Women's Studies    

> Previous Page

Reference Resources

Electronic  Databases Journal Titles Web Sites

To Identify the Latest Reference and Main Stacks Resources Use FSU's Automated Catalog

Library of Congress Call Numbers and Subject Headings

HQ 1101-2030.7   Women. Feminism

             HQ 1871-2030.7   Women's clubs

  HQ 1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women

       HQ 12-449 Sexual life

       HQ 503-1064 The Family. Marriage. Home

            HQ 755.7-759.92 Parents. Parenthood Including    parent and child, husbands, fathers, wives, mothers

            HQ 760-767.7 Family size

            HQ 767.8-792.2 Children. Child development Including child rearing, child life, play, socialization,       children's rights

             HQ 793-799.2 Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers

             HQ 799.5-799.9 Young men and women

             HQ 799.95-799.97 Adulthood

             HQ 800-800.4 Single people

             HQ 801-801.83 Man-woman relationships. Courtship. Dating 

             HQ 802 Matrimonial bureaus. Marriage brokerage

             HQ 802.5 Matrimonial advertisements

             HQ 803 Temporary marriage. Trial marriage. Companionate marriage

             HQ 804 Breach of promise

             HQ 805 Desertion

             HQ 806 Adultery

             HQ 811-960.7 Divorce

             HQ 961-967 Free love

             HQ 981-996 Polygamy

             HQ 997 Polyandry 

             HQ 998-999 Illegitimacy. Unmarried mothers

             HQ 1001-1006 The state and marriage

             HQ 1051-1057 The church and marriage

             HQ 1058-1058.5 Widows and widowers. Widowhood

             HQ1060-1064 Aged. Gerontology (Social aspects). Retirement

     HQ 1073-1073.5 Thanatology. Death. Dying

     HQ 1075-1075.5 Sex role

     HQ 1088-1090.7 Men

     HQ 1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism

             HQ 1871-2030.7 Women's clubs

     HQ 2035-2039 Life skills. Coping skills. Everyday living skills

     HQ 2042-2044 Life style

  • Abortion
  • Abused Women
  • Actresses
  • African American Women
  • Businesswomen
  • Femininity
  • Feminism
  • Feminist Criticism
  • Feminist Theory
  • Minority Women
  • Multiculturalism
  • Pro Life Movement
  • Older Women
  • Urban Women
  • Women
  • Women Abolitionists
  • Women and Literature
  • Women and Literature United States
  • Women and Religion
  • Women and War
  • Women Artists
  • Women Athletes
  • Women Authors
  • Women Biography
  • Women Diseases
  • Women Education
  • Women Employment
  • Women Health and Hygiene
  • Women in Politics
  • Women in Science
  • Women Mental Health
  • Women Owned Business Enterprises United States
  • Women Prisoners
  • Women Psychology
  • Women School Administrators
  • Women Slaves
  • Women Social Conditions
  • Women Soldiers
  • Women Teachers
  • Women United States Biography
  • Women World War
  • Women With Disabilities
  • Womens Health Services
  • Womens Rights
  • Womens Studies

   Selected Reference Resources

Selected Encyclopedias

  A to Z of American Women in Sports  Ref GV 697 .A1 E28 2002

  Distinguished Women Economists  Ref HB 76 .C53 2003

  Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender  Ref HQ 1115 .E43 2001

  Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America  Ref GV 709 .E53 1998

  Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion  Ref BL 458 .E53 1999

  Encyclopedia of Women in Aviation and Space  Ref TL539 .W395 1998

  Encyclopedia of Women in Radio, 1920-1960  Ref PN 1991.8 .W65 E53 2003

  Encyclopedia of Women in the American West  Ref HQ 1438 .W45 E53 2003

  Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World  Ref HQ 1127 .S25 2001

  Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers  Ref HQ 1236 .R29 2001

  Encyclopedia of Women's Health Issues  Ref RA 778 .G39 2002

  Encyclopedia of Women's History in America  Ref HQ 1410 .C85 2000

  From Suffrage to the Senate: an Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics  Ref HQ 1236 .5 .U6 S32 1999

  Historical Encyclopedia of American Women Entrepreneurs: 1776 to the Present  Ref HF 3023 .A2 O64 2000

  International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage  Ref JF 851 .H28 2000

  Women and American Television: an Encyclopedia  Ref PN 1992.8 .W65 L69 1999

  Women and Music in America Since 1900: an Encyclopedia  Ref ML 82 .W625 2002

  Women in Higher Education: an Encyclopedia  Ref LC 1569 .W66 2002

  Women in Medicine: an Encyclopedia  Ref R 692 .W545 2002

  Women in the Third World: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues  Ref HQ 1870.9 .W6548 1998

  Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia  Ref HQ 1115.W6 1999

Selected Dictionaries

  An A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts  Ref N 6505 .K59 2002

