RESOURCES IN EDUCATION

> Previous Page

DICTIONARIES DIRECTORIES ENCYCLOPEDIAS HANDBOOKS TEST AND MEASUREMENTS
EDUCATIONAL PERIODICALS: A SELECT LIST WEB RESOURCES FOR TEACHERS LESSON PLANS ON THE WEB ELECTRONIC DATABASES PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS AND ORGANIZATIONS

This guide is a selective overview of the resources available in the Charles Chesnutt Library for research in the field of education.  It describes selected basic sources including dictionaries, periodicals, indexes, encyclopedias, directories and statistical resources.  Testing data and international education are also explored in this guide.

Since education, as a field of study , is often closely related to other disciplines the researcher may find this interdisciplinary and comprehensive.

 If you have any questions, please consult your librarian or call 672-1233.

 

CHARLES CHESNUTT LIBRARY            FAYETTEVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY'S  EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES  

Dictionaries

Dewey, John.  Dictionary of Education.  New York:  Philosophical Library, 1959
    FSU MAIN STACKS  LB 875.D37

Ellington, Henry and Harris, Duncan.  Dictionary of Instructional Technology.              
  New York:  Nichols Publishing Co., 1986
  FSU MAIN STACKS  LB 15.E42 1986

Good, Carter.  Dictionary of Education.  New York:  McGraw Hill. 1973
  FSU REF 15.G6 1973

Grant, Carl A. and Ladson-Billings, Gloria, eds, Dictionary of Multicultural
  Education.  Phoenix, AZ:  Oryx Press. 1997
  FSU REF LC1099.D53 1997

Williams, Phillip.  Glossary of Special Education.  Philadelphia, PA:  Open
  University Press, 1988
  FSU MAIN STACKS LC3986.G7 G568 1988

Return to Menu

Directories

Education Career Directory.  Detroit, MI:  Gale Research, 1994
  FSU REF LB1780.E24 1994

Educator's Internet Yellow Pages.  Upper Saddle, NJ:  Prentice-Hall PTR, 1996.
    FSU REF LB 1044.87 P53 1996

Faculty White Pages.  Detroit, MI:  Gale Research, 1989 -
    FSU MAIN STACKS L901.F27 1991

Guide to American Educational Directories.  New York, NY:  B. Klein, 1963 -
    FSU REF 901.N34 1999

National Faculty Directory.  Detroit, MI:  Gale Research, 1970 -
    FSU REF 901.N34  1999

Sharp, Vicki, et al.  Best Web Sites for Teachers.  Eugene, OR:  International Society
    for Technology in Education, 2000
  FSU MAIN STACKS  LB 1044.87. S53  2000

Woodbury, Marda.  Guide to Sources of Educational Information.  Second Edition.
   Arlington, VA:  Information Resources Press.  1982
   FSU MAIN STACKS Z5811.W65 1982

Return to Menu

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Alkin, Marvin, et al,  Encyclopedia of Educational Research.  Sixth Edition. New York,
    NY: Macmillan. 1992
    FSU REF LB15.E48  1992

Altbach, Philip G.  International Higher Education: An Encyclopedia.  New York, NY.
    Garland Park.  1991
    FSU REF LB 15.I59  1990

Anderson, Lorin, ed, International Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Education.
  Second Edition.  New York, NY:  Pergamon, 1995
  FSU RESERVE  LB1025.3.I58  1995

Chambliss, J., ed, Philosophy of Education:  An Encyclopedia.  New York, NY:
  Garland Pub.  1996
   FSU REF LB17. P485  1996

Clark, Burton and Naeve, Guy, eds.  Encyclopedia of Higher Education.  New York, NY:
  Pergamon Press, 1992
  FSU REF LB15.E49  1992

Dejnozka, Edward L.  American Educator's Encyclopedia.  Westport, CT:  Greenwood
    Press.  1991
  FSU REF LB15.D37  1991

Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law.  Rosemount, MN:  Informational
  Research Systems.  1981 -
  FSU REF KF4114. D46  2001

Encyclopedia of Associations.  Detroit, MI:  Gale Research, 1961 -
  FSU REF AS22. E5 2001

Encyclopedia of Education Information.  Lakeville, CT:  Grey House Publishing, 1994
  FSU REF LB 1028.27. U6 E53  1997

Husen, T. and Postlethwaite, T., eds.  International Encyclopedia of Education.  Oxford,
  England:  Pergamon, 1994
  FSU REF LB15.I569  1994

Jones-Wilson, F. et al., eds. Encyclopedia of African-American Education. Westport, CN:
    Greenwood Press, 1996
  FSU REF LC 2717.E53  1996

Kurian, George.  World Education Encyclopedia.  New York, NY:  Factson File Pub.,
  1988
  FSU REF LB 15. W87  1988

Postlethwaite, T., ed.  Encyclopedia of Comparative Education and National Systems of
    Education.  New York, NY:  Pergamon Press, 1988.
  FSU REF LB43.E53  1988

Reynolds, Cecil R., et al., Encyclopedia of Special Education of The Handicapped and
    Other Exceptional Children and Adults.  New York, NY:  Wiley, 1987
  FSU REF LC4007.E53  1987

Unger, Harlow.  Encyclopedia of American Education.  New York, NY:  Factson File,
  1996
  FSU REF LB 17 U54  1996

Williams, L. and Fromberg, D., eds.  Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education.
  New York, NY:  Garland Pub., 1992
    FSU REF 1139.25.E53  1992

Return to Menu

 

HANDBOOKS

Banks, J. and Banks, C.  Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education.
    New York, NY:  Macmillan Pub., 1995.
    FSU MAIN STACKS  LC1099.3.H35  1995

Bradley-Johnson, S and Johnson, C.  Handbook for Writing Effective Psychoeducational  
    Reports.  Austin, TX:  Pro-Ed., 1998.
    FSU REF LB2845.7 B73  1998

Brody, Phillip.,  Technology Planning and Management Handbook:  A Guide for School
    District Educational Technology Leaders.  Englewood Cliffs, NJ:  Educational
    Technology Publications, 1995.
    FSU REF LB 1028.3 B75  1995

Colwell, Richard, ed.,  Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: 
    A Project of the Music Educators National Conference.  New York, NY:
  Schirmer Books, 1992.
    FSU REF MT1. H138  1992

Fletcher, P. and MacWhinney, B., eds.,  Handbook of Child Language.  Cambridge, MA:
    Blackwell, 1995.
    FSU MAINSTACKS P118.H347 1995

Flood, James, et al., Handbook of Research on Teaching The English Language Arts.
    New York, NY:  Maxwell Macmillan, 1991.
    FSU REF 1576.H234  1991

Freed, Melvyn, et al., Educator's Desk Reference:  A Sourcebook of Educational
    Information and Research.  New York, NY:  Macmillan Publishing Co., 1989
    FSU REF LB 1028.27. U6 F74  1989

Gabel, Dorothy, Handbook of Research on Science Teaching and Learning.  New York,
    NY:  Maxwell Macmillan International, 1994
    FSU REF Q181.A1 H35  1994

Gaff, J. and Ratcliff, J., Handbook of The Undergraduate Curriculum:  A Comprehensive
    Guide to Purposes, Structures, Practices, and Change.  San Francisco, CA:
    Jossey-Bass, 1997.
    FSU REF LB2361.5 H35  1997

Groth-Marnat, Gary, Handbook of Psychological Assessment.  New York, NY: 
    J. Wiley, 1997
    FSU MAINSTACKS BF176.G76  1997
 

Grouws, D., ed., Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning.
    New York, NY:  Maxwell Macmillan International, 1992
    FSU REF QA11.H26  1992

Hackbarth, S.  Educational Technology Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide:
    Process and Products for Learning.  Englewood Cliffs, NJ:
    Educational Technology Publications, 1996.
    FSU REF LB1028.3 H33  1996

