Selected Bibliography on Charles W. Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman

> Previous Page

Bibliography Selected from Databases; Literature Online and MLA International Bibliography

* Selected Articles on Reserve under the Chancellor's Reading Club 2006

See the Charles W. Chesnutt Archival Website at Fayetteville State University

See the Chancellor's Reading Club 2006 Website

Anderson-Green, Paula Hathaway. Folklore and fiction in nineteenth-century North Carolina: Taliaferro's 'Fisher's River' and Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman'.
Unpub. doct. diss., Georgia State Univ.-Coll. of Arts and Sciences, 1980. [Abstr. in Dissertation Abstracts International (41) 4397A.]

Baldwin, Richard E. The art of 'The Conjure Woman'.
American Literature (43), 385-98.

Burnette, R. V. Charles W. Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman Revisited.
CLA Journal (30:4) 1987, 438-53.

Cash, Wiley 'Those Folks Downstairs Believe in Ghosts': The Eradication of Folklore in the Literature of Charles W. Chesnutt
CLA Journal, 2005 Dec; 49 (2): 184-204. (journal article)

Creekmur, Corey K.  "Telling White Lies:" Oscar Micheaux and Charles W. Chesnutt." pp. 147-58
IN: Bowser, Pearl (ed.); Gaines, Jane (ed.); Musser, Charles (ed.); Oscar Micheaux and His Circle: African-American Filmmaking and Race Cinema of the Silent Era. Bloomington, IN: Indiana UP; 2001. xxx, 353 pp. (book article)

Delmar, P. Jay. Elements of tragedy in Charles W. Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman'.
CLA Journal (23) 451-9.

Dixon, Melvin. The teller as folk trickster in Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman'.
CLA Journal (18) 186-97.

Foster, Charles William. The Representation of Negro Dialect in Charles W. Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman.'
Unpub. Doct. Diss., Univ. of Alabama, 1968. [Abstr. in Dissertation Abstracts International, XXIX, 3596A-7A.]

Giles, James R. Chesnutt's Primus and Annie: a contemporary view of 'The Conjure Woman'.
Markham Review (3) 46-8.

Goldner, Ellen J.  Other(ed) Ghosts: Gothicism and the Bonds of Reason in Melville, Chesnutt, and Morrison
MELUS, 1999 Spring; 24 (1): 59-83. (journal article)

*Goldner, Ellen J. (Re)staging colonial encounters: Chesnutt's critique of imperialism in The Conjure Woman.
Studies in American Fiction (28:1) 2000, 39-64.

Hemenway, Robert. The functions of folklore in Charles Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman'.
Journal of the Folklore Institute (13) 283-309.

McKnight, Maureen 'Scarcely in the Twilight of Liberty': Emphatic Unsettlement in Charles Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman
Iowa Journal of Cultural Studies, 2004 Fall; 5: 59-76. (journal article)

Mondie, Levita.  MFINDA-Beyond an Ecocritical Discourse in the African American Literary Tradition: The Case of Charles Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman
In Process: A Journal of African American and African Diasporan Literature and Culture, 2000 Spring; 2: 155-77. (journal article)

Moore, Beulah Omega The dialectics of literary voice in Charles Waddell Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman and selected stories.
Unpub. doct. diss., Wayne State Univ., 1994. [Abstr. in Dissertation Abstracts International (55) 1994, 965a.]

*Myers, Jeffrey. Other nature: resistance to ecological hegemony in Charles W. Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman.
African American Review (37:1) 2003, 5-20.

Myers, Karen Magee. Mythic patterns in Charles Waddell Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman' and Ovid's Metamorphoses.
Black American Literature Forum (13) 13-17.

Nowatzki, Robert C. 'Passing' in a White genre: Charles W. Chesnutt's negotiations of the plantation tradition in The Conjure Woman.
American Literary Realism (27:2) 1995, 20-36.

Ogunyemi, Chikwenye Okonjo. The Africanness of 'The Conjure Woman' and 'Feather Woman of the Jungle'.
Ariel (Calgary, Alta) (8:2) 17-30.

Osinubi, Viktor. African American writers and the use of dialect in literature: the foregrounding of ethnicity.
Journal of Commonwealth and Postcolonial Studies (4:1) 1996, 65-77.

*Petrie, Paul R. Charles Chesnutt, The Conjure Woman, and the racial limits of literary mediation.
Studies in American Fiction (27:2) 1999, 183-204.

Selinger, Eric. Aunts, uncles, audience: gender and genre in Charles Chesnutt's The Conjure Woman.
Black American Literature Forum (25:4) 1991, 665-88.

Terry, Eugene. A critical analysis of Charles Waddell Chesnutt's 'The Conjure Woman' and 'The Wife of his Youth and Other Stories of the Color Line'.
Unpub. doct. diss., Univ. of Massachusetts, 1974. [Abstr. in Dissertation Abstracts International (35) 6163A-4A.]

Werner, Craig. The framing of Charles W. Chesnutt: practical deconstruction in the Afro-American tradition.
University of Mississippi Studies in English (9) 1991, 1-25


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
10/5/06