Public Administration

> Previous Page

The United States Capitol

This guide is a partial webliography of resources available on public administration.  Its primary purpose is to jumpstart the research process for the student.   If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call 672-1233.

 

GENERAL REFERENCE

Caiden, Gerald E.  American Public Administration: A Bibliographical Guide to the Literature.  New York: Garland Pub.  1983.  FSU  MAIN STACKS  JF1351.A43 1983

Calhoun, Craig.  Dictionary of the Social Sciences.  New York: Oxford University Press.  2002.  FSU  REF  H41.D53 2002

Chandler, Ralph C.  The Public Administration Dictionary.  2nd ed.   Santa Barbara, Calif.,:   ABC-Clio.  1998.  FSU  MAIN STACKS  JA61.C47 1988

Gawthrop, Louis and Gawthrop, Virginia.  PAR:  Public Administration Review Cumulative Index, 1940-1979.  Washington, DC:  American Society for Public Administration.  1980.  FSU  MAIN STACKS  JK1.P85 1980

E-DATABASES

FSU Web access campus or home

 Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

FSU Web access campus or home Alternative Press Index  
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

FSU Web access campus or home Bills from the NC General Assembly  
This database includes session laws and a full text bill search feature.

FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals

FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

FSU Web access campus or home Congressional Record  
(1995-current). The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.

FSU Web access campus or home Congressional Universe  
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, laws, bill and regulations and member and committee information.

FSU Web access campus or home CQ Researcher Online  
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.

FSU Web access campus or home CQ Weekly  
Fully archived to 1983 on the Web, CQ Weekly looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously

FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

FSU Web access campus or home Encyclopedia Universal en Español

FSU Web access campus or home Facts.com  
(1980-current). Contains information from seven core reference databases covering events, issues, statistics, and people of the last 20 years.

FSU Web access campus or home FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

FSU Web access campus or home Federal Register  
(1995-current). The official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

FSU Web access campus or home Fedworld  
National Technical Information Services. Federal job announcements, agency site directory, more.

FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.

FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.

FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.

FSU Web access campus or home Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  
(1981-current). International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence.

FSU Web access campus or home International Monetary Fund  
The IMF is an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements.

FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.

FSU Web access campus or home Legislative Directory  
The geography and personnel of North Carolina representation

FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Congressional Universe  
CIS indexing and abstracting of congressional publications and the CIS Legislative Histories (1970-present), bill tracking and more

FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.

FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

FSU Web access campus or home Opposing Viewpoints  
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

FSU Web access campus or home PAIS International  
(1972-current). Citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.

FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.

FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.

FSU Web access campus or home Population Index on the Web  
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.

FSU Web access campus or home Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously

FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

FSU Web access campus or home Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.

FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

FSU Web access campus or home Thomas  
Full-text access to current bills in U.S. Congress.

FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.

FSU Web access campus or home Wall Street Journal  
Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1995+

FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.

FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.

FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.

FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

FSU Web access campus or home World Fact Book  
U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Country profiles.

 ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The Encyclopedia of Democracy.  Washington, DC:  Congressional Quarterly.  1995.  FSU REF  JC423.E53 1995 v.1-4

The Encyclopedia of Public Choice.  Dordrecht; Boston:  Kluwer Academic Publishers.  2004.  FSU REF H41.E57 2004 v.1-2

Roberts, Robert North.  Ethics in U.S. Government: An Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms, and Legislation.  Westport, Conn.:  Greenwood Press.  2001.  FSU REF  JK468.E7 R556 2001

International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration.  Boulder:  Westview Press.  1998.  FSU REF  H97.I574 1998 v.1-4

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences.  1st ed.  Amsterdam; New York:  Elsevier.  2001.  FSU REF  H41.I58 2001 v.1-26

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.   New York:  Macmillan Company.  1991.  FSU REF  H40.A2 I5 1968

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods.  Thousand Oaks, Calif.:   Sage Pub.  2004.  FSU REF  H62.S34 2004 v.1-3

 GENERAL COLLECTION

Vickers, Geoffrey.  The Art of Judgment:  A Study of Policy Making.  Thousand Oaks:  Sage Publications.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD38.2.V53 1995

Haass, Richard.  The Bureaucratic Entrepreneur:  How to be Effective in Any Unruly Organization.  Washington, DC:  Brookings Institution.  1999.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.H2 1999

Changing Maps:  Governing In A World of Rapid Change.  Ottawa:  Carleton University Press in Collaboration with The Meridian International Institute and the Parliamentary Centre.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  H97.C43 1995

Comparative Public Management:  Putting U.S. Public Policy and Implementation in Context.  Westport, Conn.:  Praeger.  1994.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.C587 1994

Palumbo, Dennis James.  Contemporary Public Administration.  New York:  Longman.  1991.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.P25 1991

Holden, Matthew.  Continuity and Disruption:  Essays in Public Administration.  Pittsburgh, PA.:  University of Pittsburgh Press.  1996.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.H65 1996

Bryson, John M.  Creating and Implementing Your Strategic Plan:  A Workbook for Public and Nonprofit Organizations.  1st ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1996.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD30.28.B788 1996

Current Issues in Public Administration.  5th ed.  New York:  St. Martin's Press.  1994.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.C84 1994

The Enduring Challenges in Public Management:  Surviving and Excelling in A Changing World.  1st ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.E59 1995

Considine. Mark.  Enterprising States:  The Public Management of Welfare-To-Work.  Cambridge; New York:  Cambridge University Press.  2001.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HV69.C58 2001