Hladczuk, J. and Eller, W., eds.  International Handbook of Reading Education.
    Westport, CN:  Greenwood Press, 1992
    FSU REF LB 1050.2 I58 1992

Jackson, Philip, Handbook of Research on Curriculum: A Project of The American
    Educational Research Association.  New York, NY:  Maxwell Macmillan
    Publishing Co., 1992
    FSU MAIN STACKS LB1570.H264 1992

Jonassen, David, ed., Handbook of Research For Educational Communications and
    Technology.  New York, NY:  Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1996
    FSU MAIN STACKS LB 1028.3.H355  1996

LeCompte, M., et. al., eds., Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education.
    San Diego, CA:  Academic Press, 1992
    FSU REF H62.H2456  1992

Murphy, Joseph and Louis, K., eds., Handbook of Research on Educational
      Administration: A Project of The American Educational Research
      Association.  Second Edition.  San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass
      Publishers, 1999
      FSU REF LB2805.H2864  1999

Murray, Frank, Teacher Educator's Handbook: Building a Knowledge Base for The
      Preparation of Teachers.  San Francisco, CA:  Jossey-Bass, 1996
      FSU RESERVES LB1737.5.U5 T43  1996

Neuman, S. and Dickinson, D., Handbook of Early Literacy Research.  New York, NY:
      Guilford Press, 2001
      FSU MAIN STACKS LB1139.5 .L35 H37  2001

Shaver, James P., ed., Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning.
      New York, NY:  Macmillan, 1991
      FSU REF 1584.H275 1991

Wang, Margaret, et al., eds,  Handbook of Special and Remedial Education:  Research
      and Practice.  Second Edition.  Tarrytown, NY:  Pergamon, 1995
      FSU REF LC3965.H263  1995

Williams, Phillip, Special Education Handbook: An Introductory Reference. 
      Philadelphia, PA:  Open University Press, 1990
      FSU MAIN STACKS LC3957.W55  1990

Wittrock, M.C., ed., Handbook of Research on Teaching.  Third Edition.  
      New York, NY: Macmillan, 1986
      FSU MAIN STACKS LB1028 H315  1986 (3 copies)

Return to Menu

 

TESTS AND MEASUREMENTS

Buros, Oscar.  Mental Measurement Yearbook.  Highland Park, NJ:  Mental
    Measurements Yearbook, 1941 -
    FSU REF Z5814.P8 B392  1941

Dimock, E., Teacher Certification Tests.  Third Edition.  New York, NY:
    Arco Pub., 1993
    FSU REF LB1762 D55 1993

Kendall, J. and Marzano, R., Content Knowledge: A Compendium of Standards
     Benchmarks for K-12 Education. Aurora, CO:  McRel. 2000
     FSU MAIN STACKS LB3060.83.k46  2000

Keyser, D. and Sweetland, R., Test Critiques.  Kansas City, MO:  Test Corporation
     of America, 1984 -
   FSU REF BF176 T419  1984

Murphy, L., et al., eds., Tests in Print V: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and The
     Literature on Specific Tests.  Lincoln, NE:  Buros Institute of Mental
     Measurements, 1999
     FSU REF BF698.5 B878  1999

Ravitch, D., National Standards in American: A Citizen's Guide.  Washington, DC:
     Brookings, 1995
     FSU MAIN STACKS LB3060.83.R38  1995

Rhodes, Lynn, ed., Literacy Assessment: A Handbook of Instruments.  Portsmouth, NH:
     Heineman, 1993
     FSU MAIN STACKS LB1050.46 .L58  1993

Sternlicht, M. and Martinez, L., Psychological Testing and Assessment of The Mentally
     Retarded: A Handbook.  New York, NY:  Garland Pub., 1985
    FSU MAIN STACKS RC570.S694

Swiercinsky, D., Testing Adults: A Reference Guide for Special Psychodiagnostic
      Assessments.  Kansas City, MO:  Test Corporation of America
      FSU MAIN STACKS RC469.T47  1985

