Nursing Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Nursing Subject Guide Contents

 

Hat Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides at Chesnutt Library

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Online Research Guides

Related Web Sites

 

 

 

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

Cinahl

Consumer Health Resources

Health Sources: Nursing/Academic Edition

Medline

Medline Plus

NC Health Info Website

ProQuest Nursing Journals

PubMed

 

Database Finder

Off-Campus Access

 

 

Selected Electronic Databases & Indexes

 

FSU Web access campus or home Cinahl
 

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. (index 1982+; abstracts 1986-current).

 

CINAHL, provides indexing for over 1,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Examples of titles offered in CINAHL include: AANA Journal, California Hospitals, Gastroenterology Nursing, Maternal and Child Health Journal, Paediatric Nursing, Parents, etc. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full text material includes 60 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. [EbscoHost description]

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Consumer Health Resources 

 

Accessed through NC Live. NC LIVE provides North Carolina residents and students with access to high quality information - searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials, maps, and much more - covering a wide range of topics. [NC Live website]

A few of the Consumer Health Resources available through NC Live include:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

CINAHL via EBSCOhost

Clinical Pharmacology via EBSCOhost

CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press

Health Source: Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost

Healthfinder

HealthLink Plus

HealthWeb

HIV InSite

Mayo Clinic Health Oasis

Medem

MEDLINEplus

National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC)

NC Health Info

NOAH: New York Online Access to Health

Oncolink : A University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center Resource

PsycINFO (Psychology) via Ovid/SilverPlatter

PubMed

State Center for Health Statistics

The Division of Public Health of the NC Dept. of Health and Human Services

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition


Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals.

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975. [EbscoHost description]

 

FSU Web access campus or home Medline


(1965-current). Indexes and abstracts biomedical literature.

 

Medline corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. There are over 12,000,000 records covering 1965 to present. Medline is a registered trademark of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home Medline Plus  
 

Contains full text quality resources on common diseases and conditions arranged under "Health Topics" as well as drug information, directories of health care providers, medical dictionaries and more.

 

One of the most comprehensive web resources for quality consumer health information. Developed by the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, the site contains extensive, high quality information on common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, prescription and non-prescription drugs, medical dictionaries and more. There are also interactive health tutorials and information on clinical trials. A Spanish version is also available at the vendor's site. [NC Live description]

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home NC Health Info Website

 

NC Health Info offers access to web sites of local health services, providers, and programs serving residents of North Carolina.

 

NC Health Info allows people to search for web sites of local health services across the state of North Carolina. Covering topics from Alzheimer's Disease to yoga, NC Health Info serves to connect people to health services (health care providers, support groups, wellness programs, etc.) in their local community. Through integrated links with MedlinePlus, a comprehensive consumer health web site from the National Library of Medicine, users can also access quality, up to date information on over 600 health conditions and diseases as well as wellness topics, drug information, and more. Visitors to NC Health Info may suggest additional health resources to add to the site. [NC Live description]

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Nursing Journals 

 

250+ leading full-text journals in nursing and allied health.

 

Offering complete information from leading nursing and related publications, this database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full-text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats. Covers 1986 present. [Proquest description]

 

 

FSU Web access campus or home PubMed  

 

Includes MEDline and more medical resources.

 

PubMed, available via the NCBI Entrez retrieval system, was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others.  PubMed was designed to provide access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.  [NLM description]

BACK TO TOP

 

Database Finder

Use Database Finder to search for a list of databases recommended for Nursing.

1. On the Library's home page select Databases

2. Click the drop-down menu Select a Subject located under Browse the Subject List of Databases

3. Scroll down to Nursing, click Go

BACK TO TOP

 

Off Campus Access

Students, faculty, and staff can access the majority of electronic databases and indexes available at Chesnutt Library from computers located off-campus.

 

1. On the Library's home page select Off-Campus Access (located under Services near the bottom of the page).

2. Read the information and click Create a PIN now

3. Enter the requested information, including a new pin at least 4 digits long.

4. A similar screen will pop up prompting you to enter the PIN two more times.

5. If successful you be in My Library Record. If you receive an error or invalid PIN message contact the Circulation desk at 910-672-1231 for help.

 

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 5/4/05