  American women in science: 1950 to the Present: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref Q 141 .B254 1998

  American Women Writers, 1900-1945: a Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook  Ref PS 151 .A45 2000

  Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists  Ref HB 76 .B535 2000

  Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science; Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century  Ref Q 141 .B5285 2000

  Black Women Scientists in the United States  Ref Q 141 .W3677 1999

  Celebrating Women Coaches: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref GV 697 .A1 H367 2000

  Concise Dictionary of Women Artists   Ref N 8354 .D532 2001

  Concise Glossary of Feminist Theory  Ref HQ 1115 .A53 1997

  Contemporary American Women Poets: an A-to-Z Guide   Ref PS 151 .C665 2002

  Contemporary Women Artists  Ref N8354 .C66 1999

  Dictionary of Feminist Theologies  Ref BT 83.55 .D53 1996

  Dictionary of Feminist Theory  Ref HQ 1115 .H86 1995

  Glossary of Feminist Theory  Ref HQ 1190 .A53 1997

  Larousse Dictionary of Women  Ref CT 3202 .L37 1996

  Notable Black American Women  Ref E 185.96 .N68 1992 

  Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American W: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref CT 3290 .N68 2001

  Notable Women in Mathematics: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref QA 28 .N68 1998

 Notable Women in the Life Sciences: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref QH 26 .N68 1996

  Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref Q 141 .N734 1997

  Significant Contemporary American Feminists: a Biographical Sourcebook  Ref HQ 1412 .S56 1999

  Women Filmmakers and Their Films  Ref PN 1998.2 .W66 1998

 

Other Reference Materials

  African American Women Playwrights: a Research Guide  Ref PS 153 .N5 G29 1999

  American Women: Who They Are & How They Live  Ref HQ 1421 .A486 2002

  Century of Women: the Most Influential Events in Twentieth-Century Women's History  Ref HQ 1410 .F44 1998

  Directory of Financial Aids for Women, 2003-2005  Ref LB 2338 .S35 2003

  Guide to Twentieth-Century Women Novelists  Ref PR 888 .W 6 W44 1997

  Handbook of American Women's History  Ref HQ 1410 .H36 2000

  Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender  Ref HQ 1206 .H2385 2001

  In Praise of Black Women: Vol. 2, Heroines of the Slavery Era  Ref HQ 1123 ..S37913 2001

  Men and Women of the Bible: a Reader's Guide  Ref B 5571 .T57 2002

  Prentice-Hall Anthology of Women's Literature  Ref PN 6069 .W65 P74 2000

  Reader's Guide to Women's Studies  Ref HQ 1180 .R43 1998

  Westerns Women: Interviews with 50 Leading Ladies of Movie and Television Westerns from the 1930s to the 1960s  Ref PN 1995.9 W4 M25 1999

  Women's Chronology: a History of Women's Achievements  Ref HQ 1122 .W67 1997

  Women's Firsts  Ref CT 3203 .W66 1996

  Women's Liberation Movement in America  Ref HQ 1421 .B47 1999

 

  Selected Electronic Databases  

To Identify the Latest Article Databases Use the Database Finder


FSU Web access campus or home Academic Search Premier  
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.


FSU Web access campus or home AHSearch  
Arts & Humanities Search. (1980-current). A citation index.


FSU Web access campus or home Alternative Press Index  
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.


FSU Web access campus or home America: History and Life  
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.


FSU Web access campus or home American National Biography  
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history. Click on the "Subscribers Click Here" link in the menu at the top of the page.


FSU Web access campus or home Articles First  
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


FSU Web access campus or home Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.


FSU Web access campus or home Black Women Writers  
Black Women Writers will contain approximately 100,000 pages of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. It will also present essays by scholars and feminists about the history of feminism and genre studies in these regions. There are 13,000 pages of text in this first release.


FSU Web access campus or home Blackwell Synergy  
459,037 articles from 780 leading journals


FSU Web access campus or home Britannica Online  
The complete encyclopedia, with related Internet sites and more. Encyclopedia Britannica.


FSU Web access campus or home British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries  
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.


FSU Web access campus or home Contemporary Women’s Issues  
(1992-current). Contemporary Women's Issues with full text.


FSU Web access campus or home CQ Researcher Online  
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.


FSU Web access campus or home CQ Weekly  
Fully archived to 1983 on the Web, CQ Weekly looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.


FSU Web access campus or home CREDO Reference  
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books (currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface.


FSU Web access campus or home Dissertation Abstracts  
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)  
Provides access to full-text of many of FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts, full-text and title list browsing.


FSU Web access campus or home Ebscohost  
Search up to 24 of FSU's databases simultaneously


FSU Web access campus or home ECO  
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.