Taylor, R., Assessment of Exceptional Students: Educational and Psychological
      Procedures.  Fifth Edition.  Boston, MA:  Allyn and Bacon, 2000
      FSU MAIN STACKS LC4031. T36  2000

Return to Menu

 

EDUCATIONAL PERIODICALS:  A SELECT LIST

-A-

Ation in Teacher Education
Adult Education Quarterly
Adult Learning
American Annals of the Deaf
American Educator
American Journal of Distance Learning
American Journal of Education
American Journal of Mental Retardation
American Psychologist
American School and University
American School Board Journal
American Secondary Education
American Scientist
American Teacher
Analysis and Intervention in Developmental Disabilities
Annals of Dyslexia
Anthropology and Education Quarterly
Assessment Update
Australian Journal of Early Childhood
Australian Journal of Language and Literacy
 

-B-

Behavioral Disorders
Brometrika
Black Collegian (FULL TEXT)
Black Issues in Higher Education
Braille Book Review
Brain and Cognition
Brain and Development
British Journal of Special Education
British Journal of Educational Technology
British Journal of Mathematical and Statistical Psychology
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books


-C-

Canadian Journal of Education
Career Development for Exceptional Children
Career Development Quarterly
Career for Exceptional Individuals
Cause/Effect (FULL TEXT 1994 -)
CD-ROM Professional (FULL TEXT 1990-96)
Change
Child and Family
Child and Youth Care Forum
Child Care Bulletin (1971-1982)
Child Care Quarterly
Child Development (FULL TEXT)
Child Language Teaching and Therapy
Child Language and Therapy
Child Study Journal
Childhood Education
Children's Literature in Education
Chronicle of Higher Education
Classroom Computer Learning (FULL TEXT 1988 -)
Clearing House
Coach and Athletic Director (FULL TEXT 1995 -)
Coaching Clinic
Cognition and Instruction
College and University
College Board Review
College Student Journal
College Student Personnel Abstracts
College Teaching (FULL TEXT 1998 -)
Community College Journal
Community College Review (FULL TEXT 1998 -)
Comparative Education Review
Computers in Libraries (FULL TEXT 1989 -)
Computers in The School
Contemporary Education
Creative Child and Adult Quarterly (1976-1982/1985-1991)
Current
Curriculum Administrator
Curriculum Inquiry
Curriculum Report
Curriculum Review


-E-

Early Childhood Digest
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education Journal
Early Childhood Research Quarterly (FULL TEXT 1999 -)
Early Childhood Update
Early Education and Development
Education and Treatment of Children
Education and Training in Mental Retardation
Education Digest (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Education in Urban Society (FULL TEXT 2000 -)
Education Literature Review (1996-2001)
Education Times (1984-1985)
Education USA
Education Week (FULL TEXT 1991 -)
Educational Administration
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational and Psychological Measurement (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
Educational Facility Planner
Educational Forum
Educational Leadership
Educational Media International
Educational Method (1927-1943)
Educational Policy
Educational Research Quarterly
Educational Researcher
Educational Review (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Educational Studies
Educational Technology
Educational Technology, Research and Development
Educational Theory
EDUCOM Review www.educause.edu/publer/erm.html
Electronic Learning
Elementary School Guidance and Counseling
Elementary School Journal (FULL TEXT 1992 -)
Equity and Choice (1989-1994)
Exceptional Children (FULL TEXT 1988 -)
Exceptional Parent (FULL TEXT 1988 -)
Exceptionality

-F-

Focus on Exceptional Children
Futurist


-G-

Gifted Child Quarterly
Gifted Child Today
Gifted Education International
Gifted Education Review


-H-

Harvard Educational Review
High School Journal
High School Magazine
Higher Education
Higher Education Quarterly
History of Education Quarterly

-I-

Idea Plus
Infants and Young Children
Information Technology and Libraries
Independent School
Innovations in Education and Training
Innovative Higher Education
Instructional Science (1988-1990)
Instruction
International Journal of Disability, Development and Education
International Journal of Early Childhood
International Journal of Instructional Media
International Journal of Leadership in Education
International Journal of Physical Education
International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education
Intervention in School and Clinic (FULL TEXT 1994)


