Selected Speech, Theatre and Mass Communication Databases
Drama and Film; Poetry and Song; Prose, Fiction and Non-Fiction; Biographical
and Primary Sources
; Criticisms and Reviews; and General

> Previous Page

 

Drama and Film
American Drama

When complete, this collection will contain more than 2,000 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. At present, American Drama includes 711 plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson.

American Film Scripts  
This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

Asian American Drama  
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information
on related productions, theaters, production companies and more.

Black Drama  
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed,
fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes
selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. An Alexander Street Press
database.

English Drama (1280-1915)
A combination of Chadwyck-Healey’s English Verse Drama and English Prose Drama full-text databases. 4,000
plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text  
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text  
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text,is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. As experts in the subject area, TRDC will continue indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains full text for more than 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 100 books & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Avant Garde Theatre, British Realist Theatre, Community Theatre, History of European Drama and Theatre, Learning Through Theatre, Opera, Performance Theory, Popular Theatres of Nineteenth Century France, Shakespeare, Theory and Performance, Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performance, Theatre and the World, Twentieth-Century Actor Training, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more.

North American Indian Drama  
This first release of North American Indian Drama contains 93 plays by 18 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes the Native Playwrights' Newsletter, a unique resource, containing a wealth of original essays, articles, photographs, interviews,
reviews, and production information related to the plays.

North American Theatre Online  
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and
American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more
than 30,000 plays, over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies.

North American Women's Drama  
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Twentieth Century North American Drama  
This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, together with
detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also
includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Poetry
20th Century African-American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary African-American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.
Features 10,000 poems by around 70 of the most important African-American poets of the last century.

20th Century American Poetry
This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including
Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens,
Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

20th Century English Poetry
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W. B. Yeats,
Rudyard Kipling, Robert Graves, A. E. Housman, John Betjeman, Fleur Adcock, Tony Harrison, Benjamin
Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.

African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

American Poetry (1600-1900)
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

American Song  
American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allow people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. This release includes 728 albums -- over 12103 tracks.

Classical Music Library  
Please bring your own headphones if you intend to use this resource in the library. CML is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

English Poetry (600-1900)
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by
more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

English Poetry, Second Edition
English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the
achievement of its ground-breaking predecessor with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than
20,000 poems from several new categories. Containing more than 183,000 poems by over 2,700 poets,
the most comprehensive archive of English verse from the 8th century to the early 20th now offers
incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and of
the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last
thirty years.

The Faber Poetry Library
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the
seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of James Joyce, Siegfried
Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath and Seamus Heaney. In total The Faber Poetry Library
contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.

Latino Literature  
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano,
Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period  
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive
contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries  
"...a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions" Please bring your own headphones if you use this resource in the Library

Prose
Black Short Fiction   
Black Short Fiction contains approximately 4,919 stories and folktales by 435 African, African American,
and Caribbean authors. When complete this collection should have approximately 8,000 works of short fiction.

Black Thought and Culture  
Black Thought and Culture contains 989 sources with 947 authors, covering the non-fiction published works
of leading African Americans.

Black Women Writers  
Black Women Writers will contain approximately 100,000 pages of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women
from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. It will also present essays by scholars and feminists about
the history of feminism and genre studies in these regions. There are 13,000 pages of text in this first release.

Early American Fiction 1789-1850
Provides both images and text for a well-defined and comprehensive collection of early American fiction.
Presently includes 440 titles by 80 authors, including first printings of works by James Fenimore Cooper,
Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Montgomery Bird, Washington Irving, Catharine Sedgwick, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.
Published jointly with the University of Virginia Library.

Early American Fiction 1789-1875
When complete, Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will extend the coverage of our first Early American
Fiction collection by twenty-five years (1851-1875) and will incorporate the full text of more than 250
additional titles and over 60 new authors, including Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville
and Thomas Bailey Aldrich, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. Early American Fiction
1789-1875 will include more than 750 works of fiction by more than 130 authors.

Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700)
Over 200 complete works in fictional prose from the period 1500-1700.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780)
96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. Includes
a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, and two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and
Pamela and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

The King James Bible
The King James - 'Authorized' Version is included to provide a single Bible for reference purposes.

Latin American Women Writers  
Literature by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century forward to the present.
Literary works, along with memoirs, letters, and essays, comprise the 100,000 pages of works in their
original language.

Latino Literature  
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano,
Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.

Nineteenth-Century Fiction
250 novels from the period 1782 to 1903, including works by all the major Victorian novelists such as
Dickens, Thackeray, the Brontës, Eliot and Hardy, as well as the landmarks of Gothic and other
fiction from the Romantic period.

Biographical and Primary Sources
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries  
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies.

American National Biography
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000
interviews with ex-slaves.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries  
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences
of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection
now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.

