Online Databases Available in Chesnutt Library for Music Research

Online Databases for Citations, Full-Text, and Listening

> Previous Page


FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Access World News  
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text newspapers. Includes local news, editorials, and sections from over 1,800 sources including the New York Times 1995-present. Featuring Acceda Noticias-Spanish language newspapers; Access Business News; U.S. Newswires & Transcripts; Military, Government & Defense.


FSU Web access campus or home African American Song  
African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. This release features some 16,000 tracks. Earphones are required to use the resource in the library.


FSU Web access campus or homeAmerican National Biography.  The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history.


FSU Web access campus or homeAHSearch  
Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (1980-current).

FSU Web access campus or home American Song  
American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allow people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. This release includes 728 albums -- over 12103 tracks.


FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


FSU Web access campus or home Biography and Genealogy Master Index.   Is a comprehensive index to more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Updated biannually.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.


FSU Web access campus or home Classical Music Library  
Please bring your own headphones if you intend to use this resource in the library. CML is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.


FSU Web access campus or home Daily Life Through History Series  
Daily Life Through History offers a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history.  Links to ABC-CLIO E-Books.


FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) (1966-current). Indexes more than 1,000,000 research reports, teaching guides, books, 2,200 digests, and over 1,000 journals in education and education related fields, which includes Art Education.


FSU Web access campus or home Eventline  
(1989-current). Scheduled conventions, exhibits, etc., worldwide.


FSU Web access campus or home FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.


FSU Web access campus or home FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Directory Library  
 


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.


FSU Web access campus or home GPO  
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.


FSU Web access campus or home Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete
provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.


FSU Web access campus or home Index to Printed Music  
A tool for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions. "...content is searchable by composer name or ID, editor, genre, language, librettist, format, publisher name, series, title, instrumentation and/or number of instruments, and results can be limited by genre and/or language"


FSU Web access campus or home International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text  
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text,is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. As experts in the subject area, TRDC will continue indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains full text for more than 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 100 books & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Avant Garde Theatre, British Realist Theatre, Community Theatre, History of European Drama and Theatre, Learning Through Theatre, Opera, Performance Theory, Popular Theatres of Nineteenth Century France, Shakespeare, Theory and Performance, Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performance, Theatre and the World, Twentieth-Century Actor Training, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more.


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


FSU Web access campus or home Music Index  
A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature 1979-2003


FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  
Abstracts of music literature in over 100 different languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  
"Over 540,000 records on traditional, popular and classical music, representing disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and others. "


FSU Web access campus or home RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals  
Detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950....RIPM currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600  
An international, annotated bibliography, which aims to document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti. It contains ...585,559 records by over 20,500 composers...


FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.


FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.


FSU Web access campus or home Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries  
"...a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions" Please bring your own headphones if you use this resource in the Library


FSU Web access campus or home Spanish Reference Center  
Gran Enciclopedia Planeta is the most comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary. Also included is Enciclopedia Juvenil, which provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials specifically designed for younger learners.


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly


World History Collection
World History Collection
offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964..


 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Created By: Duane Bogenschneider
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 9/16/09