-J-

Journal for the Education of the Gifted
Journal for Vocational Special Needs Education
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
Journal of Adolescent Research
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Journal of Career Planning and Employment
Journal of College Student Development
Journal of College Student Personnel
Journal of Computer Assisted Learning
Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching (FULL TEXT 2000 -)
Journal of Counseling and Development
Journal of Curriculum and Supervision
Journal of Curriculum Studies
Journal of Disability Policy Studies (FULL TEXT 2000 -)
Journal of Early Intervention
Journal of Education Finance
Journal of Education for Teaching
Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics
Journal of Educational Computing Research
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Journal of Educational Measurement
Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia (FULL TEXT 2000 -)
Journal of Educational Psychology
Journal of Educational Research
Journal of Educational Statistics
Journal of Educational Thought
Journal of Experiential Education
Journal of Higher Education
Journal of Humanistic Education and Development
Journal of Law and Education
Journal of Learning Disabilities
Journal of Literacy Research
Journal of Moral Education
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Journal of Reading
Journal of Reading Behavior
Journal of Research and Development in Education
Journal of Research in Childhood Education (FULL TEXT 1999)
Journal of Research in Science Teaching
Journal of Research in Computing in Education
Journal of School Leadership
Journal of Special Education and Technology
Journal of Sport and Exercise Management
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Journal Vocational Behavior
Journal of Youth Services in Libraries


-K-

Kirkus


-L-

Language Arts
Learning and Individual Differences (FULL TEXT 1996 -)
Learning and Leading with Technology
Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
Learning Disability Quarterly
Legal Memorandum (2 current years)
Liberal Education (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Library Administration and Management
Library Hir Tech


-M-

Media and Methods
Mental Retardation
Middle School Journal
Monographs of the Society for Research and Child Development (FULL TEXT 1999 -)
Multivarate Behavioral Research

-N-

NASPA Journal
NASSP Bulletin
NASSP Newsletter
National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Journal
NEA Research Bulletin
NEA Today
New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education
New Directions for Higher Education
NSTA Report


-P-

Parents
Peabody Journal of Education
Perceptual and Motor Skills
Performance Improvement Quarterly
Performance Improvements
Phi Delta Kappan
Physical Educator
Planning and Changing
Planning for Higher Education
Population Studies
Preventing School Failure
Principal
P (continued)
Principal Leadership


-Q-

Qualitative Inquiry
Qualitative Sociology
Quest


-R-

Reading and Writing Quarterly
Reading Horizons
Reading Improvement
Reading Psychology
Reading Research and Instruction
Reading Research Quarterly
Reading Teacher
RE:  View
Remedial and Special Education (FULL TEXT 1993 -)
Research in Developmental Disabilities
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport (FULL TEXT 1993)
Review in Higher Education
Roeper Review (FULL TEXT 1990 -)


-S-

Scholastic Coach (FULL TEXT 1992 -)
Scholastic Update (FULL TEXT)
School and Community
School Business Affairs
School Library Journal
School Science and Mathematics (FULL TEXT 1993 -)
Schools in the Middle
Science (FULL TEXT 1983 -)
Science Activities (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Science and Children
Science Education
Science News (FULL TEXT 1997 -)
Science Teacher
Science World
Sciences (FULL TEXT 1993 -)
Social Education (FULL TEXT 2000 -)
Social Studies Review
Sport Science Review
Streamlined Seminar
Strength and Conditioning


-T-

Teacher Education and Special Education
Teacher Educators
Teaching Children Mathematics
Teaching Exceptional Children (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Teaching History (1990-1991)
Tech Directions
Technicalities
Technology and Learning (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
THE Journal:  Technological Horizons in Education
Theory and Research in Social Education
Theory into Practice
Thrust for Educational Leadership
Times Educational Supplement
Tips for Principals (FSU Vertical File)
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education (FULL TEXT 1990 -)
Track and Field News


-U-

Urban Education
Urban Review


-V-

Volta Review (FULL TEXT 1996 -)


-W-

Wired


-Y-

Young Children

Return to Menu

WEB Resources for Teachers

AACTE Policy Clearinghouse - http://www.edpolicy.org/
The AACTE (American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education) Education Policy Clearinghouse serves as an education research guide, helping researchers locate information about educational policy issues in the United States at the federal, regional, and state level.

