Selected Reference, Main Stacks and Online Titles Through CREDO Database

Please note:  Many new titles have been ordered to supplement Chesnutt Library's collection in the area of Social Work.  They are arriving and being processed daily.  Please check FSU's Online Catalog for the latest titles available

Selected Reference Books

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
(Ref HV 40 .C635 2008 v.1)

Encyclopedia of Social Work
(Ref HV 35 .S6  1995 vol. 1-3 and 2003 Supplement)

Encyclopedia of World Problems
(Ref AS 2.5 .Y4 1994)

Handbook of Preventive Interventions for Children and Adolescents
(Ref RJ 101 .H16 2004)

Handbook of Social Work Research Methods
(Ref HV 11 .H342 2001)

HIV and Social Work: a Practitioner's Guide
(Ref RA 644 .A25 H5788 1998)

International Handbook on Social Work Education
(Ref HV 11 .I565 1995)

Medical Aspects of Disability: a Handbook for the Rehabilitation Specialist
(Ref RM 930 .M42 2005)

Social Work Almanac
(Ref HV 90 .G53 1995)

Social Work Dictionary
(Ref HV 12 .B37 2003)

Social Work Speaks : NASW Policy Statements
(Ref HV 88 .N118 1994)

Social Worker's Desk Reference
(Ref HV 40 .S6464 2002)

Stepping Out Into the Field: a Field Work Manual for Social Work Students
(Ref HV 11 .R68 2000)

21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook
(Ref HM585 .H33 2007  vol. 1-2)

Using the Internet as a Research Tool for Social Work and Human Services
(Ref HV 29.8 .U85 2002)

Selected Main Stacks Books

Client Violence in Social Work Practice: Prevention, Intervention, and Research     
Main Stacks HV 40.8 .U6 N48 2003

 

Clinical Social Work Practice: an Integrated Approach      

Main Stacks  HM 586 .C66 2002

 

Controversial Issues in Social Policy    

Main Stacks HN 59.2 .C66 2003

 

Cultural Awareness, Sensitivity and Competence

Main Stacks HV 3176 .W56 2005

 

Data Analysis for Social Workers   

Main Stacks HV 29 .M66 2002

 

Direct Practice in Social Work

Main Stacks HV 40 .D587 2006

 

Dying, Death, & Bereavement in Social Work Practice: Decision Cases for Advanced Practice

Main Stacks HV 3000 .W65 2008

 

Empowerment Practice With Families in Distress

Main Stacks HV 697 .W57 2005

 

Gerontological Practice for the Twenty-First Century: a Social Work Perspective

Main Stacks HV 1451 .R53 2006

 

Handbook of Health Social Work

Main Stacks HV 687 .A2 H36 2006

 

Handbook of Social Work in Child and Adolescent Sexual Abuse

Main Stacks HV 6570 .H36 2008

 

Human Behavior and the Social Environment: Social Systems Theory    

Main Stacks HV 40 .H7813 2003

 

Improving the Effectiveness of the Helping Professions: an Evidence-Based Approach to Practice

Main Stacks RC 466 .G56 2005

 

Introducing Social Work

Main Stacks HV 10.5 .D66 2009

 

Mental Disorders in the Social Environment

Main Stacks RC 455 .M4425 2005

 

Opportunities in Social Work Careers     

Main Stacks HV 91 .W57 2003

 

Police as Problem Solvers: How Frontline Workers Can Promote Organizational and Community Change

Main Stacks HV 7921 .T636 2005

 

Practice of Macro Social Work (2006 ed.)    

Reserves SWRK 570  

 

Practice of Social Work: Applications of Generalist and Advanced Content    

Main Stacks HV 40 .Z273 2003

 

Religious Organizations in Community Services: a Social Work Perspective    

Main Stacks HV  530 .R25 2003

 

School Social Work: Practice, Policy, and Research Perspectives

Main Stacks LB 3013.4 .S365 2002 

 

Social Work: an Introduction to the Profession     

Main Stacks HV 91 .S324 2004

 

Social Work and Empowerment    

Main Stacks HV 245 .A66 2003

 

Social Work and Human Rights: a Foundation for Policy and Practice    

Main Stacks HV 41 .R433 2003

 

Social Work and the Black Experience   

Main Stacks HV 3181 .M37 1995

 

Social Work Evaluation: Principles and Methods    

Main Stacks  HV 40 .G558 2001 

 

Social Work in the 21st Century: an Introduction to Social Welfare, Social Issues, and the Profession

Main Stacks  HV91 .G55 2006

 

Social Work Research Methods: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches    

Main Stacks HV  11 .N483 2003

 

Social Work with Latinos: a Cultural Assets Paradigm

Main Stacks HV 3187 .A2 D444 2007 

 

Social Worker as Manager: a Practical Guide to Success   

Main Stacks  HV 95 .W43 1998

 

Techniques and Guidelines for Social Work Practice    

Main Stacks HV 91 .S48 2003

 

Welfare State and Social Work: Pursuing Social Justice

Main Stacks HM 671 .F54 2007

 

When Their World Falls Apart: Helping Families and Children Manage the Effects of Disasters

Main Stacks HV 553 .W48 2005

 

CREDO Database Online - Selected Titles (FSU Affiliated Persons Only)

 

Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: An International Encyclopedia Title information

Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution Title information
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology Title information
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development Title information
Collins Dictionary of Sociology Title information

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia Title information

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology Title information

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century Title information

Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs Title information

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers Title information

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences Title information

Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals Title information
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences Title information
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology Title information
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, Blackwell Science Title information
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology Title information
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts Title information
World of Sociology, Gale
Title information

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 6/10/09