REFERENCE
Selected Resources

> Previous Page

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks provide background material and are often a good place to start your research, as key concepts are explained and a bibliography is often enclosed. The selected resources below are located on the First floor of the Chesnutt Library in the Reference Department.

American economy:  a historical encyclopedia
[HC102 .A66 2003]

Dictionary of economics
[HB61 .B554 2003] 

Encyclopedia of global population and demographics
[HB871 .N43 1999]

Oxford encyclopedia of economic history
[HC15 .O94 2003]

Worldmark encyclopedia of national economies
[HC15 .W675 2002]

Return to Economics Subject Guide Home Page

MAIN STACKS
Selected Resources

The Main Stacks are located on the Second and Third floors of the Library.  If you do not find what you need by browsing the Library of Congress Call Numbers for Economics, please refer to the Library's Online Catalog for more information sources.

Advances in economics and econometrics:  theory and applications : eighth World Congress
[HB139 .A35 2003]
This three-volume set contains essays written by renowned economists regarding developments and trends in economics and econometrics.

Digital economics:  how information technology has transformed business thinking
[HC79.I55 M369 2003]
This book discusses the impact emerging technologies have had on the economy and business practices.  Chapters include “the productivity paradox”, “network effects”, and “emailing and surfing in the workplace.”

Economic growth and macroeconomic dynamics:  recent developments in economic theory
[HD75 .E2615 2004]
"This book brings together a number of contributions in growth theory and macroeconomic dynamics that reflect these more recent developments and the ongoing debate over the relative merits of neoclassical and endogenous growth models."

Essays on the history of economics
[HB75 .E774 2004]
"This volume examines four key subjects in the history of economics:  Adam Smith's concept of the division of labour; whether "recent" developments in economic thought are yet worthy of serious examination; the varying approaches to the history of economic thought embodied in textbooks; and the legacy of Thorstein Veblen as an economics theorist."

Statistical physics and economics:  concepts, tools, and applications
[HB137 .S797 2003]
This book's goal is "to present some of the most useful theoretical concepts and techniques for understanding the physical ideas behind the evolution and the dynamics of economic systems."

Return to Economics Subject Guide Home Page

SELECTED DATABASES

Use the Database Finder to identify other Economics related databases.

Econlit
(1969-current) An index of economic literature.

Economic Development Information Services
Contains data on NC industries and counties as well as a feature to compare our state with others.

Euromonitor
Global Marketing and Economic Database

Global Development Finance (GDF) 
The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.

GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

MOME
The Making of the Modern Economy- A very complete, full-text database of economic writing and primary sources covering the years 1450 to 1850.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc is a service for finding and downloading the latest research results in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of over 200,000 working papers, journal articles and software components.

STAT-USA
U.S. government business and trade information. Password required. Inquire at Reference Desk. On-campus access only.

World Development Indicators (WDI)
Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

The World Factbook
U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Country profiles.

Return to Economics Subject Guide Home Page

WEB RESOURCES

Bureau of Economic Analysis : "The BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy."

Bureau of Labor Statistics"the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor."

EconData.NetA well organized website "containing 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources..."  It's "Data Collections" consists of ten subcategories such as "access tools to multiple data series", "statistical compendia", and "mapping resources."  Each subcategory is composed of links to excellent sources of economic information.  (Websites that charge a fee are marked by a $).

Economagic: Economic Time Series PageThis  site consists of "easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting."  Most of the data pertains to the US, local area employment data, in particular.

Economic Development Information ServicesThis site is maintained by the North Carolina Department of Commerce.  It contains county profiles, regional information, industry profiles, state comparisons, research papers, and Commerce Maps.

EconPapers :  "This web site provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software."  It contains thousands of downloadable working papers, journal articles, software items, books and chapters.

EH.NetThis web site is owned by the Economic History Association.  It has numerous services:  "an Ask the Professor service, research abstract and book review series, a collection of course syllabi, a directory of economic historians, the EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History, several databases, numerous links to websites related to economic history and the popular "How Much Is That?" service - which allows users to easily look up historical prices, interest rates, wage rates, GDP statistics, exchange rates and inflation rates.

EurostatEstablished by the Statistical Office of the European communities, its mission is "to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies.  Their data covers many themes including economy and finance.

History of Economic Thought : "This web site serves as a repository of collected links and information on the history of economic thought, from the ancient times until the modern day.  It is designed for students and the general public, who are interested in learning about economics from a historical perspective."

Joint Economic CommitteeCreated by Congress in 1946, the committee's main task is to "review economic conditions and to recommend improvements in economic policy."  This web site contains the latest economic news, charts, recent studies, and upcoming events.

NC Economic Development BoardThis is North Carolina's top economic advisory board.  This site includes current news, reports and publications concerning the economic development of North Carolina.

North Carolina Economic TrendsThis web site is maintained by the North Carolina Department of Commerce.  It "tracks key economic indicators for the state of North Carolina on a quarterly basis. These include employment, wages, residential building permits, and retail sales. Economic trends are reported for the entire state of North Carolina, its economic regions, and major cities."

Online Glossary of Research Economics : "A general glossary of economics terms found in scholarly and research literature.  It draws from diverse authors for the most easy-to-understand definitions possible and is useful for both the beginner as well as the more advance user."  The terms are grouped by categories accessible by typing in the word "help" in the search box.

St. Louis Fed: Economic ResearchThis site was developed by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.  It contains excellent links to recent data publications, economic data updates, and Federal Reserve databases such as FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research).

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC  28301
Page Maintained By:  Linette Neal, Reference Librarian
Email:  lneal3@uncfsu.edu

Last Updated:  July 3, 2006