Tests and Measurements Subject Guide

> Previous Page

Tests and Measurements


Reference Resources

Find Library Materials

Electronic Databases and Indexes

Selected Journal Titles

Internet Sites

On-line Research Guides




Before beginning your search for tests and measurements please review the APA’s FAQ/Finding Information about Psychological Tests, an excellent introduction to selecting, assessing, and locating tests. APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided there.


Scope and Introduction

The Tests and Measurements  Subject Guide is an introduction to the resources available at the Charles W. Chesnutt Library for locating tests and measurements in the fields of Psychology, Nursing, Education, and other disciplines.



Reference Resources

Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment, edited by Michel Hersen

LOCATION: FSU Reference BF176 .C654 2004 vols. 1-4


Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment and treatment : includes key terms in statistics, psychological testing, experimental methods and therapeutic treatments

Location: FSU Reference BF176 .S78 1995


Handbook of multicultural assessment: clinical, psychological, and educational applications

Location: FSU Reference BF176 .H36 2001    


Handbook of psychiatric measures

LOCATION: FSU Reference RC743.P78 A46 2000    

LOCATION: FSU Circ Desk RC743.P78 A46 2000 CD-Rom


The intelligence test desk reference (ITDR) : Gf-Gc cross-battery assessment by Kevin S. McGrew and Dawn P. Flanagan

LOCATION: FSU Reference  BF431 .M3514 1998 


Measurement in nursing and health research

Location: FSU Reference RT81.5 .W36 2005    


Personality tests and reviews; including an index to the mental measurements yearbooks

Location: FSU Reference BF698.5 .B87  1970 


Test critiques

LOCATION: FSU Reference BF176 .T419 1994  v.10 (newest)


Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business edited by Taddy Maddox

5 th edition

LOCATION: FSU Reference BF176 .T43 2003 


Tests in print VI : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests

LOCATION: FSU Reference Z5814.E9 T47 2002    


Tests that work : designing and delivering fair and practical measurement tools in the workplace by Odin Westgaard

LOCATION: FSU Reference HF5549.5.E5 W473 1999   


The ... Mental measurements yearbook

LOCATION: FSU Reference Z5814.P8 B932  2001 



Find Library Materials

Search Chesnutt Library’s catalog for books and reference materials:

1. Select Keyword Search from the online catalog

2. type in [the subject] and [testing keyword-see list]

3. click Search

 example: psychiatric AND measure*

Testing Keywords are terms like questionnaire*, test*, survey*, assess*, measure*, scale*, or profile. (* is a wildcard to search for multiple word endings simultaneously.)



Electronic Databases and Indexes

Journals often contain articles that discuss the application and validity of specific tests. Sometimes the actual instruments or scales are included as part of the articles, or a contact name and address are given.


FSU Web access campus or home


 Mental Measurements Yearbook  
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

FSU Web access campus or home PsychInfo  
1887-current). Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences.

--Search for a specific test name or, using the advanced search, d
o a keyword search and use the drop down list to select the "Tests & Measures" search field. 

FSU Web access campus or home Cinahl Plus with full text  
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. (index 1982+; abstracts 1986-current ).

CINAHL indexes journals in the nursing or allied health fields. Includes evaluation, history, methods, standards, and utilization of research instruments.

--Search by a specific test name or for a type of instrument(example: psychological tests). Or do a keyword search and limit publication type to "questionnaire/scale" or "research instrument."


FSU Web access campus or home ERIC  


National education database indexes articles, documents and books. Abstract of citations may indicate if copy of instrument is included.

--Using the advanced search, do a keyword search and limit the publication type to "Tests / Evaluation Instruments"


FSU Web access campus or home Learning Express Library  
Use this resource to practice for the ASVAB, GMAT, GRE PRAXIS, SAT, ACT and many other standardized tests. Registration is required, but no personal information is demanded.

FSU Web access campus or home Medline  
(1965-current). Indexes and abstracts biomedical literature. Now with more full text
--Combine MeSH terms for a subject (such as contraception) using AND
with MeSH terms (questionnaires OR psychological tests OR psychometrics OR process assessment) 
example: contraception AND (questionnaires OR psychological tests OR psychometrics OR process assessment)


FSU Web access campus or home PubMed  
Includes MEDline and more medical resources.

--Combine MeSH terms for a subject (such as contraception) using AND with MeSH terms (questionnaires OR psychological tests OR psychometrics OR process assessment)

example: contraception AND (questionnaires OR psychological tests OR psychometrics OR process assessment)



Selected Journal Titles


American Educator 


Applied Measurement In Education 

Online access from 1988-lacks most recent 12 months


Applied Psychological Measurement


Educational and Psychological Measurement


Educational Measurement, Issues And Practice 

Online access 6/2000-current



Online access from 1995-current


Journal of Educational Measurement

Online access from 1964-current


Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment 



Online access from 2003-current


Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development 

Online access from 1990-current


Measurement in Physical Education and Exercise Science

Online access from 3/1997-lacks most recent 12 months


Practical Assessment,Research and Evaluation

Online Journal


Psychological Assessment


Studies in Educational Evaluation : SEE 

Online access from 1995-current



Internet Sites

APA’s FAQ/Finding Information about Psychological Tests


APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided here.


Tests Reviews Online

Buros Institute http://www.unl.edu/buros

Tests Reviews Online is a searchable database of test reviews found in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series. Search by keyword or category.

Chesnutt Library has many volumes of the Mental Measurement Yearbook at Reference Z5814.P8 B932 


PROQOLID, the Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality of Life Instruments Database


Online searchable database of Patient Reported Outcome (PRO) and Quality of Life (QOL) instruments. Search by title, pathology/disease, targeted population, and author. Free access gives basic information about instruments; paid access offers a more complete description and additional information.


RAND Health – Surveys and Tools


All of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial use). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Those links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use.


Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Link

http://ets.org Click on “Tests Directory.” Scroll down and click on “Test Link.”

Test Link is a searchable database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on tests and instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers.

Coverage from 1900s to current.

There are some freely available tests; other tests must be purchased.


Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools (CART)


An online database intended to assist researchers interested youth development programs.


National Center for Research, Evaluation, Standards and Student Testing (CRESST)

For 20 years the National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing (CRESST) has conducted research and development that improves assessment and accountability systems. Spanning both K-12 and adult learning, the center also conducts a substantial number of major program evaluations, develops research-based assessments, uses technology as an effective assessment tool, and helps schools and districts respond to the many accountability demands of the No Child Left Behind Act.  



Online Research Guides

Finding Measurement Tools

Tutorial from the University of Washington’s Health Science Libraries


Tests and Instruments

Subject guide from Emory University’s Health Sciences Center Library


Educational and Psychological Measurement Instruments

Subject guide from Emory University’s General Library


Selected Tests and Measurement Resources in D. H. Hill Library

This subject guide from North Carolina State University Libraries answers FAQs about tests and measures


Test Instruments and Measures

Subject guide from the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill



Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Laura Bell Wright lwright@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 8/23/07