Philosophy

> Previous Page

To Identify the Latest Reference and Main Stacks Resources Always Use FSU's Online Catalog

Reference Resources Journal Titles Electronic Databases Web Sites

         Selected Reference Resources in Chesnutt Library

Library of Congress Call Number and Subject Heading

  B 1-5802 = Philosophy (General)
   B 69-99 General works
   B 108-5802 By period, Including individual philosophers and   Schools of philosophy
   B 108-708 Ancient
   B 720-765 Medieval
   B 770-785 Renaissance
   B 790-5802 Modern
   B 808-849 Special topics
   B 850-5739 By region or country
   B 5800-5802 By religion

  BC 1-199 = Logic
   BC 11-39 History
   BC 25-39 By period
   BC 60-99 General works
   BC 171-199 Special topics

  BD 10-701 = Speculative Philosophy
   BD 10-41 General philosophical works
   BD 95-131 Metaphysics
  BD 143-237 Epistemology. Theory of knowledge
  BD 240-260 Methodology
  BD 300-450 Ontology, Including being, the soul, life, death
  BD 493-701 Cosmology, Including teleology, space and time, structure of matter, plurality of worlds

Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings: 

     Conduct of Life
     Consciousness
     Consequentialism Ethics
     Decision Making Moral and Ethical Aspects
     Ethics
     Ethnophilosophy
     Gestalt Psychology
     Good and Evil
     Humanitarianism
     Identity Philosophical Concept
     Knowledge Theory of
     Lifestyles
     Logos Philosophy
     Manners and Customs
     Materialism
     Moral Education
     Music and Philosophy
     Natural Law
     Nature and Nurture
     Ontology
     Personality
     Philosophy
     Psychology
     Sexual Ethics
     Social Values
     Structuralism
     Values

 Philosophy Encyclopedias

  Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy  Ref B 121 .C66 1997

  Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy  Ref B 163 .E53 1997

  Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy  Ref B 803 .E35 1999

  Encyclopedia of Philosophy  Ref B 41 .E5  

  Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Supplement.  Ref B 41 .E5 1996 Suppl.

  Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment  Ref B 802 .E53 2003

  Oxford Companion to Philosophy  Ref B 51 .O94 1995

  Philosophy: a Guide Through the Subject  Ref BD 21 .P47 1995

  Philosophy of Law: an Encyclopedia  Ref K 204 .P49 1999

  Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  Ref B 51 .R68 1998

Online

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/

Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://www.ditext.com/encyc/frame.html

Philosophy from Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philosophy

  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html

 Philosophy Dictionaries

  Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers  Ref B 104 .B5 1996

  Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Social Thought  Ref H 41 .B53 1993

  Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy  Ref B 41 .C35 1999

  Dictionary of Philosophy  Ref B 791 .B76 1999

  Dictionary of Philosophy  Ref B 41 .L32 1996

  Dictionary of Philosophy  Ref B 41 .M38 1996

  Glossary of Epistemology/Philosophy of Science  Ref BD 150 .F47 1993

  Historical Dictionary of Hegelian Philosophy  Ref B 2901 .B87 2001

Online Dictionary

  Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names    http://www.philosophypages.com/dy/index.htm

Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind http://www.artsci.wustl.edu/~philos/MindDict/

Other Philosophy Resources

  African Philosophy: an Anthology  Ref B 5305 .A36 1998

  Ancient Egypt and Black Africa: a student's handbook for the study of Ancient Egypt in philosophy, linguistics, and gender relations  Ref DT 61 .O34 1992

  Cambridge Companion to Descartes  Ref B 1873 .C25 1992

  Cambridge Companion to Kant  Ref B 2798 .C36 1993

  Cambridge History of Renaissance Philosophy  Ref B 775 .C25 1998

  Companion to Philosophy of Women  Ref BL 51 .C634 1997

  Companion to World Philosophies  Ref B 121 .C664 1997

  Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers  Ref B 41 .C66 1991

  Dictionary of Literary Biography: Medieval Philosophers  Ref PN 441 .D5 v.115

  Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education: From Piaget to the Present   Ref LB 17 .F57 2001

