United States Military Resources

> Previous Page

To Identify the Latest Reference and Main Stacks Resources Always Use FSU's Automated Catalog

Reference Resources Electronic Databases Journal Titles Web Sites

 

Library of Congress Call Numbers and Subject Heading

  • U = Military Science

  • UA = Armies

  • UB = Military Administration

  • UC = Maintenance and Transportation

  • UD = Infantry

  • UE = Calvary. Armor

  • UF = Artillery    

  • UG = Military Engineering. Air Forces    

  • UH = Other Services  

  • V = Naval Science

  • VA = Navies    

  • VB = Naval Administration    

  • VC = Naval Maintenance    

  • VD = Naval Seamen    

  • VE = Marines    

  • VF = Naval Ordance    

  • VG = Minor Services of Navies    

  • VK = Navigation. Merchant Marine    

  • VM = Naval Architecture. Shipbuilding.   Marine Engineering

  • Airplanes Military
  • Armed Forces
  • Armed Forces United Nations
  • Armed Forces United States
  • Arms Control
  • Arms Transfers
  • Courts Martial and Courts of Inquiry United States
  • Bombers
  • Defense Contracts
  • Infantry
  • Military Art and Science
  • Military Assistance American
  • Military Bases
  • Military Discipline
  • Military Education
  • Military Ethics
  • Military History
  • Military History Modern 20th Century
  • Military Leadership
  • Military Life
  • Military Pensions
  • Military Planning
  • Military Policy United States
  • Military Readiness
  • Military Relations
  • Military Research
  • Military Service
  • Military Weapons
  • Naval Art and Science
  • Naval History
  • Prisoners of War
  • Tank Warfare
  • United States Air Force
  • United States Armed Forces
  • United States Army
  • United States Coast Guard
  • United States Marine Corps
  • United States Military Policy
  • United States Navy
  • United States Navy Aviation
  • War
  • War and Society
  • War Criminals
  • War Memorials
  • War Psychological Aspects
  • Weapons of Mass Destruction

   Reference Resources

  Military Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library

  Air Warfare: an International Encyclopedia   Ref UG 628 .A73 2002

  America at War: Selected Biographies From the Three Volume Encyclopedia of the American Military 
  Ref E 181 .E632 1998

  Brassey's Encyclopedia of Military History and Biography  Ref U 24 .B73 1994

  Conflict in the Former Yugoslavia: an Encyclopedia  Ref DR 1232 .C66 1998

  D-Day Encyclopedia  Ref D 756.5 .N6 D22 1994

  Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II  Ref D 843 .C568 1999

  Encyclopedia of Guerrilla Warfare  Ref U 240 .B43 1999

  Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations  Ref JZ 6374 .R36 1999

  Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests from Ancient Times to the Present  Ref D 25 .A2 D38 1996

  Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a Political, Social, and Military History  Ref E 468 .E53 2000

  Encyclopedia of the American Military: Studies of the History, Traditions, Policies, Institutions,
     and Roles of   the Armed Forces in War and Peace
 Ref UA 23 .E56 1994

  Encyclopedia of the Korean War: a Political, Social, and Military History  Ref DS 918 .E53 2000

  Encyclopedia of the Navy Seals  One Copy Being Processed

  Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a Political, Social, and Military History  Ref DS 557.7 .E53 1997

  Encyclopedia of Warrior Peoples and Fighting Groups  Ref D 25.9 .D38 1998

  Encyclopedia of Women in Aviation and Space  Ref TL 539 .W395 1998

  Ground Warfare: an International Encyclopedia  Ref D 25 .A2 S26 2002

  Historical Encyclopedia of U.S. Presidential Use of Force, 1789-2000  Ref E 176.1 .H56 2001

  Korean War: an Encyclopedia  Ref DS 918 .K5645 1995

  Naval Warfare: an International Encyclopedia  Ref V 23 .N32 2002

  Simon and Schuster Encyclopedia of World War II  Ref D 740 .S57 1978

  United States in the First World War: an Encyclopedia  Ref D 510 .U65 1995

   War and American Popular Culture: a Historical Encyclopedia   Ref E 181 .W26 1999

   Women and the Military: an Encyclopedia   Ref U 21.75 .S54 1996 

  Military Dictionaries Available in Chesnutt Library

  Battles: a Concise Dictionary  Ref D 25 .A2 H64 1995

  Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy  Ref E 467 .W2 1977

  Civil War Dictionary  Ref E 468 .B7 1959

  Dictionary of Admirals of the U. S. Navy  Ref V 62 .U64 1989

  Dictionary of Afghan Wars, Revolutions and Insurgencies  Ref DS 356 .A26 1996

  Dictionary of Military History and the Art of War   Ref U 24 .D4913 1994

  Dictionary of Modern War  Main Stacks U 24 .L93 1971

  Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution  Ref E 209 .M36 1999

  Historical Dictionary of the Civil War  One Copy Being Processed

  Historical Dictionary of the Spanish American War  Ref E 715 .D93 1996

  Historical Dictionary of the U. S. Army  Ref UA 25 .H67 2001

  Historical Dictionary of the Vietnam War  Ref DS 557.7 .M63 2001

  Historical Dictionary of War Journalism  Ref PN 4784 .W37 R68 1997

  International Warbirds: an Illustrated Guide to World Military Aircraft, 1914-2000  Ref UG 1240 .F73 2001