American School Directory - http://www.asd.com/
The American School Directory is the Internet guide to 106,000 K-12 schools.

ATLAS Communitieswww.edc.org/ATLAS/
Atlas communities is a break-the -mold design linking elementary, middle and high schools as partners in student achievement.

Education Book Reviews - http://www.lib.msu.edu/corby/reviews/index.htm
Part of Education Resources from Michigan State University Libraries

Edvancenet - http://www.edvancenet.org/
Edvancenet is an organization committed to providing resources to keep policymakers and school leaders informed of the issues that affect how schools can use technology. 

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center - http://www.eric.ed.gov/
The web site of the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), a national information system designed to provide users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature. 

funschool.com - http://www.funschool.com/
Funschool.com is a web site that contains programs of educational activities for students. 

GEM:  The Gateway to Educational Materials - http://thegateway.org/index.html
GEM provides access to high quality Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources.

Gifted Resources Home Page - www.eskimo.com/~user/kids.html
This site contains links to all known online gifted resources, enrichment programs, talent searches, summer programs, gifted mailing lists and early acceptance programs.  It also contains contact information for many gifted associations and government (mostly US state) programs.

Global Schoolhouse - http://www.globalschoolhouse.org/
Global Schoolhouse is a web site that contains a large database of global learning
projects, the Link-O-Rama, a directory of schools who are using video conferencing
and eight specialized HelpDesks.

The History of Education and Childhood Site - www.socsci.kun.nl/ped/whp/histeduc/
The History of Education and Childhood Site offers an international archive of
links to online information about the history of education and childhood. 

Hoagies' Gifted Education Page - www.hoagiesgifted.org/
Hoagies' Gifted Education Page is a comprehensive resource guide for education of
gifted children. 

Intel in Education - www.97.intel.com/education/index.asp
Site contains resources for K-12 education information on grants, donations and
scholarships and guides for using technology in education.

KidsConnect - www.ala.org/ICONN/kidconn.html
KidsConnect is a question-answering, help and referral service to K-12 students
on the Internet. 

LDOnLine  - http://www.ldonline.org/
This site is an interactive guide on learning disabilities for parents, teachers,
and children.

Learner.Org - www.learner.org
A web site maintained by the Annenberg/CPB Project is one of the nation's leaders
in helping colleges, universities, high schools and community organizations use
telecommunications technologies to improve learning for all students. 

MarcoPolo - http://marcopolo.worldcom.com/
MarcoPolo is a partnership between MCI WorldCom and five renowned educational
organizations (American Association for the Advancement of Science, National
Council on Economic Education, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics,
National Endowment for the Humanities/Council of the Great City Schools, and the
National Geographic Society).  These partnerships have resulted in six
discipline-specific educational web sites.  The web sites are geared primarily
toward K-12 teachers, although some of the sites' resources are also appropriate
for college-level work and for family activities. 

MiddleWeb - http://www.middleweb.com/
MiddleWeb provides a wealth of resources for school districts, educators and
parents working for all students in the middle grades.

National Center for Learning Disabilities - http://www.ncld.org/
The National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD) provides National leadership
in support of children with learning disabilities.

National Center for Research in Vocational Education - http://vocserve.berkeley.edu/
The National Center for Research in Vocational Education (NCRVE) is the nation's
largest center for research and development in work-related education.

National Teachers Enhancement Network - http://btc.montana.edu/nten
This site delivers quality teaching resources in science.

OnlineClass - http://www.onlineclass.com/
Site provides K-12 inquiry based units that focus on the Internet.