  From Aristotle to Augustine  Ref B 505 .F76 1999

  Great Thinkers of the Western World: the major ideas and classic works of more than 100 outstanding Western philosophers, physical and social scientists, psychologists, religious writers, and theologians  Ref B 72 .G74 1992

  Handbook of Emotions  Ref BF 561 .H35 2000

  Indian Philosophy  Ref B 131 .R32 1996

  Oxford History of Western Philosophy  Ref B 72 .O8 1994

  Philosophy of Education : major themes in the analytic tradition  Ref LB 7 .P5432 1998

  Political Philosophy: Theories, Thinkers, Concepts  Ref JA 71 .P6226 2001 

  Women Philosophers of the Early Modern Period  Ref B 801 .W65 1994

  World Philosophies: an Historical Introduction  Ref BD 21 .C656 1996

   Selected Philosophy Journals in Chesnutt Library

American Philosophical Quarterly 
Aristoi : An Interdisciplinary Journal Of Philosophy / Division Of Liberal Arts, Broome Community College, State University Of New York 
The Beacon 
Diogenes / [Electronic Resource] 
Economics And Philosophy 
Ethics 
European Journal Of Philosophy / [Electronic Resource] 
History Of Philosophy Quarterly : HPQ 
Inquiry 
International Journal Of Philosophical Studies / [Electronic Resource] 
The Journal Of Mind And Behavior 
The Journal Of Philosophy 
Journal Of Religious Ethics 
Journal Of The History Of Ideas 

Journal Of The History Of Philosophy

The Monist 
Philosophic Research And Analysis 
The Philosophical Forum 
Philosophical Perspectives 
The Philosophical Quarterly 
Philosophy And Literature 
Philosophy East & West 
Philosophy : The Journal Of The British Institute Of Philosophical Studies 
Philosophy Today 
South African Journal Of Philosophy = Suid-Afrikaanse Tydskrif Vir Wysbegeerte / [Electronic Resource] 
Studies In Philosophy And Education 

Philosophy Journals in JSTOR Database

British Journal for the Philosophy of Science 1950-1998
Bulletin of Symbolic Logic 1995-2005
Ethics 1938-2001
International Journal of Ethics 1890-1938
Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism 1941-2002
Journal of Philosophy 1921-2000
Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods 1904-1920
Journal of Symbolic Logic 1936-2001
Mind 1876-1998
Noûs 1967-1999
Philosophical Perspectives 1987-1995
Philosophical Quarterly 1950-2000
Philosophical Review 1892-2002
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research 1940-2000
Philosophy and Public Affairs 1971-2000
Philosophy of Science 1934-2001
Political Theory 1973-2002
PSA: Proceedings of the Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association 1970-1994
Sociological Theory 1983-2003
 

Philosophy Journals in JSTOR Database

Use Journal Finder to identify titles that are available online and in the library.
Journal Finder Subject Search on Philosophy produces this list.
 

   Selected Philosophy Databases

FSU Web access campus or home Philosopher's Index  
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.


FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.


FSU Web access campus or home AHSearch  
Arts & Humanities Search. (1980-current). A citation index.


FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home CQ Researcher Online  
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.


FSU Web access campus or home CQ Weekly  
Fully archived to 1983 on the Web, CQ Weekly looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home Eventline  
(1989-current). Scheduled conventions, exhibits, etc., worldwide.


FSU Web access campus or home FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.


FSU Web access campus or home FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.


FSU Web access campus or home Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  
(1981-current). International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence.


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


FSU Web access campus or home MLA International Bibliography  
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.


FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home Opposing Viewpoints  
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.


FSU Web access campus or home Oxford English Dictionary  
Find OED's definition of a word or phrase.

 

FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Psychology Journals  
Over 400 journals and related publications in psychology.


FSU Web access campus or home Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.


FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.


FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.


FSU Web access campus or home Statistical Universe  
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.


   Selected Philosophy Web Sites


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
8/7/08