Frederick Douglass-Great Orator, Abolitionist and Champion of Civil Rights     Frederick Douglass Resources

> Previous Page

Frederick Douglass 

 

Book Resources

  Database Resources   Web Sites

Chancellor's Reading Club - Description

Chancellor's Reading Club - Douglass Resources

To Conduct Research on a Topic, See the Subject Guide on Introduction to Library Research

See Related Subject Guide on The Slave Narrative

To Identify the Latest Print and Non-Print Materials Use FSU's Online Catalog


  Selected Book Resources in Chesnutt Library's Main Stacks

Black Diplomat in Haiti
     E 449 .D732 A33 1977 v.1

Black Protest: Issues and Tactics
     E 449 .D53 1974

Declaration of Independence: Origins and Impact
     E 221 .D35 2002

Douglass' Monthly, Volumes 1-3, 1859-1861
    
E 449 .D73 Z14 c.1

Douglass' Monthly, Volumes 4-5, 1861-1863
    
E 449 .D73 Z14 c.2

Frederick Douglass
     E 449 .D75 M374 1990

Frederick Douglass (Black Americans of Achievement)
     Juvenile E 449 .D75 R87 1988

Frederick Douglass (Heroes and Villians)
     Juvenile E 449 .D95 Y36 2003

Frederick Douglass (Raintree Biographies)
     Juvenile E 449 .D75 L37 2003

Frederick Douglass: Autobiographies:  Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave; My Bondage and My Freedom; and Life and Times of Frederick Douglass
     E 449 .D749 1994

Frederick Douglass: New Literary and Historical Essays
    
E 449 .D75 F74 1996

Frederick Douglass on Women's Rights
     HQ 1426 .D82 1976

Frederick Douglass Papers:  Series Two: Autobiographical Writings: Volume 1: Narrative
    
E 449 .D734 1999

Frederick Douglass: Slave-Fighter-Freeman
     Juvenile E 449 .D75 B66

Frederick Douglass: the Last Day of Slavery
     Juvenile E 449 .D75 M55 1995

Frederick Douglass: the Orator: an Account of His Life; His Eminent Public Services; His Brillian Career as Orator; and Selections From His Speeches and Writings
     E 449 .D76 1969

Frederick Douglass You Never Knew
     Juvenile E 449 .D75 C65 2003

Liberating Sojourn: Frederick Douglass & Transatlantic Reform
     E 449 .D75 L53 1999

Life and Writings of Frederick Douglass: Volume IV, Reconstruction and After    
    
E 449 .D736 1955 v. 4

Narrative Life: the Moral and Religious Thought of Frederick Douglass
     E 449 .D75 W55 2002

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
     E 449 .D749 1997

Oxford Frederick Douglass Reader
     E 449 .D749 1996

There Once Was a Slave: the Heroic Story of Frederick Douglass
     E 449 .D754

     Selected Database Resources for Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

FSU Web access campus or home AHSearch  
Arts & Humanities Search. (1980-current). A citation index.

FSU Web access campus or home Alternative Press Index  
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

FSU Web access campus or home America: History and Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

FSU Web access campus or home American National Biography  
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history. Click on the "Subscribers Click Here" link in the menu at the top of the page.

FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

FSU Web access campus or home Daily Life Through History  
Daily Life Through History offers a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history.

FSU Web access campus or home Harp Week  
Week-to-week chronological record of world-wide events in the last half of the nineteenth century.

FSU Web access campus or home Historic Events of the 20th Centry  
This one-stop resource invites the reader to discover how events of the last century have shaped and continue to influence today's events. Teacher lesson plans are included.

FSU Web access campus or home Infotrac Expanded Academic ASAP  
Coverage is available through 2,600 indexed and 1,400 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including.

FSU Web access campus or home Infotrac OneFile  
InfoTrac OneFile includes over 6,325 titles indexed from 1980 to present; nearly 3,000 full-text titles, including Expanded Academic ASAP.

FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR
Offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the arts and sciences and language and literature,

FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis History Universe  
 

FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.

FSU Web access campus or home MLA International Bibliography  
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

FSU Web access campus or home North American Women’s Letters and Diaries  
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Remote access coming soon. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.

FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times (1851-1899) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1985). Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

FSU Web access campus or home Readers Guide Retro  
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

     Selected Web Sites

Archives of American Public Address, Frederick Douglass
http://douglassarchives.org/

Documenting the American South, Frederick Douglass
http://docsouth.unc.edu/author/d.html

Frederick Douglass: Abolitionist/Editor
http://www.history.rochester.edu/class/douglass/home.html

Frederick Douglass, Africans in America Series, PBS
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/part4/4p1539.html

Frederick Douglass,  American Memory, Library of Congress
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/doughtml/doughome.html

Frederick Douglass, American Visionaries
http://www.cr.nps.gov/museum/exhibits/douglass/

Frederick Douglass, America's Story From America's Library
http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi/aa/douglass

Frederick Douglass Comes to Life
http://www.frederickdouglass.org/index.html

Frederick Douglass Museum and Cultural Center
http://www.ggw.org/freenet/f/fdm/

Frederick Douglass, National Historic Site
http://www.nps.gov/frdo/freddoug.html

Frederick Douglass Papers Project
http://www.iupui.edu/~douglass/

From Revolution to Reconstruction: Biographies, Frederick Douglass
http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/B/fdouglas/dougxx.htm

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass: an American Slave
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/Literature/Douglass/Autobiography/


Picture Credits: 
     Frederick Douglass from http://www.frederickdouglass.org/speeches/
     Frederick Douglass from http://www.mdarchives.state.md.us/.../ msa13800.html    
    
Frederick Douglass from http://www.civil-war.net/cw_images/ files/images/130.jpg  
    
Frederick Douglass from http://www.us-civilwar.com/ douglass.htm 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
4/20/06