Young Adult Literature: A Guide

> Previous Page

Listed below is a select guide to resources available at the
Charles W. Chesnutt Library.  If you have any questions, please
contact the Reference Desk at 672-1233.

REFERENCE RESOURCES BOOK REVIEW LITERATURE
AWARDS IN YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE LOCATING JOURNAL ARTICLES ON YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE
ONLINE BOOK REVIEW INTERNET SOURCES PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS & PUBLICATIONS
LAGNIAPPE CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE

 

REFERENCE RESOURCES

    Best Books for Children, preschool through the middle grades.  New York: Bowker, c1985. 

            FSU REF PN1009.A1 G48 1985

    Best Books for Junior High Readers.  New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker, c1991. 

            FSU REF PN1009.A1 B546 1991

    Best Books for Senior High Readers.  New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker, c1991. 

            FSU REF PN1009.A1 .G483 1991

    Best Books for Young Adult Readers.  New Providence, NJ:  R.R. Bowker, c1997.     

            FSU REF Z1037.C176 1997

    Best Books for Young Adults: The Selections, The History, The Romance.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1994. 

            FSU REF PN1009.A1 C34 1991

    Best Books for Young Teen Readers, Grades 7 to 10.  New Providence, NJ:  R.R. Bowker, c2000.

             FSU REF Z1037.B55 2000

    Children's Authors and Illustrators: An Index to Biographical Dictionaries.  Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., c1995.

             FSU REF Z1037.A1 C463 1995

    Children's Authors Speak [electronic resource].  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1993.

             netLibrary

    Children's and Young Adult Literature by Latino Writers: A Guide for Librarians, Teachers, Parents, and Students.  Worthington, Ohio: Linworth Pub., c2002.

             FSU REF PS153.H56 C44 2002

    Children's Book Awards Annual 1998 [electronic resource].  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.

             NetLibrary

    Children's Book Awards International: A Directory of Awards and Winners, From Inception Through 1990.  Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., c1992.

             FSU REF PN1009.A1 S45 1992

    Children's Books: Awards & Prizes: Includes Prizes and Awards for Young Adult Books.  New York: Children's Book Council, c1996.

             FSU REF Z1037.A2 C52 1996

    Children's Books from Other Countries.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

             FSU REF Z1037.C5428 1998

    Children's Literature Review: Excerpts From Reviews, Criticism and Commentary On Books for Children and Young People.  Detroit: Gale Research Company, c1976- . 

            FSU REF Z1037.A1 C5

    Junior High School Library Catalog.  New York: H.W. Wilson Co., 1975.

             FSU MAIN STACKS Z1037.W765 1975

    Storytelling Encyclopedia: Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches To Oral Traditions Around the World.  Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1997.

             FSU REF GR72.S76 1997

 

 

BOOK REVIEW LITERATURE

    The journals listed below are available in the Periodicals area of the library.

  •    BOOKLINKS

  •     BOOK REVIEW INDEX

  •     BOOKLIST

  •     CHILDREN'S LITERATURE ABSTRACTS

  •     CRITICAS

  •     HORN BOOK

  •     NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS

  •     SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL


AWARDS IN YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE

  •     ALEX AWARD

  •      BEST BOOKS FOR YOUNG ADULTS

  •      MARGARET A. EDWARDS AWARD

  •      MICHAEL PRINTZ AWARD

 

LOCATING JOURNAL ARTICLES ON YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE

Databases @ Chesnutt Library

  •    BOOKS IN PRINT WITH REVIEWS

  •     ERIC

  •     INFOTRAC

  •     LITERATURE IN CONTEXT

  •     LITERATURE ONLINE

  •     MAS*FULL-TEXT

  •     MASTERFILE PREMIER

  •     MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY

  •     NOVELIST

  •     PROQUEST DIRECT

  •     PROQUEST EDUCATION

  •     READER'S GUIDE

  •     TWENTIETH CENTURY AFRICAN-AMERICAN POETRY

  •     WHAT DO I READ NEXT?

  •     WORLD CAT

ONLINE BOOK REVIEW INTERNET SOURCES

    AMAZON

            www.amazon.com

    BARNES & NOBLE

            www.bn.com

    BLUE WEBN

            www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/

    BOOKHIVE

            www.bookhive.org

    EMBRACING THE CHILD

            www.embracingthechild.org

    INFOTECH

            www.evalutech.sreb.org

    INTERNATIONAL BOARD OF BOOKS FOR YOUNG PEOPLE

            www.ibby.org

    INTERNET PUBLIC LIBRARY YOUTH DIVISION

            www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/

    KAY E. VANDERGRIFTS SPECIAL INTEREST PAGE

            www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/

    NATIONAL COUNCIL OF TEACHERS OF ENGLISH

            www.ncte.org

    VOYA-VOICE OF YOUTH ADVOCATE

            www.voya.com

    WHAT TO READ: AN ADOLESCENT WEBSITE

            www.people.virginia.edu/~jkby/project/home/html

    YALSA-YOUNG ADULT LIBRARY SERVICES

            www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/htm


PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS & PUBLICATIONS

    AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

            www.ala.org

     NATIONAL COUNCIL OF TEACHERS OF ENGLISH

            www.ncte.org

    READING ON-LINE

            www.readingonline.org

    THE FOUNDATION FOR CHILDREN'S BOOKS

            www.thefcb.org


LAGNIAPPE

    STORYTELLING RESOURCE CENTRE

            www.thestorytelling-resource-centre.com

    INTERNET SCHOOL LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER

            http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramsey/index.html

    HANDBOOK FOR STORYTELLERS

            http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil.storyhandbook.handbook.htm

    ALAN REVIEW- THE ASSEMBLY ON LITERATURE FOR ADOLESCENTS OF NCTE

            www.alan-ya.org

  

CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE

    CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING FICTION BOOKS

            www.evalutech.sreb.org/criteria/fiction.asp

    CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING NONFICTION BOOKS

            www.evalutech.sreb.org/criteria/nonfiction.asp

 


Illustrator:  Joseph D. Bates  FSU Visual Arts Major


 

 

Page Maintained By:  Bernadette M. Ross bross@uncfsu.edu

 

Charles W. Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University,  Fayetteville, NC  28301

 

06/30/2010 04:16:15 PM -0400