Select African American History Resources

> Previous Page

Library of Congress
Subject Headings
 
Reference and Archives
Sources

 

Main Stacks Sources Journals Article
Databases
Web Sites

 

Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings 

American Men

African American Women
African Americans African Americans Civil Rights
African Americans Crimes Against History African Americans History
African Americans History Sources African Americans Race Identity
African Americans Relations With Africans African Americans Religion
African Americans Statistics Civil Rights Movements United States History
Civil Rights Movements United States History 20th Century Race Relations
Racism United States Racism United States History
Slavery United States History  

Book and Non-print materials can be identified by using FSU's Automated Catalog

Selected Reference and Archives Sources

Atlas of African-American History Ref E 185 .C55 2001 
African-American History: Selections from the Five-Volume Macmillan Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Ref E 185 .E542 1998 
Special moments in African-American History, 1955-1996 : the Photographs of Moneta Sleet, Jr., Ebony magazine's Pulitzer Prize winner Archives E 185.615 .S5735 1998 
Chronology of African American History: From 1492 to the Present Ref E 185 .H64 1997 
Black Heritage Sites: an African American Odyssey and Finder's Guide Ref E 159 .C95 1996 
African American History in the Press, 1851-1899: From the Coming of the Civil War to the Rise of Jim Crow as Reported and Illustrated in Selected Newspapers of the Time Reference E 185.2 .A25 1996  vols. 1-2
From Africa to America : African American history from the Colonial era to the early Republic, 1526-1790 Archives E 185 .P49 1996 
Reconstruction and reaction : the emancipation of slaves, 1861-1913 Archives E 185.2 .G65 1996 
The Struggle for Freedom: African-American Slave Resistance  
The path to Equality: From the Scottsboro Case to the Breaking of Baseball's Color Barrier, 1931-1947 Archives, Reference, Main Stacks E  185.61 H65 1995 
The timetables of African-American History: a Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in African-American History Ref E 185 .H295 1995 
Glory days: 365 Inspired Moments in African-American History Ref E 185 .A234 1995 
Reference Library of Black America Ref E 185 .R435 1994  v.1 
African America: Portrait of a People Ref E 185.96 .E87 1994 

Selected Main Stacks Sources

Autobiography of a People: Three Centuries of African American History Told by Those Who Lived I Main Stacks E 185 .A97 2000 
Writings on Black Women of the Diaspora : History, Language, and Identity Main Stacks PS 374.N4 B64 1998 
New York Public Library Amazing African American History: a Book of Answers for Kids Juvenile E 185 .P34 1998 
African Americans and Native Americans in the Creek and Cherokee Nations, 1830s to 1920s : collision and collusion Main Stacks E 99.C9 M29 1996 
African-American history : Selections from the Five-Volume Macmillan Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Main Stacks E 185 .E542 1998
A Biographical History of Blacks in America Since 1528 Main Stacks E 185.96 .T66

Series Titles - Do a Title Search on the Series Title in the Online Catalog to Access the Individual Titles 

African American Achievers
African American Answer Book 
African American Arts
African-American Experience
African American Film Heritage Video Series
African Studies Series
Black Studies Research Sources
Blacks In the Diaspora
Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies
Greenwood Press Guides to Historic Events of the Twentieth Century
Interdisciplinary Studies in History
John Hope Franklin Series in African American History and Culture
Religion in America Series Oxford University Press
Studies in African American History and Culture
SUNY Series in Afro-American Studies
Teaching for Social Justice
W. E. B. DuBois Institute (Series)
World History Series

Article Databases Where African American Related Topics Can Be Researched

Academic Search Elite  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

African American Poetry  
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Indexed from 1750 to 1900

America: History Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American National Biography  
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history. Click on the "Subscribers Click Here" link in the menu at the top of the page.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

Anthropological Index Online  
(1970-current). Citations to publications in the field of anthropology with search engine.

Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

Books in Print  
(Current). Contains current, detailed information on more than 1.9 million titles: author, titles, ISBN, price, publisher, binding, language, illustrations, contact information for publishers, wholesalers, distributors, and much more.

Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

Ebscohost  

ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

Ethnic News Watch  
News Culture and History from 200+ Publications of the Ethnic, Minority, and Native Press (On Campus Access Only)

FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.

Global Newsbank  
(1996-current). Newspaper articles from around the world. Newsbank

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  
(1981-current). International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence.

JSTOR  
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.

MLA International Bibliography  
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

North American Womenís Letters and Diaries  
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Remote access coming soon. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.

PAIS International  
(1972-current). Citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.

Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

Readerís Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

Readers Guide Retro  
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Scribner Writers Series  
1,564 essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods. Many authors are seen from multiple perspectives in two, three, or even four essays

SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.

World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

Selected Journal Titles

Plug Journal Title into Journal Finder to Find Full-Text and Holdings in the Library

Subject Headings:  

African Americans History Periodicals

African Americans Periodicals

Blacks Periodicals

  • American Legacy
  • American Visions
  • Black Diaspora
  • Black Issues Book Review
  • Black Media News
  • Black Scholar
  • The Crisis
  • Ebony
  • The Griot
  • International Journal of Africana Studies
  • Jet
  • Journal of Black Studies
  • Journal of Negro History
  • Lincoln Review.  Letter
  • Negro Digest
  • Negro Educational Review
  • Negro History Bulletin
  • New Crisis
  • Phylon
  • SCLC: the Southern Christian Leadership Conference National Magazine
  • Vital Issues: the Journal of African American Speeches
  • Western Journal of Black Studies

Subject Headings:  

History Periodicals

United States History Periodicals

World History Periodicals

  • American Historical Review
  • American History
  • American History Illustrated
  • Australian Historical Studies
  • Canadian Journal of History
  • Canadian Review of American Studies
  • Current History
  • English Historical Review
  • Historian; a Journal of History
  • History
  • History Today
  • Journal of American History
  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History
  • Journal of Modern History
  • Journal of World History
  • Literature & History
  • OAH (Organization of American Historians) Newsletter
  • William and Mary Quarterly

 

Selected Web Sites

1898 Wilmington Race Riot Commission

About African American History.Com

An African American Album, Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenberg County

African American Mosaic

African American Odyssey: a Quest for Full Citizenship, Library of Congress

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel P. Murray Collection 1818-1907, Library of Congress

African American Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia

Africans in America

AFRO-American Almanac

American Slave Narratives:  an Online Anthology, University of Virginia

Antislavery Literature Project

Black History Hotlist

Documenting the American South

Gateway to African American History

Historical Text Archive: African American: Links

Images of African Americans From the 19th Century, New York Public Library

Slave Narrative Subject Guide

Slave Trade Archives Project UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 10/19/06