Mathematics and Computer
Science
> Previous Page
This subject guide introduces you to some sources of
information about professional mathematics and Computer Science held in the
Charles W. Chesnutt Library
of
Fayetteville State University.
All of
the materials can be found using the library’s Online Catalog (INNOPAC). To
identify the latest Reference and Main Stacks resources always use
FSU’s Automated Catalog.
Browse by Call Number
or Subject Headings
|
Library of
Congress Call Numbers and Subject Headings
QA = Mathematics and Computer Science |
|
QA 1-939 Mathematics QA
1-43 General
QA
47-59 Tables
QA
71-90 Instruments and Machines
QA
75-76.95 Calculating Machines
QA
75.5-76.95 Electronic Computers.
Computer Science
QA
76.75-76.765 Computer Software
QA
101-(145) Elementary Mathematics.
Arithmetic
QA
150-272.5 Algebra
QA
273-280 Probabilities.
Mathematical Statistics
QA
299.6-433 Analysis
QA
440-699 Geometry. Trigonometry.
Topology
QA 801-939 Analytic
Mechanics |
-
Algebra
-
Algorithms
-
Arithmetic
-
Biometry
-
Calculators
-
Computer Algorithms
-
Computer Animation
-
Computer Architecture
-
Computer Assisted
Instruction
-
Computer Bulletin Boards
-
Computer Engineering
-
Computer Games
-
Computer Graphics
-
Computer Literacy
-
Computer Music
-
Computer Networks
-
Computer Programming
-
Computer Programs
-
Computer Science
-
Computer Security
-
Computer Software
-
Computer Viruses
-
Computers
-
Counting
-
Electronic Records
-
Expert Systems Computer
Science
-
Geometry
-
Information Storage and
Retrieval Systems
-
Logic Symbolic and
Mathematical
-
Mathematical Statistics
-
Mathematics
-
Multivariate Analysis
-
Sampling Statistics
-
Science Methodology
-
Software Engineering
-
Statistics
-
Trigonometry
-
Word Problems Mathematics
-
Word Processing
|
Selected Dictionaries,
Encyclopedias and Biographical Works
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias provide background material, define key concepts
and vocabulary, and are often a good place to start your research.
Biographical works give background on the mathematicians and their times.
Mathematics Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library
Biographical Encyclopedia of
Mathematicians Ref QA 28 .B544 1999
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
[electronic resource]
Agnes Scott College Website
QA 28 Internet
Birth of
Mathematics: Ancient Times to 1300 Main Stacks QA 28
.B73 2006
Calculus Gems:
Brief Lives and Memorable Mathematics Main Stacks QA
21 .S54 2007
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical
Sciences On Order
3/15/04
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Ref QA 5 .W45 2003
Encyclopedia
of History of the Arabic Science Ref Q 127 .A5 E53 1996
Encyclopedia of
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
and Its Applications (Several volumes, cataloged separately. Do a
keyword search on title.)
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
Ref QA 11 .E665 2001
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Ref QA 5 T34 2005
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences Ref QA 276.14 .E5 1982-1988
Mathematical Apocrypha: Stories and
Anecdotes of Mathematicians and the Mathematical Main
Stacks QA 99 .K73 2002
Notable Mathematicians: From Ancient Times to
the Present Ref QA 28 .N66 1998
Prentice-Hall Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Ref QA 5 .P7 1982
VNR
Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics Main
Stacks Ref QA 40 .V18 1977 |
Mathematics Dictionaries Available in Chesnutt Library
Dictionary of Mathematics
Ref QA 5 .D4988 1999
Dictionary of Quotations in Mathematics
Ref QA 99 .D53 2002
Facts
on File Dictionary of Mathematics
Ref QA 5 .F35 1999
Magill's Survey of Science. Applied Science Series.
Ref TA 145 .M298 1993
Mathematics Dictionary
Ref QA 5 .J33 1992
Notable Women in Mathematics: a Biographical Dictionary
Ref QA 28 .N68 1998 |
Computer Science Encyclopedias Available in Chesnutt Library
Concise Encyclopedia
of the Ethics of New Technologies Ref QH 332 .C66 2001
Encyclopedia of Computer
Science Ref QA 76.15 .E48 2000
Encyclopedia of
Computer Science and Technology Ref
QA 76.15 .E5 1992
v.25
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology Ref
QA 76.15
.H43 2003
Microsoft Encyclopedia of
Networking Ref TK
5102 .T85 2002 |
Computer Science Dictionaries Available in Chesnutt Library
Computer
and Information Science and Technology Abbreviations and Acronyms
Dictionary Main
Stacks
QA76.15 .S63 1994
Computer & Internet
Dictionary for Ages 9 to 99 Ref TK 5105.875 .I57 B47 2001
Computer Graphics Dictionary
Circulation New Books T 385 .S772 2002
Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology
Ref QA76.15 .D5258 2001
Facts
On File Dictionary of Computer Science
Ref
QA76.15 .F345 2001
Webster's New World
Computer Dictionary Ref QA 76.15 .P395 2003 |
Mathematics and Computer Science are far more decentralized
than many other fields in terms of journal articles. The core mathematics
literature is indexed in MathSciNet, but MathSciNet does not track
mathematics articles that appear in primarily non-mathematics journals. Many
other databases do track articles of interest to the mathematics and
computer science community. If you are working in applied mathematics or
computer science and need a literature database in another field, use the
Database Finder or
ask a reference librarian for assistance.
