Criminal Justice Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Criminal Justice Subject Guide Contents

 

Magnifying glass Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides

Criminology & Criminal Justice Related Web Sites

 

Reference Resources

Atlases

Bibliographies

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Handbooks & Manuals

Indexes

Statistics

 

 

Atlases:

An atlas is a book containing maps and geographical information.

 

Atlas of Crime: Mapping the Criminal Landscape.

Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000.

This atlas explores and explains how modern mapping techniques and software can be used to reveal important and useful patterns in the location and distribution of different types of crimes.

FSU Reference HV6783 .A85 2000    

 

Rickie Sanders

Growing up in America: An Atlas of Youth in the USA.

New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA, c1998.

This atlas contains a section on children and the criminal justice system.

FSU Reference HB1323.C52 U658 1998    

BACK TO TOP

 

Bibliographies:

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, articles, and other information sources) of information for a specific subject or author.

 

Jean L. Sears

Using Government information Sources: Electronic and Print. 3rd ed.

Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, c2001.

FSU Main Stacks Z1223.Z7 S4 2001    

 

Elizabeth Huffmaster McConnell

American Prisons: An Annotated Bibliography.

Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.

FSU Reference Z5703.4 .P75 M33 1999

 

Lee E. Ross

African American Criminologists, 1970-1996: An Annotated Bibliography.

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.

FSU Main Stacks Z5703 .R668 1998    

 

John D. Hewitt

Criminal Justice in America, 1959-1984: An Annotated Bibliography.

New York: Garland Pub., 1985.

FSU Reference HV9950 .H48 1985

 

Deborah W. Denno

Biological, Psychological, and Environmental Factors in Delinquency and Mental Disorder: A Interdisciplinary Bibliography.

Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985.

FSU Reference HV6080 .D46 1985

 

Bruce L. Davis

Criminological Bibliographies: Uniform Citations to Bibliographies, Indexes, and Review Articles of the Literature of Crime Study in the United States.

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1978

FSU Reference Z5703.A1 D38

BACK TO TOP

 

Dictionaries:  

Dictionaries, at their simplest, define words and terms. Dictionaries can be used to confirm spelling, definition, and pronunciation, to find out how words are used, locate synonyms and antonyms, and trace the origin of words.

 

Mark S. Davis

The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice.

Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2002.

FSU Reference HV6017 .D38 2002    

 

John N. Ferdico.

Criminal Law and Justice Dictionary.

St. Paul: West Pub. Co., c1992.

FSU Main Stacks KF9217 .F47 1992    

 

Dean J. Champion

Dictionary of American Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Supreme Court Cases.

Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.

FSU Reference HV7411 .C53 1998    

 

Vergil L. Williams.

Dictionary of American Penology.

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.

FSU Reference HV9304 .W54 1996    

 

Dictionary of Crime: Criminal Justice, Criminology & Law Enforcement.

New York : Paragon House, 1992.

FSU Reference HV6017 .E5425 1992    

 

Dictionary of Criminal Justice Terms

Lanham, Md: American Correctional Association, c1998.

FSU Reference HV7411 .D53 1998    

 

A Dictionary of Criminology.

Boston: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1983.

FSU Reference HV6949.E5 D5 1983    

 

Dean J Champion

The Roxbury Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases.

Los Angeles, CA: Roxbury Pub. Co., c1997.

FSU Reference HV7411 .C48 1997    

 

Eugene McLaughlin and John Muncie

The Sage Dictionary of Criminology.

London: SAGE, 2001.

FSU Reference HV12 .S34 2001 

 BACK TO TOP

 

Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedias are written by experts and provide a comprehensive summary of a topic.  They are useful for providing facts and giving a broad survey of a topic.

 

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement

Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2005.

FSU Reference HV7921 .E53 2005 v.1-3

 

 

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment.

Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2002.

FSU Reference HV6017 .E524 2002  v.1-4

 

Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997

FSU Reference HV6789 .C6884 1997    

 BACK TO TOP

 

Handbooks & Manuals:

Handbooks treat one broad subject in brief, or give a brief survey of a subject

Manuals tell you how to do something, such as how something operates, or provides descriptions of the inner workings of an organization.

 

Jennifer L. Durham.

Crime in America: A Reference Handbook.

Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c1996.

FSU Reference HV6787 .D87 1996 

 

Michael Tonry (ed.)

The Handbook of Crime and Punishment.

New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

FSU Main Stacks HV6789 .H25 1998

 

M.A. DuPont-Morales, Michael K. Hooper, Judy H. Schmidt (eds.)

Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration.

New York : Marcel Dekker, c2001.

FSU Main Stacks HV7419 .H37 2001

 

Mike McConville and Geoffrey Wilson (eds.)

The Handbook of the Criminal Justice Process.

New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

FSU Main Stacks HV9960.G7 H36 2002 

 

Susan O. White (ed.)

Handbook of Youth and Justice.

New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2001.

FSU Reference HV9069 .H312 2001 

 

Rudy Flora

How to Work With Sex Offenders: A Handbook for Criminal Justice, human Services, and Mental Health Professionals.

New York: Haworth Clinical Practice Press, c2001.

FSU Main Stacks HV6556 .F58 2001

 

Mike Maguire, Rod Morgan, and Robert Reiner (eds.)

The Oxford Handbook of Criminology. 3rd ed.

New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

1 copy being processed for FSU.

 

Mike Maguire, Rod Morgan, and Robert Reiner (eds.)

The Oxford Handbook of Criminology. 2nd ed.

New York : Oxford University Press, 1997

FSU Reference HV6025 .O87 1997 

 

William A. Johnson, Jr. [et al.]

The Criminal Justice Student Writer’s Manual. 2nd ed.

Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, c2002.

FSU Reference HV9950 .C74323 2002

 

 BACK TO TOP

Indexes:

Indexes list citations to periodical articles, books, and proceedings, and tell you where the citations can be found.

 

The Criminal Justice Periodical Index.

FSU Periodicals-Indexes Z5118.C9 C74  1982

 

Criminal justice abstracts

FSU Periodicals

 

Social sciences index

FSU Periodicals

 BACK TO TOP

 

Statistics

 

Crime in the United States

Washington: Bureau of Investigation, U.S. Dept. of Justice: U.S. G.P.O., 1930-

FSU Reference HV6787 .A3  2003 

 

Graeme Newman (ed.)

Global Report on Crime and Justice.

New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

FSU Main Stacks HV7431 .G445 1999 

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 5/12/05