PE Central - http://pe.central.vt.edu/
PE Central is a web site designed for physical education teachers, students,
interested parents and adults.

petersons.com the Education & Career Center - http://www.petersons.com/
A comprehensive and extensive clearinghouse of education resources. 

SchoolNotes.com - http://www.schoolnotes.com/
SchoolNotes.com is a community service which provides educators and school
organizations with a simple tool for communicating school information to students
and parents.

The Special Education Home Page - http://specialed.freeyellow.com/
A website dedicated to students and parents who are working to understand
individuals special needs.

Special Education Resources on the Internet - http://www.seriweb.com/
Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) is a collection of Internet
accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields
related to Special Education.

Teachers First - http://www.teachersfirst.com/
Teachers First is a collection of web resources and lesson plans for K-12 classroom
teachers.

Teachers Helping Teachers - http://www.pacificnet.net/~mandel/
A web site designed by teachers.  The goal is to provide basic teaching tips to
inexperienced teachers.

Teachers.net - http://www.teachers.net/
A comprehensive site for teachers, this site includes lesson plans, mentoring,
web tools, and a chat room.

TeachNet - http://www.teachernet.org/
Teachers Network is a national educational, non-profit organization that supports
innovative teachers.

techLEARNING.com- http://www.techlearning.com/
This site is dedicated to integrating technology into the classroom.

United Nations CyberSchoolBus - www.un.org/pubs/cyberschoolbus/
This multilingual web site is designed to help teachers bring the UN into their
classrooms.

Urban Education Web - http://eric~web.tc.columbia.edu/
Presented by the ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education, this site offers resources
in urban education.

Virtual Reference Desk - http://www.vrd.org/
Virtual Reference Desk Project is dedicated to the advancement of digital reference
and the successful creation of internet based information.

MATH AND SCIENCE LAGNIAPPE 

Access Excellence - http://www.accessexcellence.org/
Site committed to improving science education in the U.S.

Center for Highly-Interactive Computing in Education - http://hi-ice.org/
Web Site dedicates to helping students appreciate the sciences.

CERES Project - http://btc.montana.edu/ceres/
Site contains an extensive library of on-line and interactive K-12 science
education materials for teaching astronomy.
 

Challenger Center for Space Science Education -http://www.challenger.org /cc/

The web site of the Challenger Center for Space Science Education is committed to
promoting science literacy.

Cool Science for Curious Kids - http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience
This is an innovative science education web site for the curious.

Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education -
http://www.enc.org/
The Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education (ENC) provides K-12 teachers with a central source of information on mathematics and science curriculum materials.

EPA's Explorers' Club - www.epa.gov/kids
Explorers' Club is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's web site for
children ages 5-12.


Explorer - http://explorer.sertec.ort/explorer
Explorer is a collection of educational resources (instructional software,
lab activities, lesson plans, student treated materials…) for K-12 mathematics
and science education.

GenScope - http://www.concord.org/genscope/
GenScope is a learning environment that uses the computer to provide an alternative
to text-based science education.

GLOBE Program - http://www.globe.gov/
Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) is a worldwide
hands-on, primary and secondary school-based science program.

IMSEnet - http://www.ncsu.edu/imse/
IMSEnet is a Network of Instructional Materials for Science Educators. 

The Learning Web - http://www.usgs.gov/education/index.html
The Learning Web is dedicated to K-12 education, exploration and life-long learning.

Math Forum Teachers' Place - http://mathforum.org/teachers/
This web site provides the best resources for teaching math at all levels.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Education Program -
http://education.nasa.gov/
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration Education Program web site
provides current educational information and instructional resource materials to
teachers and students. 

PUMAS (Practical Uses of math and Science) -  http://pumas.jpl.nasa.gov/
PUMAS is a collection of one-page examples of how math and science topics taught
in K-12 classes can be used in interesting settings, including everyday life.


The Science Center - http://www.science-education.org/
The Science Center strives to provide teachers and students with resources that
help improve the way scientific and environmental issues are discussed in the
classroom.    