Early Encounters in North America  
This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages
of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

In The First Person  
"[In The First Person] allows for keyword searching of more than 260,000 pages of full-text by more
than 9,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to at least 2,500 audio and video
files and 16,000 bibliographic records. "

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories  
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal
view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Contains more than 100,000 pages of
personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories.

North American Indian Biographical Database  
This fourth release of the North American Indian Biographical Database contains over 62,000 pages of
text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries,
letters, and oral histories.

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials
depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Remote access coming soon. Contains
materials from Colonial times to 1950.

Oral History Online  
This release of Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of
Oral History in English from around the world.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  
"50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the
earliest times to the year 2001."

Criticisms and Reviews
(ABELL) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-2002)
ABELL contains over 783,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of
literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in
the world from 1920 onwards.  English Language - including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics,
stylistics and dialectologyEnglish Literature - including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel
writing, literary theory and studies of individual authorsBibliography - including manuscript studies,
textual studies and the history of publishing.  Traditional culture of the English-speaking world including
custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers
An in-depth analysis of current, best-selling fiction providing details about the complexities of these
carefully selected titles.

JSTOR
Provides access to several journal collections, among them is the Language and Literature Collection
with the following
titles: African American Review; Black American Literature Forum; Negro American
Literature Forum
;
African Languages and Cultures; African Languages and Cultures. Supplement; Alif:
Journal of Comparative Poetics
;
American Journal of Philology; American Literary History; American
Literature
; American Speech; Boundary 2; Callaloo; Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews
(CLEAR)
; College Composition and Communication; College English; Comparative Literature;
Contemporary Literature; Wisconsin Studies in Contemporary Literature; Critical Inquiry; Cultural
Critique
Diacritics; ELH;
Feminist Studies; The French Review; The French Review. Special Issue;
The German Quarterly
; Hispania; Hispanic Review; Italica;
Bulletin of the American Association of
Teachers of Italian
; Japanese Language and Literature; The Journal of the Association of Teachers
of Japanese
; Journal-Newsletter of the Association of Teachers of Japanese; Journal of African Cultural
Studies
;
African Languages and Cultures; Journal of American Folklore; Journal of the Midwest Modern
Language Association;
Bulletin of the Midwest Modern Language Association; Language; MELUS;
MLN
; Modern Language Notes; The Modern Language Journal;
Modern Language Studies; Modern
Philology
; The New England Quarterly; New German Critique; New Literary History; Nineteenth-Century
Literature
; Nineteenth-Century Fiction;
Trollopian; NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction; Pacific Coast Philology;
PMLA;
Transactions and Proceedings of the Modern Language Association of America; Modern Language
Association of America. Proceedings;
Transactions of the Modern Language Association of America;
Poetics Today;
Renaissance Quarterly;
Renaissance News; Representations; Review of English Studies;
Rhetoric Review;
Rocky Mountain Review of Language and Literature; Bulletin of the Rocky Mountain
Modern Language Association;
News Bulletin of the Rocky Mountain Modern Language Association;
Shakespeare Quarterly; Signs; Slavic and East European Journal; Social Text; South Atlantic Review;
South Atlantic Bulletin; South Central Review; South Central Bulletin; Speculum; Studies in English
Literature, 1500-1900
; Studies in the Renaissance Transition; Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature;
Twentieth Century Literature; Yale French Studies.

Literature in Context
Curriculum-based Literature in Context series is a rich collection of primary source material, collateral
readings, and commentary that helps students understand the historical, social, and cultural milieu
associated with major literary works.

Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable digital library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature.

Media Review Digest  
Reviews of educational media and entertainment resources. Covers approximately 100,000 mediagraphic
items. Provides comprehensive review coverage of educational media. Includes reviews of entertainment
resources.

MLA International Bibliography
(1963-current). Indexes periodical articles on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

NetLibrary  
Access to the full text of more than 13,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Novelist 
An online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or
topics in which they are interested.

Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers.
As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE
covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural
studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Web of Science
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

General
Blackwell Synergy
 

459,037 articles from 780 leading journals

Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.

CREDO Reference  
Xreferplus is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles)
that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations,
not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions,
dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music,
philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features
include a concept mapping search interface.

Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete
range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.

Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals
via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.

Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously.

ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

Enciclopedia Universal en Español  

FactSearch  
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

FirstSearch  
A collection of online databases licensed for use by FSU students, faculty and staff.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of
elementary, middle, and high schools students.

 Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations,
research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.

Global Newsbank  
(1996-current). Newspaper articles from around the world. Newsbank

Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural periodicals.

NCLIVE  
A core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes.

Opposing Viewpoints  
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference
content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source
for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles

Oxford English Dictionary  
Find OED's definition of a word or phrase

Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.

Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.

ProQuest Direct  
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases simultaneously.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.

Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.

SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific,
historic, economic, political, and global issues.

Web of Science  
Covers over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from
over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in
areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson
OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of
interest.

World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated:  12/3/07