Health and Physical Education

SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS

> Previous Page

Author Lewis, Keeta DeStefano
Title Manual of school health : a handbook for school nurses, educators, and health professionals / Keeta DeStefano Lewis, Bonnie J. Bear
Publisher St. Louis, Mo. : Saunders, c2009
Edition 3rd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RJ247 .L48 2009  AVAILABLE
Title North Carolina health careers, 2008-2010
Publisher Chapel Hill, NC : North Carolina Area Health Education Centers Program, c2007
Edition 8th ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RA410.8.N8 N66 2007  AVAILABLE
Title Sexually transmitted diseases sourcebook : basic consumer health information about chlamydial infections, gonorrhea, hepatitis, herpes, HIV/AIDS, human papillomavirus, pubic lice, scabies, syphilis, trichomoniasis, vaginal infections, and other sexually transmitted diseases ... / edited by Amy L. Sutton
Publisher Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c2006
Edition 3rd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RC200.2 .S387 2006  AVAILABLE
Title Encyclopedia of education and human development / Stephen J. Farenga and Daniel Ness, editors ; foreword by James H. Borland
Publisher Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  LB15 .E473 2005  v.1  AVAILABLE
 FSU Reference  LB15 .E473 2005  v.2  AVAILABLE
 FSU Reference  LB15 .E473 2005  v.3  AVAILABLE
Title Encyclopedia of applied developmental science / edited by Celia B. Fisher, Richard M. Lerner
Publisher Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2005
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  HQ767.84 .E52 2005  v.1  AVAILABLE
 FSU Reference  HQ767.84 .E52 2005  v.2  AVAILABLE
Title Dictionary of public health promotion and education : terms and concepts / Naomi N. Modeste, Teri S. Tamayose, [editors] ; foreword by Helen Hopp Marshak
Publisher San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2004
Edition 2nd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RA440.5 .M634 2004  AVAILABLE
Author Himberg, Cathrine, 1965-
Title Teaching secondary physical education : preparing adolescents to be active for life / Cathrine Himberg, Gayle E. Hutchinson, John M. Roussell
Publisher Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2003
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  GV365 .H56 2003  AVAILABLE
Author Russell, Cheryl, 1953-
Title The baby boom : Americans aged 35 to 54 / by Cheryl Russell
Publisher Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, c2001
Edition 3rd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  HN60 .R868 2001  AVAILABLE
Title Reconstructive and cosmetic surgery sourcebook : basic consumer health information on cosmetic and reconstructive plastic surgery ... / edited by M. Lisa Weatherford
Publisher Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, 2001
Edition 1st ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RD118 .R365 2001  AVAILABLE
Title Caregiving sourcebook : basic consumer health information for caregiving, including a profile of caregivers ... / edited by Joyce Brennfleck Shannon
Publisher Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c2001
Edition 1st ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RA645.35 .C37 2001  AVAILABLE
Author Schiemer, Suzann, 1956-
Title Assessment strategies for elementary physical education / Suzann Schiemer
Publisher Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2000
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  GV436 .S27 2000  AVAILABLE
Title Physical dimensions : the high school physical activity & health/wellnes curriculum / authors Kathy Ermler ... [et al.]
Publisher [Emporia, KS : Mirror Publishing] ; Wichita, KS ; Kansas Health Foundation, c2000]
Edition 2nd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  GV365 .P525 2000  AVAILABLE
Title Cancer symptom management : patient self-care guides / edited by Connie Henke Yarbro, Margaret Hansen Frogge, Michelle Goodman
Publisher Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett, c2000
Edition 2nd ed
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 FSU Reference  RC266 .C35646 2000  AVAILABLE

SELECTED JOURNAL TITLES

American Journal of Health Education

Complementary Health Practice Review

Health and Social Work

International Journal of Physical Education

Journal of Aging and Physical Activity

Journal of Health Education

Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance

Journal of School Health

Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare

Physical Educator

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport

Social Work in Health Care

SELECTED EDUCATION AND HEALTH DATABASES

Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

Centers for Disease Control  
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.

Consumer Health Resources 

Dynamed  
Provides clinically-organized summaries for more than 1,800 topics. A simple yet powerful topically-driven menu allows physicians, medical students and other health care professionals to research high-end synthesized information from respected publications, associations, and contributing clinicians.

ERIC  
Coverage is from 1966 - present of journal articles and documents such as reports, handbooks, and monographs in education. ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

Health Source: Consumer Edition  
Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals.

Healthfinder  
A Service of the National Health Information Center, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Hand-picked health information from A to Z; selected health topics; information about physicians, dentists, public clinics, hospitals, long term care, nursing homes, health insurance, prescriptions, health fraud, Medicare, Medicaid, and medical privacy; and carefully selected health information Web sites from government agencies, clearinghouses, nonprofits, and universities.

HealthWeb  
HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation. Links to web sites on health information.

HIV InSite  
Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine. Designed as a gateway to in-depth information, it provides numerous links to many authoritative sites.

Medem  
"The Medem Network offers customizable practice Web sites with integrated HIPAA and eRisk compliant secure messaging, access to new insured patients via health plan provider directory links, access to health plan transactions, e-commerce, and a trusted library of clinical content from leading medical societies"

Medline  
(1965-current). Indexes and abstracts biomedical literature. Now with more full text

North Carolina Curriculum  
The online home for the North Carolina Standard Course of Study

North Carolina Health Info website  
NC Health Info offers access to web sites of local health services, providers, and programs serving residents of North Carolina.

North Carolina Teacher Academy  
Resources for teachers and prospective teachers

Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

ProQuest Education Journals  
Over 250 leading full text journals in education and related fields.

Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.

SELECTED WEB SITES


Page Maintained By:  Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC  28301

Last Updated: 6/16/09