Psychology Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Psychology Subject Guide Contents

  icon Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

 Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Library of Congress Call No. & Subject Headings

Related Subject Guides

Online Research Guides

Psychology Related Web Sites

 

 Reference Resources

 

Bibliographies

Biographical Dictionary

Dictionaries

Directories

Encyclopedias

Handbooks and Manuals

 

 

Bibliography - a list of citations for sources of information for a specific subject or person. Bibliographies can include citations for books, articles, internet resources, etc.

 

The psychology of humor : a reference guide and annotated bibliography

Roeckelein, Jon E

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002

FSU Main Stacks PN6144.P5 R64 2002   

 

Stress : a bibliography with indexes

New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2002

FSU Reference Z7204 .S78 2002   

 

Psychology : an introductory bibliography

Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press ; Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1996

FSU Reference Z7201 .P79 1996 

 

Blacks in the United States : abstracts of the psychological and behavioral literature, 1987-1995 /

Keita, Gwendolyn Puryear

Washington D.C. : American Psychological Association, c1996.

FSU Reference Z1361.N39 K45 1996

 

The best years of their lives : a resource guide for teenagers in crisis

Zvirin, Stephanie

Chicago : American Library Associations, 1996. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference HQ796 .Z95 1996 

 

Psychology of aging : an annotated bibliography

Hayslip, Bert

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995

FSU Reference BF724.8 .H392 1995 

 

American popular psychology : an interdisciplinary research guide

Fried, Stephen B.

New York : Garland Pub., 1994

FSU Reference BF108 .F75 1994 

 

The bibliography of human behavior

Caton, Hiram

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993

FSU Reference BF121 .C37 1993   

 

Homelessness : abstracts of the psychological and behavioral literature, 1967-1990

Washington, DC : American Psychological Association ; Hyattsville, MD : Order Dept. [distributor], c1990

FSU Reference HV4493 .H65 1990 

 

The IQ debate : a selective guide to the literature

Aby, Stephen H.

New York : Greenwood Press, 1990

FSU Reference BF431 .A29 1990 

 

Biological, psychological, and environmental factors in delinquency and mental disorder : an interdisciplinary bibliography

Denno, Deborah W

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985

FSU Reference HV6080 .D46 1985 

 

Human motivation, a guide to information sources

Cofer, Charles N

Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1980

FSU Reference Z7204.M65 C63   

 

The history of psychology and the behavioral sciences : a bibliographic guide

Watson, Robert Irving

New York : Springer Pub. Co., c1978

FSU Reference Z7201 .W373 

 

Black-white racial attitudes : an annotated bibliography

Obudho, Constance E

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1976

FSU Reference Z1361.N39 O28 1976 

 

Serials in psychology and allied fields

Tompkins, Margaret

Troy, N.Y. : Whitston Pub. Co., 1976. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF1 .T65 1976 

 

Eminent contributors to psychology

Watson, Robert Irving

New York, Springer Pub. Co. [1974-76]

FSU Reference Z7201 .W37  v.1 & 2

 

Creativity and the individual; summaries of selected literature in psychology and psychiatry

Stein, Morris Isaac

Glencoe, Ill., Free Press [1960]

FSU Reference Z7204.C8 S72 

 

BACK TO TOP

 

Biographical Dictionaries - Biographical resources give short summaries of the lives of people and may include bibliographical references.

 

Biographical dictionary of psychology

London ; New York : Routledge Reference, 1997

FSU Reference BF109.A1 B56 1997   

 

Fifty key thinkers in psychology

Sheehy, Noel

London ; New York : Routledge, 2004

* on order

 

Models of achievement : reflections of eminent women in psychology

New York : Columbia University Press, 1983

FSU Reference BF109.A1 M6 1988  v.2 

FSU Main Stacks BF109.A1 M6 1988  v.2  c.2

 

Names in the history of psychology : a biographical sourcebook

Zusne, Leonard

Washington : Hemisphere Pub. Corp. ; New York : distributed by Wiley, [1975]

FSU Main Stacks BF109.A1 Z85    

 

A guide to psychologists and their concepts

Nordby, Vernon J.

San Francisco, W. H. Freeman; trade distributor: Scribner, New York [1974]

FSU Main Stacks BF109.A1 N67

 

BACK TO TOP

 

Dictionaries - dictionaries define words and terms, confirm spellings, definitions, and pronunciation.  Dictionaries can be used to determine how words are or were used and the history of words. Dictionaries can be used to locate synonyms and antonyms.

 

Dictionary of cognitive science : neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy 

New York : Psychology Press, 2004

FSU Reference BF311 .V56713 2004 

 

Dictionary of psychology and psychiatry : English-German = Wörterbuch der Psychologie und Psychiatrie : Englisch-Deutsch

Haas, Roland

Toronto : Hogrefe & Huber Publishers, 2003. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .H2 2003  v.1 & 2

 

The dictionary of psychology

Corsini, Raymond J.

Philadelphia, PA : Brunner/Mazel, c1999

FSU Reference BF31 .C72 1999 

 

A student's dictionary of psychology

Stratton, Peter

London ; New York : Arnold, 1999. 3rd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .S69 1999 

 

Dictionary of theories, laws, and concepts in psychology

Roeckelein, Jon E.

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998

FSU Reference BF31 .R625 1998

 

Dictionary of images and symbols in counselling

Stewart, William

London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, c1998

FSU Reference BF458 .S775 1998 

 

The international dictionary of psychology

Sutherland, N. S.

