Social Work Databases

> Previous Page

The following are a list of databases in which Social Work information can be found. 
The databases specific to Social Work are listed below. 
The other databases on this list are more general, but Social Work can also be found within them.

Social Work Abstracts, SocIndex, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Criminal Justice Periodicals, Criminology: a Sage Full-Text Collection, ProQuest Psychology Journals, PsychInfo, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycArticles, Women and Social Movements


FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.


FSU Web access campus or home CQ Press  
Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Reseacher and Global researcher also "Political Reference Suite". Search all of these resources from this link. "All content is produced and vetted by scholars, seasoned journalists, and CQ Press editors."


FSU Web access campus or home CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.


FSU Web access campus or home Criminal Justice Abstracts  
OFF CAMPUS PATRONS: USE THE LINK BELOW. Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.


FSU Web access campus or home Criminal Justice Periodicals  
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.


FSU Web access campus or home Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  
Full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.


FSU Web access campus or home Digital Dissertations, Proquest Full Text  
With more than two million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Titles since 1997 have 24 page previews available in pdf format.


FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home ERIC  
Coverage is from 1966 - present of journal articles and documents such as reports, handbooks, and monographs in education. ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.


FSU Web access campus or home FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Directory Library  
 


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.


FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


FSU Web access campus or home Mental Measurements Yearbook  
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.


FSU Web access campus or home National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  
Summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research, reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.


FSU Web access campus or home NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.


FSU Web access campus or home Opposing Viewpoints  
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.


FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home ProQuest Psychology Journals  
Over 400 journals and related publications in psychology.


FSU Web access campus or home PsychInfo  
1887-current). Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences.


FSU Web access campus or home Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.


FSU Web access campus or home PyscARTICLES  
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations.


FSU Web access campus or home Science Direct  
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single source for scientific, technical and medical information on the Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM journal titles and full-text articles


FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.


FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.


FSU Web access campus or home Social Work Abstract  
The Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 45,000 records, from 1977 - present, from social work and related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home SocINDEX  
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 5,000 Author Profiles.


FSU Web access campus or home Spanish Reference Center  
Gran Enciclopedia Planeta is the most comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary. Also included is Enciclopedia Juvenil, which provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials specifically designed for younger learners.


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home Women and Social Movements  
"Currently includes 61 document projects with 1,645 documents, and at least 21,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews."


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:
6/10/09