  Spanish-American War: a Historical Dictionary  Ref E 715 .B47 1998

  Other Military Reference Materials

  Officer Candidate Tests  One Copy Being Processed 

  Armies, Corps, Divisions, and Separate Brigades  Ref UA 24 .A7 1999

   Electronic Databases

Military Related Materials

ABC-CLIO E-Books Collection
Over 6,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger. Including military history and studies.

Access World News  
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text newspapers. Includes local news, editorials, and sections from over 1,800 sources including the New York Times 1995-present. Featuring Acceda Noticias-Spanish language newspapers; Access Business News; U.S. Newswires & Transcripts; Access Military, Government & Defense.

America: History and Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Lexis Nexis Congressional Universe  
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, laws, bill and regulations and member and committee information.

International Relations and Security Network  
ISN is based at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and offers over 15,000 documents, primarily in English as well as a truly international perspective on security matters. Zurich (ETHZ), featuring a truly international perspective with grey literature of all types, daily briefings, a monthly summary, primary source material, books, and many journals - over 15,500 items primarily in English in the Publishing House section alone Zurich (ETHZ), featuring a truly international perspective with grey literature of all types, daily briefings, a monthly summary, primary source material, books, and many journals - over 15,500 items primarily in English in the Publishing House section alone.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center  
This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students

Military and Government Collection  
Through EBSCO Host it is d
esigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content. It provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times (1851-2001) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987). Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Readers Guide Retro  
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

General

Academic Search Elite  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

Biography and General Master Index  
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

Books in Print  
(Current). Contains current, detailed information on more than 1.9 million titles: author, titles, ISBN, price, publisher, binding, language, illustrations, contact information for publishers, wholesalers, distributors, and much more.

Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.

Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

Ebscohost  
 

ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

Facts.com  
(1980-current). Contains information from seven core reference databases covering events, issues, statistics, and people of the last 20 years.

FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

Infotrac OneFile  
InfoTrac OneFile includes over 6,325 titles indexed from 1980 to present; nearly 3,000 full-text titles, including Expanded Academic ASAP.

JSTOR  
A
full text database of 117 scholarly journals in 15 academic disciplines primarily in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It acts as an archive for these journals, some of them dating back to the 1800s or the first volume published.  Because JSTOR acts as an archive, it will generally not include issues from the last two to five years.

Maps  
NewsBank Reference Maps, includes geographic, political and topograhic maps.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

NetLibrary  
Access to the full text of more than 13,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.

Readerís Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles

SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

SocINDEX  
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 5,000 Author Profiles.

Statistical Universe  
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.

Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.

World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

 

  Selected Journal Titles in Chesnutt Library

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Courts Martial and Courts of Inquiry United States Periodicals and Military Law United States Periodicals

The Air Force Law Review / [Electronic Resource] 
The Army Lawyer 
Military Law Review 
The Reporter / Office Of The Judge Advocate General Of The Air Force 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Military Art and Science Periodicals

Infantry 
Parameters : Journal Of The US Army War College 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = Military Intelligence Periodicals

Military Intelligence 

Library of Congress Subject Heading = United States Armed Forces Periodicals

Military Psychology The Official Journal Of The Division Of Military Psychology, American Psychological Association / [Electronic Resource]
The Officer 
Profile 

Keyword Search = Air Force and Periodicals

Air Force times [electronic resource] 
Air Power History [electronic resource] 
Airman 
Airpower Uournal 
Aerospace Power Journal 
Citizen Airman: Official Magazine of the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve 
Flying Safety [electronic resource] 
The MAC flyer / Military Airlift Command 
The Mobility Forum : the Journal of the Air Mobility Command 

Keyword Search = Marine and Periodicals

Leatherneck 

Keyword Search = Military and Periodicals

Defense & Security Electronics [electronic resource] 
The Defense Monitor 
DISAM Journal [electronic resource] 
Special Warfare: the Professional Bulletin of the John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School 

Keyword Search = (Navy or Navies) and Periodicals

Approach 
Approach : the Naval Safety Center's aviation magazine 
Scientific Information Bulletin / Department of the Navy, Office of Naval Research, Far East [and] D 
Fathom [electronic resource] 
Mech 
Naval War College Review 

   Selected Web Sites on the Military


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
12/3/09