United States of America History Resources

> Previous Page

To Identify the Latest Reference and Main Stacks Resources Always Use FSU's Automated Catalog

Reference Resources Journal Titles Electronic Databases Web Sites

         Selected Reference Resources in Chesnutt Library

General United States History Encyclopedias

American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History  Ref E 174 .A535 1998

Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates  Ref E 174.5 .C3 1997

Encyclopedia of American History  Ref E 174.5 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of American Political History  Ref E 183 .E48 2001

Oxford Companion to United States History  Ref E 174 .O94 2001

Reader's Companion to American History  Ref E 174 .R43 1991

General United States History Dictionaries

Dictionary of American History: from 1763 to the Present  Ref E 174 .T47 2000

Dictionary of American History. Supplement Ref E 174 .D52 1976 Suppl.

Dictionary of American History Ref E 174 .P87 1995

Great American History Fact-Finder Ref E 174 .Y36 1997

Historical Dictionary of the 1920's:  From World War I to the New Deal, 1919-1933  Ref E 784 .O44 1988

Historical Dictionary of the 1960s  Ref E 841 .H58 1999

Other United States History Reference Resources

American Military Leaders From Colonial Times to the Present  Ref E 181 .F84 1999

American Republic: Primary Sources  Ref E 173 .A7535 2002

America's Historic Sites  Ref E 159 .A45 2001

Civil Rights in the United States  Ref E 184 .A1 C47 2000

Civil War A to Z: the Complete Handbook of America's Bloodiest Conflict  Ref E 468 .C59 2002

Facts About the Presidents  Ref E 176.1 .K3 2001

Famous First Facts: a Record of First Happenings, Discoveries, and Inventions in American History  Ref AG 5 .K315 1997

Handbook of American Women's History  Ref HQ 1410 .H36 2000

People's History of the United States  Ref E 178.1 .Z53 1999

Women in U. S. History: A Resource Guide  Ref HQ 1410 .U49 H364 2000

   Selected United States History Journals in Chesnutt Library

Library of Congress Subject Headings: 
African Americans History Periodicals

History Periodicals
Literature and History Periodicals
North Carolina History Periodicals
Social History Periodicals
United States History Book Reviews Periodicals
United States History Periodicals
United States Periodicals

  • American Historical Review

  • American History

  • American History Illustrated

  • American Jewish History

  • American Legacy

  • Canadian Review of American Studies

  • Carolina Comments / North Carolina State Department of Archives and History

  • Church History

  • CLIO, An Interdisciplinary Journal of Literature, History, and the Philosophy of History

  • Cornerstone / North Carolina Museum of History

  • Current History

  • Georgia Historical Quarterly

  • History Today

  • Journal of American History

  • Journal of Historical Sociology

  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History

  • Journal of Modern History

  • Journal of Pacific History

  • Journal of Social History

  • Journal of Southern History

  • Journal of Urban History

  • Labor History

  • Journal of Women's History

  • Military History

  • New England Quarterly

  • North Carolina Historical Review

  • North Carolina Literary Review

  • OAH Newsletter / Organization of American Historians

  • Reviews in American History

  • War in History

  • Western Historical Quarterly

  • William and Mary Quarterly

   Selected United States History Electronic Databases

America, History and Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries  
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies.

American National Biography  
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history. Click on the "Subscribers Click Here"
link in the menu at the top of the page.

 American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews
with ex-slaves.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

CQ Researcher Online  
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.

CQ Weekly  
Fully archived to 1983 on the Web, CQ Weekly looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues
looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status
of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

Early Encounters in North America  
This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

GPO Access 
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.

Harp Week  
Week-to-week chronological record of world-wide events in the last half of the nineteenth century.

In The First Person  
"[In The First Person] allows for keyword searching of more than 260,000 pages of full-text by more than 9,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to at least 2,500 audio and video files and 16,000 bibliographic records. "

Lexis-Nexis History Universe  
Rich database of primary historical resources

MOME  
The Making of the Modern Economy- A very complete, full-text database of economic writing and primary
sources covering the years 1450 to 1850.

New York Times Historical  
The New York Times Historical (1851-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text
back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every
available issue.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories  
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Contains more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories.

North American Indian Biographical Database  
This fourth release of the North American Indian Biographical Database contains over 62,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries  
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials
depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Remote access coming soon. Contains materials
from Colonial times to 1950.

North Carolina Encyclopedia  
This encyclopedia is designed to give you an overview of the people, the government, the history, and the
resources of North Carolina.

Oral History Online  
This release of Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  
"50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001."

Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times
(1851-1899) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1985). Includes digital reproductions providing access to
every page from every available issue.

Readers Guide Retro  
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular
general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic,
economic, political, and global issues.

Statistical Universe  
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information
Service, Inc.

Wall Street Journal Historical  
The Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1985) offers full page and article images with searchable full text
back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from
every available issue.

Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

GENERAL

Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social
sciences, humanities, education and more.

AHSearch  
Arts & Humanities Search. (1980-current). A citation index.

Alternative Press Index  
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is
international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals

Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay
per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously

FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest

FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.

Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for
associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.

JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of
important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.

Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and
multi-cultural periodicals.

MLA International Bibliography  
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

   Selected United States History Web Sites
Associations, Primary Documents, Newspapers, History Specific

Association Websites

Primary Documents Websites

Newspaper Websites

History Specific Websites


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 1/21/09