Peters, B. Guy.  The Future of Governing:  Four Emerging Models.  Lawrence:  University Press of Kansas.  1996.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.P393 1996

Hill, Michael J.  Implementing Public Policy:  Governance in Theory and Practice.  London; Thousand Oaks, Calif.:  Sage Publishers.  2002.  FSU MAIN STACKS  H97.H56 2002

Shafritz, Jay M.  Introducing Public Administration.  New York:  Longman.  1997.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.S448 1997

Terry, Larry D.  Leadership of Public Bureaucracies:  The Administrator As Conservator.  Thousand Oaks:  SAGE Publications.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1525.L4 T47 1995

Kearns, Kevin P.  Managing for Accountability:  Preserving the Public Trust in Public and Nonprofit Organizations.  1st ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1996.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.K39 1996

Modern Systems of Government:  Exploring the Role of Bureaucrats and Politicians.  Thousand Oaks, Calif.:  SAGE Publications.  1997.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1501.M63 1997

Czarniawska-Joerges, Barbara.  Narrating the Organization:  Dramas of Institutional Identity.  Chicago:  University of Chicago Press.  1997.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD58.7.C93 1997

Cohen, Steven.  The New Effective Public Manager:  Achieving Success in A Changing Government.  2nd ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.C574 1995

Denhardt, Janet Vinzant.  The New Public Service:  Serving, Not Steering.  Armonk, N.Y.:  M.  E.  Sharpe.  2003.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.D4495 2003

Gortner, Harold F.  Organization Theory:  A Public Perspective.  2nd ed.  Forth Worth:  Harcourt Brace College Publishers.  1997.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.G673 1997

Horn, Murray J.  The Political Economy of Public Administration: Institutional Choice in the Public Sector.  Cambridge; New York, NY:  Cambridge University Press.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.H67 1995

The Political Environment of Public Management.  New York:  HarperCollins.  1993.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.K62 1993

Fox, Charles J.  Postmodern Public Administration:  Toward Discourse.  Thousand Oaks, Calif.:  SAGE Publications.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.F67 1995

Haass, Richard.  The Power to Persuade.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin.  1994.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.H3 1994

Privatization of Public Enterprise Reform?:  International Case Studies With Implications for Public Management.  Westport, Conn.:  Greenwood Press.  2001.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD3850.P7478 2001

Public Administration: Concepts and Cases.  5th ed.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin.  1992.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.P816 1992

Hughes, Owen E.  Public Management and Administration:  An Introduction.  3rd ed.  New York:  Palgrave.  2003.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.H84 2003

Mercer, James L.  Public Management in Lean Years:  Operating in A Cutback Management Environment.  Westport, Conn.:  Quorum Books.  1992.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.M388 1992

Lane, Jan-Erik.  The Public Sector:  Concepts, Models and Approaches.  London: Sage.  1993.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.L37 1993

Public Sector Management:  Theory, Critique and Practice.  London; Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications.  1994.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.P85 1994

Hunt, V. Daniel.  Quality Management for Government:  A Guide to Federal, State, and Local Implementation.  Milwaukee, Wis.:  ASQC Quality Press.  1993.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1525.T67 H86 1993

Harmon, Michael M.  Responsibility As Paradox:  A Critique of Rational Discourse On Government.  Thousand Oaks, CA:  SAGE Publications.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.H363 1995

Joyce, Paul.  Strategic Management for the Public Services.  Buckingham; Philadelphia, PA:  Open University Press.  1999.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD30.28.J693 1999

Koteen, Jack.  Strategic Management in Public and Nonprofit Organizations:  Managing Public Concerns in An Era of Limits.  2nd ed.  Westport, Conn.:  Praeger.  1997.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD30.28.K67 1997

Nutt, Paul C.  Strategic Management of Public and Third Sector Organizations:  A Handbook for Leaders.  1st ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1992.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.N87 1992

Bryson, John M.  Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations:  A Guide to Strengthening and Sustaining Organizational Achievement.  Rev. ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1995.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HD30.28.B79 1995

Cohen, Steven.  Total Quality Management in Government:  A Practical Guide for the Real World.  1st ed.  San Francisco:  Jossey-Bass Publishers.  1993.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1411.C64 1993

Khademian, Anne M.  Working With Culture:  How the Job Gets Done in Public Programs.  Washington, DC:  CQ Press.  2002.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JF1351.K487 2002

HANDBOOKS

Handbook of Comparative and Development Public Administration.  2nd ed., rev. expanded.  New York:  Marcel Dekker.  2001.  FSU REF JF1351.H267 2001

Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration.  New York:  Marcel Dekker.  2001.  FSU MAIN STACKS  HV7419.H37 2001

Handbook of Public Administration.  2nd ed.  New York:  Marcel Dekker.  1998.  netLibrary

Griffin, Kenton G.  Managing Your City or Town, or, A Reference Guide for the New Public Official.  Lanham, MD.: University Press of America.  1994.  FSU MAIN STACKS  JS331.G78 1994

JOURNALS @ CHESNUTT

Administration & Society

Administration In Social Work

Administrative Science Quarterly

American Journal of Political Science

American Political Science Review

Government Accountants Journal

Journal of Management

Journal of Management Studies

Management: A Magazine For Government Managers

Policy Studies Journal

Public Administration: An International Quarterly

Public Administration Quarterly

Public Administration Review

Public Interest

Public Management

Public Productivity


 

Page Maintained By:  Bernadette M. Ross bross@uncfsu.edu

 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC  28301

 

Wednesday June 30, 2010 04:12 PM -0400