FSU Web access campus or home Enciclopedia Universal en Español  
 


FSU Web access campus or home Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
(Current). This resource features over 25,000 informative segments to meet the research needs of elementary, middle, and high schools students.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Ready Reference Shelf  
Integrates 14 of Gale's reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, television and radio stations, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Gale Virtual Reference Library  
A database of E-Book reference titles.


FSU Web access campus or home JSTOR  
STOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.


FSU Web access campus or home Latin American Women Writers  
Literature by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century forward to the present. Literary works, along with memoirs, letters, and essays, comprise the 100,000 pages of works in their original language.


FSU Web access campus or home Master File Premier  
Provides full text for over 1,770 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


FSU Web access campus or home National Women's Health Information Center  
This web site and toll-free call center were created to provide free, reliable health information for women everywhere.


FSU Web access campus or home North American Women’s Letters and Diaries  
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Remote access coming soon. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.


FSU Web access campus or home North American Women's Drama  
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.


FSU Web access campus or home Papers First  
An index of papers presented at conferences.


FSU Web access campus or home Periodical Abstracts  
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others.


FSU Web access campus or home Primary Sources of the Women's Movement  
This edition of Primary Sources of the Women's Movement, 1960 to present includes the full text of 312 reports and publications issued by commissions in more than thirty states.


FSU Web access campus or home Proceedings First  
(1993+). An index of conference publications.


FSU Web access campus or home Project Muse  
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.


FSU Web access campus or home Proquest Dissertations and Theses- Full Text  
More than two million dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present, many of them full text.


FSU Web access campus or home PsychInfo  
1887-current). Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences.


FSU Web access campus or home Reader’s Guide  
(Indexing: 1983+, Abstracting: 1984+). Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.


FSU Web access campus or home Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period  
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.


FSU Web access campus or home Serials Directory  
(Indexing: current). Information includes journal price, e-mail and Internet address.


FSU Web access campus or home SIRS Researcher  
(Indexing: 1988+, Summaries: 1994+). Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.


FSU Web access campus or home Union Lists of Periodicals  
(Current). Journal bibliographic information and Library holdings.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
With Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest.


FSU Web access campus or home Wilson Select Plus  
(1994-current). Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, all with ASCII full text online.


FSU Web access campus or home Women and Social Movements  
"Currently includes 61 document projects with 1,645 documents, and at least 21,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews."


FSU Web access campus or home World Almanac  
The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources.


FSU Web access campus or home World Cat  
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly.

  Selected Journal Titles  

Listed below are selected journal titles owned by the Library. 
To Identify the Latest Journal Titles Use Journal Finder
See a list of titles on
Women's and Gender Studies in Journal Finder.

Women Periodicals
Hecate / [Electronic Resource] 
Heresies / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal Of Gender Studies / [Electronic Resource] 
Ladies' Home Journal 
Ms 
Peace and Freedom [Electronic Resource] 
Signs 
Women's Studies 
Women's World News 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Women Health And Hygiene Periodicals
Fitness 
Health Care For Women International 
Journal Of Women's Health / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal Of Women's Health & Gender-Based Medicine / [Electronic Resource] 
North Carolina Wise Woman Project / [Microform] 
Self 
Wise Woman Project Newsletter / [Microform] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Women United States Periodicals
Executive Female 
Progressive Woman 
Women's Studies Quarterly 
Working Woman 
YM 

 

 

 

 

Womens Studies Periodicals
Australian Feminist Studies / [Electronic Resource] 
Center News / Center For Research On Women, Memphis State University 
Frontiers Journal of Women's History
Gender Issues / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal of Women's History 
Newsletter / Center For Research On Women, Memphis State University 
NWSA Journal : A Publication Of The National Women's Studies Association 
Psychology of Women Quarterly 
Signs 
Women & Criminal Justice 
Women Studies Abstracts 
Women's Studies International Forum / [Electronic Resource] 
Women's Studies Newsletter / [Microform.] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

African American Women Periodicals
Essence 
Sage 
Womanist Theory And Research 

 

 

 

Feminism Periodicals
Australian Feminist Studies / [Electronic Resource] 
Feminist Issues / [Electronic Resource] 
Feminist Studies : FS 
Gender Issues / [Electronic Resource] 
Gender, Place And Culture A Journal Of Feminist Geography / [Electronic Resource]  
Heresies / [Electronic Resource] 
Journal Of Gender Studies / [Electronic Resource] 
Lesbian News / [Electronic Resource] 
Ms 
NWSA Journal : A Publication Of The National Women's Studies Association 
Women's Studies International Forum / [Electronic Resource] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sports For Women Periodicals
Sports Illustrated Women 
Women Sports 
Women's Sports And Fitness 

 

 

 

         Selected Web Sites About Women    


Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan S. Whitfield jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 10/2/09