Psychology Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Psychology Subject Guide Contents

  icon Scope and Introduction

Getting Started

 Reference Resources

Research Guides

Electronic Databases & Indexes

Journal Titles

Library of Congress Call No. & Subject Headings

Related Subject Guides

Online Research Guides

Psychology Related Web Sites



 Related Web Sites

Professional Associations & Organizations

Test Instruments and Measurements




Professional Associations & Organizations


American Psychological Association

Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide. Retrieved 9/6/05 from


APA's Professional Divisions

There are 53 professional divisions in the APA. This site provides a complete list of the 53 divisions as well as a list of the divisions organized by topic area.


American College of Neuropsychopharmacology


American Psychoanalytic Association


American Psychological Association of Graduate Students


American Psychological Society


Animal Behavior Society


Association for Advancement of Behavior Therapy


Association for the Advancement of Applied Sport Psychology


Association of Traumatic Stress Specialists


Cognitive Neuroscience Society


International Society for Comparative Psychology


International Society on Infant Studies


National Association of School Psychologists


North Carolina School Psychology Association


Parapsychological Association


Psychometric Society


Society for Consumer Psychology


Society for Personality and Social Psychology


Society for Psychophysiological Research




Test Instruments and Measurements


Buros Center for Testing

Provides information on locating tests, test reviews, or test publishers. Also includes a subject index for quickly locating tests in a specific subject area.


Buros Institute of Mental Measurements

The Buros Institute provides critical analysis of measurement instruments and tests through the publication of the Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print series.


Buros Institute for Assessment Consultation and Outreach

BIACO serves individuals and programs who develop and use proprietary testing and measurement tools by providing independent oversight, psychometric evaluation, independent research, assessment literacy training, and technical consultation.


FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests

APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests.


Human Participant Protections Education for Research Teams

National Cancer Institute

This free, web-based course presents information about the rights and welfare of human participants in research. The two-hour tutorial is designed for those involved in conducting research involving human participants. It satisfies the NIH human subjects training requirement for obtaining Federal Funds. You will have the option of printing a certificate of completion from your computer upon completing the course.


Test and Measurement Resources Subject Guide

From NCSU Libraries this library guide answers FAQs about tests and measures.


Test Instruments and Measures

From the Health Sciences Library at UNC-CH. A guide to locating information about test instruments and measures.






Classics in the History of Psychology

Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.


UCSC Perceptual Science Lab

The Perceptual Science Laboratory is engaged in a variety of experimental and theoretical inquiries in perception and cognition.




Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright
Last Updated: 9/13/05