Select European History Resources

> Previous Page

 

This page contains selected resources for European history that are contained both in the Chesnutt Library and on the internet. These resources are just a sampling of what is available and should not be considered a complete list.  Forthe most recent material, search FSU's Online Catalog.

Reference Resources

Title Location Call Number
The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500: a Biographical Dictionary FSU Reference CB 353 .L38 2001
Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World FSU Reference D 209 .E97 2004 vols. 1-2
Encyclopedia of the Crusades FSU Reference D 155 .A6 2003
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment FSU Reference B 802 .E53 2003 vols. 1-4
Europe Since 1945: an Encyclopedia FSU Reference D 1051 .E873 2001
History of the Modern World FSU Reference D 20 .H544 2000 vol.1-vol.10
The Unification of Germany, 1989-1990 FSU Reference DD 290.29 L45 1999
Napoleonic Imperialism and the Savoyard Monarchy, 1773-1821 FSU Reference DG 618.6 .B76 1997
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation FSU Reference BR 302.8 .O93 1996
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620: a Biographical Dictionary FSU Reference CT 759 .R46 2001
A Dictionary of European History and Politics, 1945-1995 FSU Reference D 1051 .U78 1996
The Penguin Historical Atlas of ancient Rome FSU Reference G 1981.S1 S28 1995
A Dictionary of the European Union FSU Reference HC 240 .P45 2002
The Times Atlas of European History FSU Reference G 1797 .21 .S1 T5 1994
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Eastern Europe FSU Reference HC 244 .P65 2002

 

 

 

 

Main Stacks

Title Location Call Number
The History of Germany FSU Main Stacks DD90 .T87 1999
The Long Nineteenth Century: a History of Germany, 1780-1918 FSU Main Stacks DD203 .B59 1998
The Routledge Companion to European History  Since 1763 FSU Main Stacks D 286 .C58 2005
A History of London FSU Main Stacks DA677 .I63 1998
Out of the Shadows: Women and Politics in the French Revolution, 1789-95 FSU Main Stacks DC158.8 .E57 1998
Democracies at the Turning Point: Britain, France, and the End of the Postwar Order, 1928-1933  FSU Main Stacks DA471 .P47 1997
The Habsburg Monarchy, 1618-1815 FSU Main Stacks DB36.3.H3 I54 1994
A Concise History of France FSU Main Stacks DC38 .P75 1993
The French Revolution: Aristocrats Versus Bourgeois? FSU Main Stacks DC138 .B52 1987
The Russian Revolution, 1900-1927 FSU Main Stacks DK262 .S455 1986
The Crucible of Europe: the Ninth and Tenth Centuries in European History FSU Main Stacks D123 .B37 1976
A History of Europe in the Twentieth Century FSU Main Stacks D 424 .B76 2004

 

 

Journal Resources in Chesnutt Library and Journal Finder

East European Quarterly 
European History Quarterly 
European Journal of Political Economy [electronic resource]

European Review Of History = Revue EuropSeene D'histoire / [Electronic Resource]

European Studies Review

 
To Find Journals on European History use Journal Finder.  See a List of History Journals in Journal Finder Under Advanced Searching.

 

Internet Resources

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
National Archives: Records of the UK Government from Domesday to the Present
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/index.html
Internet History Sourcebooks Project contains collections of Ancient, Medieval and Modern historical texts that are in the public domain or copy-permitted.  They are presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History provides links for primary historical documents for Western Europe

http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/tm/europe.html#major

European History Sources Web Site, University of Washington: provides many links for European history

http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/
EyeWitness to History provides links to ancient and medieval information through the present

http://www.historyguide.org/

The History Guide provides general information on different aspects of European history

http://www.tntech.edu/history/european.html

European History: General Western Civilization Sites, Tennessee Technological University, History Department, provides an abundance of links for European history sites

http://chnm.gmu.edu/revolution/

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution provides information about the French Revolution

http://www.wsu.edu/~dee/ENLIGHT/ENLIGHT.HTM

The European Enlightenment provides information regarding the European Enlightenment

http://www.napoleon.org/en/home.asp

Napoleon.Org provides information regarding Napoleonic France 

http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
Napoleonica.Org provides Napoleonic primary source materials.

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Created By Lewis E. Trott, ltrott@uncfsu.edu
Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:8/26/06