The electronic databases
listed below are available through the
Charles W. Chesnutt Library. The databases are available on or
off campus. In
order access resources from off-campus, patrons must identify themselves as FSU
affiliates by entering their name, University ID number and library PIN.
Mathematics Specific
MathSciNet
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering
the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides Web
access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research
literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
SpringerLink
for researchers in biomedicine, life science,
clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science,
humanities, and economics.
Wiley
Features over 1,000 journals, major
reference works, online books, including Information
Science and Computing and Mathematics and Statistics,
Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and
databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources. |
Computer Science Specific
ACM Portal
Association for Computing Machinery
IEEE
Computer Society Digital Library
The IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
provides online access to 22 society magazines and transactions and over
1,200 selected conference proceedings
InfoSci/IGI-Global
"Peer-reviewed research in computer science and
information technology management. The database provides access to many
journals…" And now E books as well.
SpringerLink
for researchers in biomedicine, life science,
clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science,
humanities, and economics.
Wiley
Features over 1,000 journals, major
reference works, online books, including Information
Science and Computing and Mathematics and Statistics,
Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and
databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources.
|
General Resources
Academic Search Premier
(Indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+).
Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social
sciences, humanities, education and more. |
Articles
First
Indexes journals in science, technology,
medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. |
CREDO
Reference
CREDO Reference, formerly Xreferplus, is a
digital reference library, which contains all types of reference books
(currently 169 titles) that you'd want to see in any library:
dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to
mention a host of subject-specific titles covering: art, bilinguals,
biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food,
geography, history, language law, literature, medicine, music,
philosophy & psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences,
technology. Features include a concept mapping search interface. |
Dissertation Abstracts
(Indexing: 1861+, Abstracting
Dissertations: 1980+, Abstracting Theses: 1988+). The complete range of
academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited
institutions. |
Ebsco Electronic Journal Service (EJS)
Provides access to full-text of many of
FSU's online journal subscriptions and also EJS Journals via pay per
view. Includes searching in article titles, journal titles, abstracts,
full-text and title list browsing. |
ECO
(Electronic Collection Online). An OCLC
collection of scholarly journals. |
Eventline
(1989-current). Scheduled conventions,
exhibits, etc., worldwide. |
FactSearch
(1984-current). Facts and statistics on
topics of current interest. |
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of E-Book reference titles. |
|
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news,
business, legal and reference information. |
Master
File Premier
Provides full text for over 1,770 general
reference, business, consumer health, general science, and
multi-cultural periodicals. |
|
Mental
Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute at the
University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a
comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to
experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential
for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as
psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by
Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable
judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly
complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the
present. |
NCLIVE
A core group of reference and research
materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and
indexes. |
Papers
First
An index of papers presented at
conferences. |
Periodical
Abstracts
(1987-current). Abstracts from general and
academic journals, covering business, current affairs, economics,
literature, religion, psychology, women's studies, and others. |
ProQuest
Direct
Search up to a dozen Proquest databases
simultaneously |
Science
Direct
ScienceDirect is the unsurpassed single
source for scientific, technical and medical information on the
Internet. Researchers can access a critical mass of the world's STM
journal titles and full-text articles |
Statistical
Universe
The world's most comprehensive access to
U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service,
Inc. |
Web
of Science
Covers over 8,000 international journals in
the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. |
Wilson
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
With Full text of articles from over 1,750
publications and Article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500
publications, Wilson OmniFile is especially convenient for users with
inquiries in areas that cross disciplines—ethnic studies, women’s
studies, history, and more. Wilson OmniFile is even helpful to those who
are unsure which specialty to search for their topic of interest. |
World
Cat
Union catalog of materials held in
libraries world-wide. Coverage: Updated regularly. |
|
Another way to find
relevant periodicals is by doing a keyword search in the Chesnutt Library
Catalog using the Subject Headings for Computer Science and Mathematics. A
number of Subject Headings are listed in the table at the beginning of this
page. Go to the Library’s catalog and select keyword search, type (subject
heading) and periodicals in the search box. Example: Keyword Searching
(Computer Assisted Instruction) and periodicals to see results.
