Criminal Justice Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Criminal Justice Subject Guide Contents

 

Magnifying glass Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides

Criminology & Criminal Justice Related Web Sites

 

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

Other Useful Electronic Databases & Indexes

Database Finder

Off-Campus Access

 

 

 

Electronic Indexes and Databases:

Electronic indexes and databases provide citations or references to the articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, government documents, etc. In some library databases, the full text of the articles is available.

 

 

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Criminal Justice Abstracts  

 

FSU Web access campus or home Criminal Justice Abstracts off-campus 
 

Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Prepared in co-operation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library, Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.

 

Subject Coverage - Major areas of coverage include:

   Adult Corrections

   Behavioral Science

   Courts and the Legal Process

   Crime, the Offender & the Victim

   Crime Prevention & Control Strategies

   Economic & Political Sciences

   Education

   Juvenile Justice & Delinquency

   Law

   Police

   Psychology

   Social Work

   Substance Abuse

 

Dates of Coverage: 1968 – current

Update Frequency: Quarterly

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Criminal Justice Periodicals  
 

Proquest Criminal Justice Periodical Index provides a comprehensive selection of US and international criminal justice journals for students and professionals. Subjects covered include law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

 

Subject area: Social sciences, education, and humanities

Coverage: 1981 - present
Total titles covered: 190. The database offers ASCII text, image, and Text+Graphics coverage for about 50 of the titles most frequently accessed by criminal justice researchers. CJPI also include complete indexing and abstracts for another 140 relevant U.S. and international journals.

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  

 

FSU Web access campus or home Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  
OFF CAMPUS PATRONS

 

Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
 

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information. Use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe for basic legal research including case law, codes and regulations, and secondary literature.

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  
 

Summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research, reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public. The NCJRS Database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications. This Database contains abstracts, not full-text documents. Most documents published by NCJRS sponsoring agencies -- the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, the Office for Victims of Crime, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, and the Bureau of Justice Assistance, all part of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy -- since 1995 are available in full-text online. When the full-text is available online, a link is included with the abstract.

BACK TO TOP

 

Other Useful Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Books in Print Professional  
comprehensive database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Congressional Record  
(1995-current). The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Congressional Universe  
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, laws, bill and regulations and member and committee information.

 

FSU Web access campus or home CQ Researcher Online  
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.

 

FSU Web access campus or home CQ Weekly  
Fully archived to 1983 on the Web, CQ Weekly looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously

 

FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Facts.com  
(1980-current). Contains information from seven core reference databases covering events, issues, statistics, and people of the last 20 years.

 

FSU Web access campus or home FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Federal Register  
(1995-current). The official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Fedworld  
National Technical Information Services. Federal job announcements, agency site directory, more.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Global Newsbank  
(1996-current). Newspaper articles from around the world. Newsbank.

 

FSU Web access campus or home GPO  
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.

 

FSU Web access campus or home GPO Monthly Catalog  
(1976-current). Monthly Catalog of United States publications. Contains records of reports, studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc., issued by all U.S. federal government agencies and the U.S. Congress.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  
(1981-current). International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Infotrac OneFile  
InfoTrac OneFile includes over 6,325 titles indexed from 1980 to present; nearly 3,000 full-text titles, including Expanded Academic ASAP.

 

FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Legal Trac  
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

 

FSU Web access campus or home MAS Full-text : Ultra School Edition  
Provides full text for nearly 460 general interest and current events magazines

 

FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

 

FSU Web access campus or home PAIS International  
(1972-current). Citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Digital Dissertations  
With more than two million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Titles since 1997 have 24 page previews available in pdf format.

 

FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously

 

FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Psychology Journals  
Over 400 journals and related publications in psychology.

 

FSU Web access campus or home PsychInfo  
1887-current). Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.

 

FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Social Work Abstract  
The Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 45,000 records, from 1977 - present, from social work and related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and more.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Statistical Universe  
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.

 

FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.

 

FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

BACK TO TOP

 

Database Finder

Use Database Finder to search for a list of databases recommended for Criminal Justice.

1. On the Library's home page select Databases

2. Click the drop-down menu Select a Subject located under Browse the Subject List of Databases

3. Scroll down to Criminal Justice, click Go

BACK TO TOP

 

Off Campus Access

Students, faculty, and staff can access the majority of electronic databases and indexes available at Chesnutt Library from computers located off-campus.

 

1. On the Library's home page select Off-Campus Access (located under Services near the bottom of the page).

2. Read the information and click Create a PIN now

3. Enter the requested information, including a new pin at least 4 digits long.

4. A similar screen will pop up prompting you to enter the PIN two more times.

5. If successful you be in My Library Record. If you receive an error or invalid PIN message contact the Circulation desk at 910-672-1231 for help.

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 12/18/06