Security Studies

> Previous Page

Brief Definition: Causes and consequences of war, and the sources and conditions of peace

Electronically Accessed Journals Through Journal Finder

  • Defense (Arlington, VA.)

  • Defense Analysis

  • Defense and Aerospace Business

  • Defense and Aerospace Week

  • Defense and Foreign Affairs Daily

  • Defense and Foreign Affairs Special Analysis

  • Defense and Foreign Affairs Strategic Policy

  • Defense and Security Analysis

  • Defense AT&L

  • Defense Daily

  • Defense Daily International

  • Defense Monitor

  • Defense Week

  • Homeland Defense Journal

  • Homeland Defense Week

  • Homeland Security Affairs: the Journal of the Center for Homeland Defense and Security

  • International Journal of Conflict Management

  • International Journal of Peace Studies

  • SC Magazine (trade magazine covering information security for professionals worldwide)

  • SDM: Security Distributing and Marketing

  • Security and Human Rights

  • Security Dealer

  • Security Director's Report

  • Security Law Newsletter

  • Security Studies

  • Security Technology and Design

  • Terror Response Technology Report

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Private Security Services Periodicals

  • Journal of Applied Security Research

  • Security Journal

Online Journals and Publications

Defense Horizons, Center for Technology and National Security Policy, National
Defense University http://www.ndu.edu/CTNSP/defense_horizons.htm

Studies in Intelligence, Central Intelligence Agency https://www.cia.gov/library/center-for-the-study-of-intelligence/csi-publications/csi-studies/index.html

Terror Trade Times, Amnesty International http://www.amnesty.org/

Selected Databases

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center  
This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students.

International Relations and Security Network  
ISN is based at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and offers over 15,000 documents, primarily in English as well as a truly international perspective on security matters. Zurich (ETHZ), featuring a truly international perspective with grey literature of all types, daily briefings, a monthly summary, primary source material, books, and many journals - over 15,500 items primarily in English in the Publishing House section alone Zurich (ETHZ), featuring a truly international perspective with grey literature of all types, daily briefings, a monthly summary, primary source material, books, and many journals - over 15,500 items primarily in English in the Publishing House section alone.

Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.  

Access World News  
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text newspapers. Includes local news, editorials, and sections from over 1,800 sources including the New York Times 1995-present. Featuring Acceda Noticias-Spanish language newspapers; Access Business News; U.S. Newswires & Transcripts; Military, Government & Defense.

America: History and Life  
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

CQ Press  
Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher also "Political Reference Suite". Search all of these resources from this link. "All content is produced and vetted by scholars, seasoned journalists, and CQ Press editors."

Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  
Full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

General Assembly of North Carolina Legislation
General Assembly of North Carolina Legislation and Bills

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal (federal and state codes, and tax law, etc.) and reference information.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional Universe  
CIS indexing and abstracting of congressional publications and the CIS Legislative Histories (1970-present), bill tracking and more

Lexis-Nexis History Universe  
Rich database of primary historical resources.

Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe  
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  
Summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research, reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

North Carolina Crime Stats  
"The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. While the programís primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the countryís leading social indicators."

PsychInfo  
1887-current). Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences.

PyscARTICLES  
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations.

Race Relations Abstracts  
Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 43,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

SocINDEX  
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 5,000 Author Profiles.

SpringerLink  
Contains over 2,000 journals and over 36,000 books on topics as varied as terrorism, homeland security and defense and much more for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

Wiley InterScience  
Three
million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works  including works on terrorism, security, homeland defense and intelligence studies from publishers Wiley and Blackwell.

Government Agencies and Institutions

Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies http://www.apcss.org/graphics/index.htm On Sept. 30, 1994, President Clinton signed H.R. 4650, which included $3 million for the start-up of the Asia-Pacific Center for Security StudiesThe Center was created to build on the strong bilateral relationships between the U.S. Pacific Command and the armed forces of the nations in the Asia-Pacific region, by focusing on the broader multilateral approach to addressing regional security issues and concerns.

Center for Intelligence Studies http://www.centerforintelligencestudies.org/ The Center for Intelligence Studies was formally chartered on March 1, 1988 as a non-partisan public policy institution dedicated to the research and dissemination of substantive information regarding the threat posed by foreign intelligence services to the United States, and the proper role, scope, and function of America's national intelligence services in protecting the national security.

Center for Technology and National Security Policy (CTNSP)  http://www.ndu.edu/ctnsp/home.html Examines the implications of technological innovation for U.S. national security policy and military planning. CTNSP combines scientific and technical assessments with analyses of current strategic and defense policy issues, taking on topics to bridge the gap. The Center has produced studies on proliferation and homeland security, military transformation, international science and technology, information technology, life sciences, and social science modeling.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.

Central Intelligence Agency https://www.cia.gov/index.html

European Union Institute for Security Studies (EUISS) http://www.iss.europa.eu/ is a Paris-based agency of the European Union, operating under the EU's second pillar, the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP).

George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies http://www.marshallcenter.org/mcpublicweb/ Former Secretary of Defense Dick Cheney signed DOD Directive 5200.34 in November 1992, establishing the George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies as an element of EUCOM under the authority, direction and control of the commander-in-chief, EUCOM. The Marshall Center became a German-American partnership when a memorandum of agreement was signed on December 2, 1994, between headquarters EUCOM and the German Ministry of Defense.

Institute for National Strategic Studies http://www.ndu.edu/inss/index.cfm?secID=1&pageID=126&type=section Established by the Secretary of Defense in 1984, INSS is comprised of three components: the Research Directorate, which analyses global and regional security trends and frames national security policy and defense strategy options for senior decision-makers; the Center for Applied Strategic Learning, which develops and facilitates numerous strategic-level policy exercises and experiential learning activities for senior Executive Branch officials, the military combatant commands, Members of Congress, and various NDU educational programs; and the Conference Directorate, which annually organizes several major symposia and supports more than 100 other conferences, seminars, and round-tables organized by the research staff.

The National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) http://www.ndia.org/Pages/Default.aspx  This is Americaís leading Defense Industry association promoting national security. NDIA is proud to provide a legal and ethical forum for the exchange of information between Industry and Government on National Security issues.

University Centers and Programs

Center for International and Security Studies at Maryland, University of Maryland http://www.cissm.umd.edu/

Center for Peace and Security Studies, Georgetown University http://cpass.georgetown.edu/

Intelligence Studies Section of the International Studies Association, Loyola College in Maryland http://iss.loyola.edu/ 

International Security Studies, Yale University http://www.yale.edu/iss/

Security Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology http://web.mit.edu/ssp/

Triangle Institute for Security Studies, Consortium of Duke, UNC-Chapel Hill, and North Carolina State University.  http://www.sanford.duke.edu/centers/tiss//  Founded in 1958, its mission is to promote interdisciplinary cooperation among faculty, graduate students, and the public. Its objective is to advance research and education in the field of national and international security.

Preparedness United States

Terrorism Prevention

United States Dept. of Homeland Security National infrastructure protection plan


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 3/9/10