Criminal Justice Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Criminal Justice Subject Guide Contents

 

Magnifying glass Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides

Criminology & Criminal Justice Related Web Sites

 

Criminology & Criminal Justice Related Web Sites

 

North Carolina

Research

National Government Resources

International Government Resources

Professional Associations

Online Databases

 

 

North Carolina:

 

North Carolina Department of Justice

http://www.ncdoj.com/default.jsp

 

North Carolina Department of Correction

http://www.doc.state.nc.us/

 

North Carolina Justice Academy 
http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/

North Carolina Justice Academy Criminal Justice Job Bank

http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/jobs.htm

North Carolina Justice Academy Criminal Justice Links

http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/cjlinks.htm

 

North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation 
http://www.ncsbi.gov/default.jsp

 

Criminal Justice Information Network
http://www.cjin.jus.state.nc.us/

BACK TO TOP 

 

Research:

 

CritCrim.Com

http://critcrim.org/

"This is the web site for the American Society of Criminology (ASC) Division on Critical Criminology and the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) Section on Critical Criminology.The site provides information about critical scholarship related to crime and justice."

 BACK TO TOP

 

National Government Resources:

 

ATF Online, United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives 

http://www.atf.treas.gov/

 

Federal Bureau of Investigation 
http://www.fbi.gov/

 

Uniform Crime Reports at the Federal Bureau of Investigations

http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies.  [from website]

The 2003 edition of Crime in the United States can be found in reference at HV6787 .A3  2003 

 

United States Customs and Border Protection, United States Department of Homeland Security

http://www.customs.treas.gov/

 

United States Department of Justice 
http://www.usdoj.gov/

United States Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Statistics

http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

 

United States Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

http://www.usdoj.gov/dea/

 

USA Jobs 
 http://usajobs.opm.gov/

 BACK TO TOP

 

International Government Resources:

 

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

http://www.unodc.org/unodc/crime_cicp_sitemap.html

 BACK TO TOP

 

Professional Associations

 

American Correctional Association

http://www.aca.org/

 

American Jail Association

http://www.corrections.com/aja/index.shtml

 

American Probation and Parole Association

http://www.appa-net.org/

 

American Society of Criminology

http://www.asc41.com/

 

Correctional Education Association

http://www.ceanational.org/

 

International Corrections and Prisons Association

http://www.icpa.ca/

 

Justice Research and Statistics Association

http://www.jrsa.org/

 

Justice Studies Association

http://www.justicestudies.org/

 

National Association of Police Organizations

http://www.napo.org/

 

National Center for State Courts

http://www.ncsconline.org/

 

National Sheriffs’ Association

http://www.sheriffs.org/

 

Police Executive Research Forum

http://www.policeforum.org/

 

National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice

http://www.nabcj.org/

 BACK TO TOP

 

Online Databases:

 (You are not accessing these site through Chesnutt Library; they are freely available to the public.)

 

Death Penalty Information Center
http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

 

Fed Stats 
http://www.fedstats.gov/

 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service 
http://www.ncjrs.org/

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics

http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Statistics on U.S. crime, offenders and the justice system. Also links to other government and international sources, criminal justice data sets and abstracts of data sets.

 

Federal Bureau of Investigation Uniform Crime Reports

http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm

Includes Uniform Crime Reports, Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Terrorism in the U.S. and other reports.

 

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center

http://fjsrc.urban.org/index.cfm

“The Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC) maintains the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database, which contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. Using data obtained from Federal agencies, the FJSP compiles comprehensive information describing defendants from each stage of Federal criminal case processing.”

 

Justice Research and Statistics Association

http://www.jrsa.org/

 

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/

“The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.”

 

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/

More than 600 tables of Criminal Justice statistics, produced at the University at Albany.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

The federal government's compendium of statistics. Includes both statistics and sources for researching further information.

 BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 4/23/07