access campus or home CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.


FSU Web access campus or home Digital Dissertations, Proquest Full Text  
With more than two million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Titles since 1997 have 24 page previews available in pdf format.


FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home Enciclopedia Universal en Español  
 


FSU Web access campus or home Eventline  
(1989-current). Scheduled conventions, exhibits, etc., worldwide.


FSU Web access campus or home Facts.com  
(1980-current). Contains information from seven core reference databases covering events, issues, statistics, and people of the last 20 years.


FSU Web access campus or home FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.


FSU Web access campus or home FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.


FSU Web access campus or home GeoBase  
(1980-current). Worldwide literature on geography and geology.


FSU Web access campus or home Institute of Physics Electronic Journals  
33 online journals. Institute of Physics Publishing, is a leading international publisher of journals, books and magazines in physics and a world leader in electronic publishing.


FSU Web access campus or home Journal of Chemical Education  
Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) Index contains citations for all articles published in the Journal. Author names and titles of articles have been indexed from 1924 to the present


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home Medline  
(1965-current). Indexes and abstracts biomedical literature. Now with more full text


FSU Web access campus or home Nature  
Nature Online provides a forum for the reporting and discussion of the latest and most significant news and issues concerning all different branches of science.


FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home NetLibrary  
Access to the full text of more than 13,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Physical Review Letters  
American Physics Society


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home PubMed  
Includes MEDline and more medical resources.


FSU Web access campus or home Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.


FSU Web access campus or home Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles


FSU Web access campus or home Science Magazine  
A highly respected scientific publication, which also features the ability to download the data or supporting documents of the article


FSU Web access campus or home Science Now  
An E-magazine of full text articles in the natural sciences that strive to be on topic and timely. RSS and Email alerts available


FSU Web access campus or home Science’s Next Wave  
Career resources and news for scientists and those considering the profession.


FSU Web access campus or home Scifinder Scholar  
SciFinder Scholar is today's leader in providing the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. NOTE! On campus use only


FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.


FSU Web access campus or home Wiley  
Features over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly


 

BACK TO TOP

 

Database Finder

Use Database Finder to search for a list of databases recommended for Chemistry.

1. On the Library's home page select Databases

2. Click the drop-down menu Select a Subject located under Browse the Subject List of Databases

3. Scroll down to Chemistry, click Go

BACK TO TOP

 

Off Campus Access

Students, faculty, and staff can access the majority of electronic databases and indexes available at Chesnutt Library from computers located off-campus.

 

1. On the Library's home page select Off-Campus Access (located under Services near the bottom of the page).

2. Read the information and click Create a PIN now

3. Enter the requested information, including a new pin at least 4 digits long.

4. A similar screen will pop up prompting you to enter the PIN two more times.

5. If successful you be in My Library Record. If you receive an error or invalid PIN message contact the Circulation desk at 910-672-1231 for help.

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Page Design By Laura Bell Wright
Last Updated:
1/22/09