New York : Crossroad, 1996. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .S83 1996

 

Dictionary of developmental psychology

Stuart-Hamilton, Ian

Bristol, Pa. : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995

FSU Reference BF712.7 .S78 1995 

 

A dictionary of mind and body : therapies, techniques, and ideas in alternative medicine, the healing arts and psychology

Watson, Donald

London : Andre Deutsch, 1995

FSU Reference R733 .W377 1995   

 

Dictionary Of Psychological Testing, Assessment And Treatment : Includes Key Terms In Statistics, Psychological Testing, Experimental Methods and Therapeutic Treatments

Stuart-Hamilton, Ian

London ; Bristol, Pa. : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995

FSU Reference BF176 .S78 1995 

 

A student's dictionary of psychology

Stratton, Peter

London ; New York : E. Arnold ; New York : Distributed in the USA by Routledge, Chapman, and Hall, 1994, c1993. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .S69 1994   

 

The Dictionary of family psychology and family therapy

Newbury Park, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1993. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference RC488.5 .D525 1993 

 

The Blackwell dictionary of cognitive psychology

Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Reference, c1990

FSU Reference BF311 .B535 1990 

 

Dictionary of behavioral science

San Diego : Academic Press, c1989. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .D48 1989 

 

Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques

New York : Pergamon Press, c1988

FSU Reference BF176.5 .D53 1988 

 

Dictionary of concepts in general psychology

Popplestone, John A.

New York : Greenwood Press, 1988

FSU Reference BF31 .P665 1988 

 

Longman dictionary of psychology and psychiatry

New York : Longman, c1984

FSU Reference BF31 .L66 1984 

 

BACK TO TOP

 

Directories - Directories list the names and addresses of individuals, companies, organizations, and institutions.

 

Directory of American scholars 

Detroit : Gale Group, 2002. 10th ed.

FSU Reference LA2311 D57 2002  v.6

 

Directory of the American Psychological Association 

Washington, D.C. : The Association, 1978-

FSU Main Stacks BF11 .A67 1989  v.1 & 2

 

Directory of ethnic minority professionals in psychology 

Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association, c1990. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF30 .A493 1990 

 

BACK TO TOP

 

Encyclopedias - Encyclopedias provide comprehensive summaries of knowledge or branches of knowledge.  Encyclopedias are useful for providing facts, gathering background information, and learning the vocabulary of a topic.  Entries are written by subject specialists and may include a bibliography.

 

Encyclopedia of health & behavior

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2004

FSU Reference R726.5 .E53 2004  v.1 & 2

 

Encyclopedia of school psychology

New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2004

FSU Reference LB1027.55 .E52 2004    

 

Magill's encyclopedia of social science : psychology

Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 2003

FSU Reference BF31 .M33 2003  v.1-4

 

The Gale encyclopedia of psychology

Detroit, MI : Gale Group, c2001. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .G35 2001   

 

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science 

New York : Wiley, c2001. 3rd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .E55 2001  v.1-4

 

Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender

San Diego, Calif. : Academic Press, 2001

FSU Reference HQ1115 .E43 2001  v.1 & 2

 

Encyclopedia of human emotions

New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c1999

FSU Reference BF531 .E55 1999  v.1 & 2

 

Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling / edited by David G. Benner & Peter C. Hill 

Grand Rapids, Mich. : Baker Books, c1999. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference BF31 .B25 1999    

 

Encyclopedia of mental health

San Diego: Academic Press, c1998.

FSU Reference RA790.5 .E53 1998 v.1-3

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development

Cambridge, UK ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1998

FSU Reference QP84 .C26 1998 

 

Historical encyclopedia of school psychology

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996

FSU Reference LB1027.55 .H57 1996 

 

The encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis.

New York : Henry Holt, c1996

FAU Reference RC437 .E49 1996 

 

The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology

Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell, 1995.

FSU Reference HM251 .B476 1995 

 

BACK TO TOP

 

Handbooks and Manuals - handbooks provide an overview of a subject. Manuals tell how to do a specific activity, such as how a machine operates, or provides descriptions on the inner workings of an organization.

 

Chesnutt Library has handbooks and manuals on a variety of psychology related topics.

 

Handbook of social psychology

New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2003

FSU Main Stacks HM1033 .H36 2003

 

Steven's handbook of experimental psychology

New York, NY : John Wiley & Sons, c2002. 3rd ed

FSU Reference BF181 .H336 2002  v.1-4

 

Handbook of the psychology of women and gender

New York : Wiley, c2001

FSU Reference HQ1206 .H2385 2001 

 

Handbook of clinical child psychology

New York : Wiley, c2001. 3rd ed.

FSU Reference RJ503.3 .H36 2001 

 

Handbook of work and organizational psychology

East Sussex : Psychology Press, c1998. 2nd ed.

FSU Reference HF5548.8 .H2655 1998  v.1-4

 

Handbook of child psychology

New York : J. Wiley, c1998. 5th ed.

FSU Reference BF721 .H242 1998 

 

Chesnutt Library has handbooks and manuals for a variety of psychology related topics.

 

Find a handbook or manual on a specific topic:

1. Select Keyword Search from the online catalog

2. type in [your topic] and handbook

    or [your topic] and manual

    or [your topic] and handbook and manual.

3. click Search

 

 

BACK TO TOP


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 9/13/05