The Slave Narrative

 

 

 

 

> Previous Page

This selected bibliography was designed to assist the researcher in understanding the Slave Narrative, its mission and its importance in America's Literary Tradition.

If you have any questions, please call 672-1233 and ask a Librarian.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Black Americans in Autobiography: An Annotated Bibliography of Autobiographies and Autobiographical Books Written Since the Civil War.  Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1974.

   Location: FSU Ref. Z1361.N39 B67.

The African Slave Trade and Its Suppression, a Classified and Annotated Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets and Periodical Articles.  London, Frank Cass [1973].

   Location: FSU Ref.Z7164.S6 H63 1973.

Slavery: A Worldwide Bibliography, 1900-1982.  White Plains, NY: Kraus International, 1985.

   Location: FSU Archives Z7164.S6 M543 1985.

HANDBOOKS, GUIDES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Black Women In America: An Historical Encyclopedia.  Brooklyn, NY: Carlson Pub., 1993.

   Location:  FSU Archives E185.86.B542 1993 (Vol.1-2).

                     FSU Ref. E185.86.B542 1993 (Vol.2).

                     FSU Main Stacks E185.86.B542 1993 (Vol.1).

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.  New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1996.

   Location: FSU Ref. E185.E54 1996 (Vol.1-5).

The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.

   Location: FSU Ref. HT861.H57 1997 (Vol.1-2).

A Historical Guide to World Slavery.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

   Location: FSU Ref. HT861.H59 1998.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery.  New York: Macmillan Reference USA, Simon & Schuster Macmillan; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1998.

   Location: FSU Ref. HT861.M24 1998 (Vol.1-2).

The Oxford Companion to African American Literature.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1983.

   Location: FSU Ref. PS153.N5 O96 1997.

The Oxford Companion to American Literature.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1983.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks PS21.H3 1983.

The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

   Location: FSU Ref. PS147.O94 1995.

The Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature: From the Eighteenth Century to the Present.  Detroit: Gale Research, 1996.

   Location: FSU Ref. PN841.S36 1996.

HISTORIOGRAPHY

Slavery: History and Historians.  New York: Harper & Row, 1989.

   Location: FSU Archives E441.P367 1989

                    FSU Main Stacks E441.P367 1989.

Debating Slavery: Economy and Society in the Antebellum American South.  Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E441.S657 1998.

LITERARY CRITICISM

Modern Black Writers.  Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.

   Location: FSU Ref. PN841.M58 2000.

The Pen is Ours: A Listing of Writings By and About African-American Women Before 1910 With Secondary Bibliography to the Present.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.

   Location: FSU Archives PS153.N5 Y44 1991.

Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors Over the Past 200 Years.  Detroit: Gale Research, 1992-.

   Location: FSU Ref. PS153.N5 B556 1192 (Vol.1-3).

                    FSU Main Stacks PS153.N5 B556 1992 (Vol.1).

Contemporary Literary Criticism.  Detroit: Gale Research, 1973.

   Location: FSU Ref. PN1771.C59 (Vol.1-10).

Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1984-.

   Location: FSU Ref. PN86.L56 (Vol.1-10).

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism.  Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981-.

   Location:    FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1981 (Vol.1)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1982 (Vol.2)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1983 (Vol.3)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1983 (Vol.4)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1984 (Vol.5)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1984 (Vol.6)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1984 (Vol.7)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1985 (Vol.8)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1986 (Vol.13)

                       FSU Ref. PN761.N56 1987 (Vol.15)

SLAVE NARRATIVES AND LITERATURE

To Tell A Free Story: The First Century of Afro-American Autobiography, 1760-1865.  Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1986.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E185.96.A57 1986.

Black Women Writing Autobiography: A Tradition Within A Tradition.  Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1989.

   Location: FSU Archives PS366.A35 B73 1989.

Bid the Vassal Soar: Interpretive Essays On the Life and Poetry of Phillis Wheatley (ca. 1753-1784) and George Moses Horton (ca. 1797-1883).  Washington: Howard University Press, 1974.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks PS886.W5 Z68.

Render Me My Song: African-American Women Writers From Slavery to the Present.  London: Pandora, 1990.

   Location: FSU Archives PS153.N5 R87 1990.

The Slave Narrative: It's Place in American History.  Washington, DC: Howard University Press, 1988.

   Location: FSU Archives E444.S8 1988.

LAGNIAPPE

The House of Bondage, or, Charlotte Brooks and Other Slaves.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.

   Location: FSU Archives E444.A33 A3 1988.

Six Women's Slave Narratives.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.

   Location: FSU Archives E444.S59 1988.

African Muslims in Antebellum America: Transatlantic Stories and Spiritual Struggles.  New York: Routledge, 1997.

   Location: FSU Ref. E444.A25 1996.

Running A Thousand Miles for Freedom: The Escape of William and Ellen Craft From Slavery.  Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1999.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E450.C8 1999.

Five Black Lives: The Autobiography of Venture Smith, James Mars, William Grimes, the Rev. G.W. Offley, James L. Smith.  Middletown, Conn: Wesleyan University Press, 1987, 1971.

   Location: FSU Archives E444.F49 1987.

The New Man: Twenty-Nine Years A Slave, Twenty-Nine Years A Free Man.  York, Pa., P. Anstadt, 1895.  Miami, FL: Mnemisyne Pub., Co. [1969].

   Location: FSU Archives E444.B9 1969

                   FSU Main Stacks E444.B9 1969.

From African to Yankee: Narratives of Slavery and Freedom in Antebellum New England.  Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1998.

   Location: FSU Archives E445.N5 F76 1998.

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl.  New York: Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 1990.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E444.J17 A3 1990.

Behind the Scenes, or, Thirty Years A Slave and Four Years in the White House.  Chicago, IL: The Lakeside Press, R.R. Donnelly & Sons, 1998.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E457.15.K26 1998.

Silvia Dubois: A Biografy of the Slav Who Whipt Her Mistres and Gand Her Fredom.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.

   Location: FSU Archives E444.D83 L37 1988.

To Be A Slave.  New York: Dial Press [1968].

   Location: FSU Archives E444.L47

                   FSU Main Stacks E444.L47.

Weevils in the Wheat: Interviews With Virginia Exslaves.  Bloomington, Ind: Indiana University Press, 1980, 1976.

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E444.W37 1980.

Life Under the "Peculiar Institution"; Selections From the Slave Narrative Collection.  New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston [1970].

   Location: FSU Main Stacks E444.Y4.

Concept and Research:  Bernadette M. Ross

Color Specialist:  Joseph D. Bates, FSU Visual Arts Major

 

Page Maintained By:  Bernadette M. Ross bross@uncfsu.edu

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC  28301

 

Wednesday June 30, 2010 04:16:14 PM -0400