Select History of Africa Resources

> Previous Page

 

This page contains selected resources for African history that are contained both in the Chesnutt Library and on the internet. These resources are just a sampling of what is available and should not be considered a complete list.

Reference Resources

Title

Location    

Call Number 

African Folklore: an Encyclopedia FSU Reference GR 350  .A33 2004 
African History on File FSU Reference  DT 20 .A6194 1994
Africana FSU Reference  DT 14 .A37435 1999
Almanac of African Peoples and Nations FSU Reference  DT 15 .Y35 1999 
The Encyclopedia of Africa            FSU Reference  DT 3  .E52 
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara FSU Reference  DT 351 .E53 1997 V.1-V.4  
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture FSU Reference DT  3 .P27 2005, 5 volumes
Encyclopedia of African Peoples FSU Reference  DT 15 .E53 200 
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations FSU Reference DT 14 .E43 2002
Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Africa  FSU Reference  DT 2 .E53 1997 
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History FSU Reference DT 29 .E53 2003
Historical Dictionary of PreColonial Africa FSU Reference DT 17 .T65 2001
International Historical Studies: Africa, Asia, and Oceania FSU Reference 

HA 4675 .M552 1998    

Key Events in African History: a Reference Guide FSU Reference DT 20 .F35 2002
Pan-African Chronology: a Comprehensive Reference to the Black Quest for Freedom in Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Asia FSU Reference E 185.18 J46 1996
The Royal Kingdoms of Ghana, Mali, and Songhay FSU Reference  DT 532  .M35 1994

 

                                                                                                             

Main Stacks

  Title

Location

 Call Number 

Africa South of the Sahara: A Geographical Interpretation FSU Main Stacks DT351 .S917 1995 
African Decolonization FSU Main Stacks DT30.5 W56 1994   
The African Experience FSU Main Stacks DT20 .O385 1992        
Africans: The History of a Continent FSU Main Stacks DT20 .I45 1995  
Afrikaners: An Historical Interpretation FSU Main Stacks DT1768 .A57 L4 1995       
Hausaland: The Fortress Kingdoms FSU Main Stacks DT515 .45 .H38 .K68 1995    
History of South Africa FSU Main Stacks DT1787 .T48 1995    
Islam's Black Slaves: The Other Black Diaspora FSU Main Stacks HT919 .S45 2001
Key Events in African History: a Reference Guide FSU Main Stacks DT 20 .F35 2002
King Leopold's Ghost FSU Main Stacks DT655 .H63 1998     
Slavery and Colonial Rule in Africa FSU Main Stacks HT1321 .S555 1999      

 

                                                

Internet Resources

http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/africa/features/storyofafrica/index.shtml

http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/africa/africasbook.html

http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/africa/history.html

http://www.mnh.si.edu/africanvoices/

http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/About_African/ww_hist.html

http://www.newafrica.com/history/

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/cult.html

 

 

 

This page was constructed by Lewis E. Trott ( ltrott@uncfsu.edu )

Last updated on 11 October 2006 by Jan Whitfield (jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu)