Earth Sciences: Geology, Meteorology, Oceanography, and Paleontology

> Previous Page

To Identify the Latest Reference and Main Stacks Resources Always Use FSU's Automated Catalog

Reference Resources Electronic Databases Journal Titles Web Sites

 

Library of Congress Call Number and Subject Headings
QE=Geology     

  • Chemical Oceanography
  • Climatology
  • Earth
  • Earth Sciences
  • Earthquakes
  • Fossils
  • Geochemistry
  • Geology
  • Groundwater
  • Historical Geology
  • Ichnology
  • Meteorology
  • Marine Pollution
  • Mineralogy
  • Ocean
  • Oceanography
  • Paleobotany
  • Paleontology
  • Paleozoology
  • Petrology
  • Rocks
  • Seismology
  • Soil Science
  • Volcanoes
  • Weather

Reference Resources: Geology, Meteorology, Oceanography, and Paleontology

Geology Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library

  Earth and Other Planets  Stacks QB 631 .C37 1995

  Encyclopedia of Earth and Physical Sciences  Ref QE 5 .E513 1998

  Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences  Ref QE 5 .E5137 1996

  Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes  Ref QE 521 .R58 2001

  Geology(Magill's Choice)  E-Book in NetLibrary

  Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Evolution  Ref QE 711.2 .G79

  McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of the Geological Sciences  Ref QE 5 .M29

Geology Dictionaries Available in Chesnutt Library

   Challinor's Dictionary of Geology  Ref QE 5 .C45 1986

   Dictionary of Applied Geology  Ref QE 5 .N44 1967

Other Geology Reference Materials

  GRE Practicing to Take the Geology Test  Ref QE 42 .P73 1998

  Engineering Geology Field Manual Ref TA 705 .E5 1998 

Meteorology Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library

     Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather  Ref QC 854 .E523 1996

Meteorology or Climatology Dictionaries Available in Chesnutt Library

  Dictionary of Global Climate Change  Ref QC 981.8 .C5 M38 1992

   Glossary of Weather and Climate: with Related Oceanic and Hydrologic Terms  Ref QC 854 .G56 1996

Other Meteorology Reference Materials

   Earth Almanac: an Annual Geophysical Review of the State of the Planet  Ref QB 631 .G65 2002

  New York Public Library Science Desk Reference Ref Q 173 .B25 1995

   Weather America: the Latest Detailed Climatological Data for Over 4,000 Places--With Rankings  Ref QC 983 .W385 1996

Oceanography Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library  

  Encyclopedia of Oceanography  Ref GC 9 .F3 1966

  Encyclopedia of the Sea  Ref GC 9 .E38 2000

Other Oceanography Reference Materials

  Global Representative System of Marine Protected Areas  Ref QH 91.75 .G74 G56 1995

Paleontology Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library  

   Atlas of the Prehistoric World  Ref G 1046 .C57 P3

   Encyclopedia of Animal Evolution  Ref QH 366.2 E54 1987

  Encyclopedia of Paleontology  Ref QE 703 .E523 1999

  Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Evolution  Main Stacks QE 711.2 .G79

   Electronic Databases

Earth Sciences

Access Science  
Access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology.

Agricola  
(1970-current). Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture.

Anthropological Index Online  
(1970-current). Citations to publications in the field of anthropology with search engine.

Applied Science and Technology Index  
Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields.

BioAGINDEX  
(1983-current). English-language periodicals in life sciences and agricultural subjects, published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Includes book reviews.

CiteSeer - Scientific Literature Digital Library for accessing scientific literature citations.  Free via the Internet.

Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

GeoBase  
(1980-current). Worldwide literature on geography and geology.

Maps  
NewsBank Reference Maps, includes geographic, political and topographic maps.

Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.

Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles

Scifinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Online)
SciFinder Scholar is today's leader in providing the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. NOTE! On campus use only

Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

General

Academic Search Elite  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

Books in Print  
(Current). Contains current, detailed information on more than 1.9 million titles: author, titles, ISBN, price, publisher, binding, language, illustrations, contact information for publishers, wholesalers, distributors, and much more.

Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

Ebscohost  
 

ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

NetLibrary  
Access to the full text of more than 13,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.

Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.

  Selected Journal Titles in Chesnutt Library:
Go To Earth Sciences, Meteorology, Oceanography, and Paleontology

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Earth Sciences Periodicals or Geology Periodicals

Comptes Rendus De L'Académie Des Sciences. Earth & Planetary Sciences / Série II, Sciences De La Terre Et Des Planètes = 
Comptes Rendus. / Geoscience 
Earth And Planetary Science Letters 
Earth-Science Reviews 
Geoforum / [Electronic Resource] 
Geological Society Of America Bulletin 
Geology 
Global And Planetary Change / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal Of Geology 
Physics And Chemistry Of The Earth. / Part A, Solid Earth And Geodesy [Electronic Resource] 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Meteorology Periodicals or Atmosphere Periodicals or Climatology Periodicals

Atmospheric Research / [Electronic Resource] 
Physics And Chemistry Of The Earth. / Part B, Hydrology, Oceans And Atmosphere [Electronic Resource]  
Climate Alert 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Oceanography Periodicals or Marine Biology Periodicals or Marine Pollution Periodicals 

Deep-Sea Research. / Part I, Oceanographic Research Papers 
Deep-Sea Research. / Part II, Topical Studies In Oceanography 
Journal Of Experimental Marine Biology And Ecology 
Journal Of Marine Systems / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal Of Sea Research 
Marine Fisheries Review / National Oceanic And Atmospheric Administration, National Marine Fisheries Service 
Marine Pollution Bulletin 
Oceanologica Acta / [Electronic Resource] 
Physics And Chemistry Of The Earth. / Part B, Hydrology, Oceans And Atmosphere [Electronic Resource] 
Progress In Oceanography 
Spill Science & Technology Bulletin / [Electronic Resource] 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Paleontology Periodicals or Paleoecology Periodicals 

Geobios 
Palaeogeography, Palaeoclimatology, Palaeoecology 

   Selected Web Sites on Earth Sciences


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 7/10/06