Criminal Justice Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Criminal Justice Subject Guide Contents

 

Magnifying glass Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides

Criminology & Criminal Justice Related Web Sites

 

Getting Started

Collecting Background Information

Library Guide to Starting Research

Searching for Materials at Chesnutt Library

 

 

Collecting Background Information: 

Reference sources provide excellent background information. Save yourself time and frustration by browsing through an encyclopedia, dictionary, or handbook to get an overview of the subject and determine the best way to approach your topic.  Collecting background information on your topic can help you expand your search term vocabulary and conduct better searches. Reference sources are a stepping stone to the primary and secondary sources that should comprise the bulk of your research. For example, encyclopedia articles are often followed by carefully selected bibliographies or lists of references to other works, useful items to have as you begin looking for additional information. The library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

BACK TO TOP

 

Library Guide to Starting Research

The subject guide Introduction to Library Research has a section titled "Library Guide to Starting Research" with useful tips on:

 

Developing a Research Topic
Collecting Background Information
Identifying Types of Information Sources
Evaluating Information Sources

Checklist for Evaluation Information

Citing Sources and Plagiarism

BACK TO TOP

Searching for Materials at Chesnutt Library

Introduction to Library Research includes a section called "Searching for Materials at Chesnutt Library" that has useful tips for:

Searching the Chesnutt Library Online Catalog

Searching for journal articles, book reviews, etc.

Searching for Journal Titles

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:  8/2/05