Fire Science Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Fire Science Subject Guide Contents

 

Fire Getting Started

Reference Resources

Electronic Databases & Indexes

 Journal Titles

 Related Subject Guides

Related Web Sites

 

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Database Finder

Off-Campus Access

 

 

Electronic Indexes and Databases:

Electronic indexes and databases provide citations or references to the articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, government documents, etc. In some library databases, the full text of the articles is available.

 

 

Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

FSU Web access campus or home Access Science  
Access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology.


FSU Web access campus or home American Chemical Society  
Access dozens of journals published by the American Chemical Society.


FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.


FSU Web access campus or home Digital Dissertations, Proquest  
With more than two million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Titles since 1997 have 24 page previews available in pdf format.


FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home Enciclopedia Universal en Español  
 


FSU Web access campus or home Eventline  
(1989-current). Scheduled conventions, exhibits, etc., worldwide.


FSU Web access campus or home FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Institute of Physics Electronic Journals  
33 online journals. Institute of Physics Publishing, is a leading international publisher of journals, books and magazines in physics and a world leader in electronic publishing.


FSU Web access campus or home Journal of Chemical Education  
Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) Index contains citations for all articles published in the Journal. Author names and titles of articles have been indexed from 1924 to the present


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home NetLibrary  
Access to the full text of more than 13,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.


FSU Web access campus or home Oxford English Dictionary  
Find OED's definition of a word or phrase


FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)  
PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. The complete archive consists of all of Physical Review back to 1893, all of Physical Review Letters back to 1958, and all of Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929.


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home RISK  
OFF CAMPUS PATRONS: USE THE LINK BELOW. Encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, and risk-related concerns such as public and environmental health and psychological aspects.


FSU Web access campus or home Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles


FSU Web access campus or home Science’s Next Wave  
Career resources and news for scientists and those considering the profession.


FSU Web access campus or home Scifinder Scholar  
SciFinder Scholar is today's leader in providing the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. NOTE! On campus use only


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home Xreferplus  
Features a graphical concept search engine- Concept Map


 

BACK TO TOP

 

Database Finder

Use Database Finder to search for a list of databases recommended for Fire Science.

1. On the Library's home page select Databases

2. Click the drop-down menu Select a Subject located under Browse the Subject List of Databases

3. Scroll down to Fire Science, click Go

BACK TO TOP

 

Off Campus Access

Students, faculty, and staff can access the majority of electronic databases and indexes available at Chesnutt Library from computers located off-campus.

 

1. On the Library's home page select Off-Campus Access (located under Services near the bottom of the page).

2. Read the information and click Create a PIN now

3. Enter the requested information, including a new pin at least 4 digits long.

4. A similar screen will pop up prompting you to enter the PIN two more times.

5. If successful you be in My Library Record. If you receive an error or invalid PIN message contact the Circulation desk at 910-672-1231 for help.

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 1/16/07