Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks provide background material and are often a good place to start your research, as key concepts are explained and a bibliography is often enclosed. The selected resources below are located on the First floor of the Chesnutt Library in the Reference Department.
Best of Health: Demographics of
Health Care Consumers
This work "brings together in one volume the many sources of data on health care consumers, providing a comprehensive look at the demand for health care."
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management
This encyclopedia contains definitions for approximately 600 keywords classified into sixteen general categories.
Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z
This work “focuses comprehensively on health policy issues in all their dimensions, including their histories” and provides background on national health issues.
The Main Stacks are located on the Second and Third floors of the Library. If you do not find what you need by browsing the Library of Congress Call Numbers, please refer to the Library Online Catalog for more information sources.
Health Care Administration:
This text focuses on organized delivery systems, and the role of the hospital within a system environment. There are chapters on financial management, human resources, labor and employment laws, ethics, and bioterrorism preparedness.
Health Services Planning
"Health Services Planning provides the reader with an understanding of the key concepts related to the planning process and offers step-by-step guidelines for developing any type of plan for a community, a health system or an organization."
Leading Change in Health and
"Providing an overview of leadership theories and a practical guide to management tools and techniques, Leading Change in Health and Social Care is illustrated throughout with examples drawn from health and social care settings.
Managing the Health Care
"A practical guide for first-line supervisor, middle managers or department heads who must direct the activities of health care professionals."
Quantitative Methods in
Health Care Management
"This book offers an introductory text on quantitative techniques for the student or new professional administrator, as well as a reference manual for health care professionals."
Access the full-text of over 13,000
reference, scholarly and professional books through
NetLibrary. NetLibrary is
restricted to FSU students, faculty and staff.
Changing the U.S. Health Care System: Key
Issues in Health Services, Policy, and Management by Andersen,
Ronald.; Rice, Thomas H.; Kominski, Gerald F.
by Armoni, Adi.
Handbook for the New
Health Care Manager by Lombardi, Donald N.
Organizational Ethics in
Health Care by Boyle, Phillip.
Risk Management Handbook
for Health Care Organizations by Carroll, Roberta.
Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State
University, Fayetteville, NC 28301