Nursing Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Nursing Subject Guide Contents


Hat Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

Reference Resources

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Related Subject Guides at Chesnutt Library

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Online Research Guides

Related Web Sites



Reference Resources

Reference Resources are located in the Reference section on the first floor of Chesnutt Library.





Handbooks & Manual



Bibliography - a list of citations for sources of information for a specific subject or person. Bibliographies can include citations for books, articles, internet resources, etc.


Resources for Nursing Research : An Annotated Bibliography

Cynthia G. L. Clamp and Stephen Gough

Thousand oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1999. 3rd. ed.

FSU Reference R81.5 .C53 1999


Primary Care Annotated Bibliography

Joyce J. Fitzpatrick [et. al.]

Washington, D.C.: American Academy of Nursing, c1996

FSU Reference RA427.9 .P745 1996


Primary Care Reference List

Joyce J. Fitzpatrick [et. al.]

Washington, D.C.: American Academy of Nursing, c1996

FSU Reference RA427.9 .P74 1996



Biographical - Biographical resources give short summaries of the lives of people and may include bibliographical references.


American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary. Volume 3

Vern L. Bullough and Lilli Sentz, editors

New York, Ny: Springer Pub. Co., c2000

FSU Reference RT35 .A44 2000 v.3


Profiles of Nurse Healers

Lynn Keegan and Barbara Montgomery Dossey

Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers, c1998

FSU Reference RT34 .K44 1998


Doctors, Nurses, and Medical Practitioners: A  Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook

Lois N. Magner

Wetport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997

FSU Reference R153 .D63 1997


Biography and Geneology Master Index

This electronic database indexes biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.



Dictionary - dictionaries define words and terms, confirm spellings, definitions, and pronunciation.  Dictionaries can be used to determine how words are or were used and the history of words. Dictionaries can be used to locate synonyms and antonyms.


A Dictionary of Nursing

Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, c2003. 4th ed.

FSU Reference RT21 .D537 2003


Medically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations on Dentistry, Medicine, and Nursing

Bristol, U.K.: Institute of Physics Pub., c1999

FSU Reference R704 .M46 1999


Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health

Kenneth N. Anderson and Lois E. Anderson

St. Louis: Mosby, c1998

FSU Reference R121 .M892 1998


Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary

St. Louis: Mosby, c2002. 6th ed.

FSU Reference R121 .M89 2002


Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health

Philadelphia: Saunders, c1997. 6th ed.

FSU Reference R121 .M65 199

FSU Circulation Desk R121 .M65 1997 Disk 1


A Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

Bethel Ann Powers and Thomas R. Knapp

Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, c1995. 2nd. ed.

FSU Reference RT81.5 .P69 1995


Elsevier's Dictionary of Abbreviations, Acronyms, Synonyms, and Symbols Used in Medicine

Samuel A. Tsur

Amsterdam, the Netherlands; San Diego, CA: Elsevier, 2004

*on order*


Legal and Ethical Dictionary For Mental Health Professionals

C. Emmanual Ahia

Landham, Md.: University Press of America

FSU Main Stacks KF3828 .A934 2003


Dictionary of Biomedical Sciences

Peter J. Gosling

London, New York: Taylor & Francis, 2002

FSU Reference R121 .J86 2002


Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology

Pei-Show Juo

Boca Raton: CRC Press, c2002

FSU Reference R121 .J86 2002


Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Philadelphia: F.A.Davis Co., c2001. Ed 19.

FSU Reference R121 . T18 2001


Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Thomas Lathrop Stedman

Philadelphia, Pa: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2000. 27th. ed.

FSU Reference R121 .S8 2000


Dictionary of Alternative Medicine

Joseph C. Segen

Stamford, Conn.: Appleton & Lange, c1998

FSU Reference R733 .S44 1998


Health Services Cyclopedic Dictionary: A Compendium of Health-care and Public Health Terminology

Thomas C. Timmreck

Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c1997. 3rg. ed.

FSU Reference RA393 .T56 1997


Delmar's English/Spanish Pocket Dictionary for Health Professionals

Rochelle K. Kelz

Albany: Delmar Publishers, c1997

FSU Reference R121 .K323 1997


Illustrated Dictionary of Environmental Health & Occupational Safety

Herman Koren

Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers, c1996

FSU Reference RA566 .K59 1996



Encyclopedia - Encyclopedias provide comprehensive summaries of knowledge or branches of knowledge.  Encyclopedias are useful for providing facts, gathering background information, and learning the vocabulary of a topic.  Entries are written by subject specialists and may include a bibliography.


The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Kristine Krapp

Detroit: Gale Group, c2002

FSU Reference RT21 .G353 2002 v. 1-5


The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care

New York, NY: Springer Pub., c2001

FSU Reference RC954 .E53 2001


Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing

Mary Jane Snodgrass

Santa Barbara. Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1999

FSU Reference RT31 .S66 1999


Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

Joyce J Fitzpatrick

New York: Springer Pub. Co., c1998

FSU Reference RT81.5 .E53 1998


Chesnutt Library has encyclopedias for a variety of specific health related topics. For example, there are encyclopedias for breast cancer, arthritis, health care management, women's health, Parkinson's disease, deafness, asthma and respiratory disorders, and many more.


Find an encyclopedia on a specific topic:

1. Select Keyword Search from the online catalog

2. type in [your topic] and encyclopedia.

3. click Search



Handbooks & Manuals - handbooks provide an overview of a subject. Manuals tell how to do a specific activity, such as how a machine operates, or provides descriptions on the inner workings of an organization.


Chesnutt Library has handbooks and manuals on a variety of nursing related topics.


Selected Handbooks & Manuals


Mosby's Handbook of Diseases

Rae Langford and June D. Thompson

St. Louis, Mo.: Elsevier Mosby, c2005

FSU Reference RT .L37 2005


Nursing 2004 Drug Handbook

Philadelphia, Pa.: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2004. 24th ed.

FSU Reference RM301.12 .N87 2004


Wong's Clinical Manual of Pediatric Nursing

Marilyn J. Hockenberry

Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby, c2004. 6th ed.

FSU Reference RJ245 .H59 2004


Fast Facts for Nurses

Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2004

FSU Reference RT51 .F37 2004


Nursing Procedures & Protocols

Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2003

FSU Main Stacks RT49 .N88 2003


Nurse's 3-minute Clinical Reference

Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2003

FSU Reference RT51 .N82 2003


Mosby's Critical Care Nursing Reference

Susan B. Stillwell

St. Louis: Mosby, c2002. 3rd. ed.

FSU Reference RT120 .I5 S75 2002


The Nursing Job Search Handbook

Genny Dell Dunne

Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, c2002

FSU Main Stacks RT86.7 .D86 2002


Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests

Rick Daniels, RN

Albany, NY: Delmar/Thomson Learning, c2002

RB38.2 .D36 2002



Subject Headings for Nursing Handbooks & Manuals


Allied health personnel -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Emergency nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Geriatric nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Home nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Intensive care nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Maternity nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nurses -- Employment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing -- Vocational guidance -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing assessment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing care plans -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing diagnosis -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing models -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Nursing -- Research -- Methodology -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Pediatric nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Psychiatric nursing -- Diagnosis -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Rehabilitation nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Surgical nursing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc


Chesnutt Library has handbooks and manuals for a variety of specific health related topics.


Find a handbook or manual on a specific topic:

1. Select Keyword Search from the online catalog

2. type in [your topic] and handbook

    or [your topic] and manual

    or [your topic] and handbook and manual.

3. click Search



Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright
Last Updated: 5/4/05