in the Chesnutt Library
> Previous Page
The general collection of the Chesnutt Library has a
variety of books, periodicals and electronic resources on
music-related subjects. The Library-assigned call numbers of this
material are based on the Library of Congress Subject Outline for
Music and carry the prefixes "M,"
"ML," or "MT,"
which provide an idea of their subject matter. The books with these
call numbers can be found on the third floor of the Chesnutt
- The "M" classification
numbers designate any musical score, from solo instrumental
sonatas to symphonies, and from songs with piano accompaniment to
grand operas. Individual works as well as collections of different
works are represented by the "M" classification prefix.
- The "ML" prefix indicates
works of music literature, that is, published writings about
music, in both book and periodical formats. Biographies of
composers, histories of jazz, and bibliographies of works on
American musical theater, for example, carry an "ML" prefix.
- Material bearing the "MT"
classification prefix includes works which focus on music
instruction and analysis. Works represented in this category are,
for example, analyses of Mozart's operas, guitar instruction
methods, writings about a composer's harmonic language and
compositional techniques, and notes about performing
Latin-American art songs or Beethoven's piano sonatas.
To see the entire Library of Congress Music Classification
Outline for Music, click on
For assistance in locating music books, scores, and sound
recordings using the Chesnutt Library catalog on the Chesnutt
Library homepage, call the Reference Department at (910) 672-1233..
Print copies of current music periodicals and journals can
be found in the periodicals area on the first floor of the Library.
The back files to these periodicals and journals are located on the
first and second floor of the Library. See the
Music Periodicals and Journals Home Page for links to print
reference resources, such as dictionaries, directories,
encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes, are located in the Reference
Department on the first floor of the Library, and are classed as
- REF M -- Scores. Scores
are generally shelved in the General Collection.
- REF ML -- Books on music
literature, history and criticism. The Biography/Criticism
number for composers is ML410.
- REF ML12 - ML28 --
Directories, international, national and local
- REF ML100 - ML106 --
Encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries
- REF ML113 -- General
music bibliographies, research guides
- REF ML128 -- Specific
- REF ML134 -- Thematic
- REF ML156 --
- REF MT -- Books on music
theory and education. Instrumental/Vocal Studies and exercises
are usually in General Collection.
An increasing number of electronic online resources are
available to the FSU community, including
Online Internet Sources and to
FSU Online Databases. Most of these can be accessed
remotely, as well as in the Chesnutt Library.
For further assistance, please contact the Reference
Department at 672-1233.
W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University,
Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Created By: Duane Bogenschneider
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield firstname.lastname@example.org
Last Updated: 9/16/09