Selected Library Databases on Literature, Music,
Philosophy, History and Biography

> Previous Page

ABELL  
Choose the forth option (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) to search a large database of literature and related material with a sophisticated and easy to use search engine.

Alexander Street Literature  
A comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. Today, Alexander Street Literature features 14 collections and offers over 250,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 5,000 full-text plays and film scripts.

America: History and Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Poetry  
(1600 - 1900). Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

Black Studies Center  
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals and historical newspaper articles.

Black Thought and Culture  
Black Thought and Culture contains 989 sources with 947 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries  
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.

Classical Music Library  
Please bring your own headphones if you intend to use this resource in the library. CML is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.

Early Encounters in North America  
This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete
provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.

English Poetry  
(600 - 1900). Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles. Includes Arts and Humanities Through the Eras.

Greenwood Digital Collection   
E-book collection emphasizing history & literature. It includes the series Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides fascinating and authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. Notable important subjects include the Apollo Belvedere, Carthage, the Euphronios krater, the Laokoon, Troy, the Venus de Milo and much more. Encompassing over four thousand years of artistry and innovation, this resource spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. Drawing upon the unparalleled scholarship in The Dictionary of Art (1996), and adding dozens of newly commissioned entries on recent archaeological discoveries, fully updated bibliography and over 600 illustrations, this publication sets a new standard in Classical studies.

International Encyclopedia of Dance
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

JSTOR  
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.

Lexis-Nexis History Universe  
Rich database of primary historical resources

Literary Reference Center  
LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.

Literature Online (LION)  
A fully searchable digital library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature

Literature Resource Center  
The Literature Resource Center contains full-text scholarly articles from more than 300 academic journals and literary magazines—the majority peer-reviewed—as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. Also included are reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception are also part of the database. There are full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines and overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics are featured. Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors round out the content.

MLA International Bibliography  
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

MOME  
The Making of the Modern Economy- A very complete, full-text database of economic writing and primary sources covering the years 1450 to 1850

Music Index  
A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature 1979-2003

Oxford African American Studies Center  
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes: Africana Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present Black Women in America, Second Edition African American National Biography

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium  
With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  
"50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001."

Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial—such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe.

Philosopher's Index  
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.

Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries  
"...a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions" Please bring your own headphones if you use this resource in the Library

World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

World History Collection
World History Collection
offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.

 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
9/20/09