LAGNIAPPE IN HISTORY OR THE SOCIAL SCIENCES 

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library -
http://icweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html
American Memory is a primary source data base relating to the history of the U.S.

History Matters - http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
History Matters is designed for use by high school or college teachers of United
States History courses.

The History Net - http://history.about.com/
This site is designed to be the history enthusiast's one-stop resource for
information. 

History Social Studies Web Site for K-12 Teachers - http://www.execpc.com/~dboals/beals.html
This web site is designed to encourage the use of the World Wide Web as a tool
for learning and teaching and to provide some help for K-12 classroom teachers
in locating and using the resources of the Internet in the classroom.

National Archives and Records Administration Digital Classroom - http://www.archives.gov/digital.classroom/index.html
National Archives and Records Administration Digital Classroom is designed to
encourage teachers of students at all levels to use archival documents in the
classroom.  The Digital Classroom provides materials from NARA, methods for teaching
with primary sources, and sample lesson plans.

Return to Menu


LESSON PLANS ON THE WEB
 

AskERIC Lesson Plans - http://ericir.syr.edu/virtual/lessons/
A collection of lesson plans compiled by ERIC.  Plans are grouped by subject, and the site also contains links to other lesson plan archives.

Collaborative Lesson Archive - http://faldo.atmos.uiuc.edu/CLA
The Collaborative Lesson Archive is intended to be a forum for the creation, distribution, and archival of education curricula for all grade levels and subject areas.

Lessons Plan Page - http://www.lessonplanspage.com/
The Lesson Plans Page is a collection of over 300 lesson plans, primarily at the elementary level, that were developed by students and faculty at The University of Missouri.  In addition, the Lessons Plan Page contains lesson plans that were submitted by the users of this web site.

Learn NC - http://www.learnnc.org/
Learn NC is a statewide network for educators using the power of the Internet to improve   K-12 education in North Carolina.

Index to Internet Lesson Plan Sites for K-12 Educators - http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/lesson.htm
This Internet School Library Media Center's is a meta - site designed to bring together curriculum related resources for teachers, school librarians and students.

ELECTRONIC DATABASES IN EDUCATION

Go to Database Finder and Select the Subject Education

government documents LAGNIAPPE

US DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

EISENHOWER NATIONAL CLEARINGHOUSE

ERIC 

NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND

NATIONAL CENTER FOR EDUCATION STATISTICS

U S NETWORK FOR  EDUCATION INFORMATION

 PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF NORTH CAROLINA

NC STANDARD COURSE OF STUDY

INSTITUTE OF GOVERNMENT

CUMBERLAND COUNTY SCHOOLS 

eLECTRONIC JOURNALS ON THE WEB 

Return to Menu

professional associations and organizations

American Association for Higher Education

American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education

American Distance Education Consortium

American Educational Research Association

American Federation of Teachers

American Library Association

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development

Association of Teacher Educators

Coalition for Networked Information

Council of Chief State School Officers

Council of the Great City Schools

EDUCAUSE

International Forum of Educational Technology & Society

INTEC (International Teacher Enhancement Coalition)

International Society for Technology in Education

Internet Education Foundation

National Art Education Association

National Association for Bilingual Education

National Association for Developmental Education

National Association for the Education of Young Children

National Association of Elementary School Principals

National Association of Secondary School Principals

National Center for Research on Teacher Learning

National Center for Technology Planning

National Council of Teachers of English

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

National Council for the Social Studies

National Education Association

National Institute for Urban School Improvement

National Middle School Association

National PTA

National School Boards Association

National Science Teachers Association

National Staff Development Council

Organizations Concerned about Rural Education

Teachers of Psychology in Secondary Schools

United States Distance Learning Association

      NC Lagniappe 

  North Carolina Association of Educators

 

NC Art Education Association

NC Science Teachers Association   
 

NC Music Education Association

 

NC School Psychology Association    NC LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

Page Maintained By:  Bernadette M. Ross bross@uncfsu.edu

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC  28301

Last Updated:  6/23/05