Library of Congress
Subject Heading = Mathematics Periodicals
|
Acta Mathematica Sinica
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
American Journal Of Mathematics
|
|
The American Mathematical Monthly : The Official Journal Of
The Mathematical Association Of America
|
|
Annales Scientifiques De L'École Normale Supérieure
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
Annals Of Mathematics
|
|
Applied Mathematical Modelling
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
Applied Mathematics And Computation
|
|
Applied Mathematics Letters
|
|
Bulletin Des Sciences Mathématiques
/ [Computer Data] |
|
Bulletin (New Series) Of The American Mathematical Society
|
|
Bulletin Of The American Mathematical Society
|
|
Canadian Mathematical Bulletin = Bulletin Canadien De
Mathématiques
|
|
The College Mathematics Journal : An Official Publication Of
The Mathematical Association Of America
|
|
Comptes Rendus De L'Académie Des Sciences.
/ Série I, Mathématique [Electronic Resource]
|
|
Comptes Rendus.
/ Mathématique [Electronic Resource]
|
|
Duke Mathematical Journal
|
|
European Journal Of Applied Mathematics
|
|
Experimental Mathematics
|
|
Illinois Journal Of Mathematics
|
|
Indiana University Mathematics Journal
|
|
International Journal Of Mathematical Education In Science
And Technology
|
|
International Journal Of Mathematics
|
|
Journal Des Mathématiques Pures Et Appliquées
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
Journal Of Computational And Applied Mathematics
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
Journal Of The American Mathematical Society / American Mathematical Society
|
|
Journal Of The European Mathematical Society
/ [Electronic Resource]
|
|
Journal Of The London Mathematical Society
|
|
Journal Of Undergraduate Mathematics
|
|
Mathematical Biosciences
/ [Electronic Resource] |
|
The Mathematical Intelligencer
|
|
Mathematical Reviews
|
|
Mathematics And Computers In Simulation
|
|
Mathematics Magazine
|
|
Mathematics Of Operations Research
|
|
The Mathematics Teacher
|
|
The Michigan Mathematical Journal
|
|
Notices Of The American Mathematical Society
|
|
Pacific Journal Of Mathematics
|
|
Proceedings Of The American Mathematical Society
|
|
Proceedings Of The Edinburgh Mathematical Society
|
|
Quantum
|
|
The Quarterly Journal Of Mathematics.
/ Oxford Series |
|
Quarterly Of Applied Mathematics
|
|
The Rocky Mountain Journal Of Mathematics
|
|
SIAM Journal On Applied Mathematics
|
|
SIAM Journal On Computing
|
|
SIAM Journal On Discrete Mathematics : A Publication Of The
Society For Industrial And Applied Mathematics
/ SIAM |
|
SIAM Review
|
|
Transactions Of The American Mathematical Society
|
Keyword Search = (Computer Science)
and Periodicals
|
Java report
|
|
Bibliographic guide to computer science
|
|
SIAM journal on discrete mathematics : a
publication of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
|
|
Neural networks : the official journal of the
International Neural Network Society
|
|
International journal of expert systems
[electronic resource]
|
|
Discrete mathematics
|
|
SIGCSE bulletin
|
|
ACM guide to computing literature
|
|
News & notes from Sitterson Hall [microform] /
the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Depa
|
|
Year 2000 practitioner [electronic resource]
|
|
International journal of neural systems
[electronic resource]
|
|
International journal of software engineering and
knowledge engineering [electronic resource] : SEKE
|
|
Data & knowledge engineering [electronic
resource]
|
|
International journal of approximate reasoning
[electronic resource]
|
|
Knowledge-based systems [electronic resource]
|
|
Neurocomputing [electronic resource]
|
|
Engineering applications of artificial
intelligence [electronic resource]
|
|
Artificial intelligence in engineering
[electronic resource]
|
|
Theoretical computer science [electronic
resource]
|
|
Expert systems with applications [electronic
resource]
|
Electronic Journals can be accessed through
Journal Finder.
Journal Finder is an integrated search interface that
searches journal, newspaper, magazine, and newsletter titles. Using Journal
Finder you can determine if the library provides electronic access or owns a
print copy, find out which other libraries may have print copies, and order
copies of articles. If a title is listed in Journal Finder then the library
offers immediate online access to a significant amount of full text for that
title and/or the library owns some printed issues of that title.
Relevant subjects in Journal Finder
Computer
Science: robotics, artificial intelligence
Mathematics:
statistics
Mathematics Related Web Sites
Mathematics
PrePrints.
http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/
AMS Preprint
Collections (numerous preprint servers organized by topic and location)
American
Mathematical Society
http://www.ams.org/
Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the American
Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that
promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education,
and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to
other disciplines and to everyday life. [quote from web site] This site has a
variety of resources for people interested in mathematics including a list of
web sites and news stories about math.
Penn State
Mathematics Library
The Penn State
Mathematics Library has an extensive list of mathematical resources.
Societies and
Associations
Biographical
Information
Math Institutes and
Centers
Math Specialties Pages
NIST National
Institute of Standards and Technology
http://math.nist.gov/
This site provides information about activities and services at NIST related to
applied mathematics and computer science.
Math Archives
http://archives.math.utk.edu/
The goal of the Mathematics Archives is to provide organized Internet access to
a wide variety of mathematical resources. The primary emphasis is on materials
which are used in the teaching of mathematics. Currently the Archives is
particularly strong in its collection of educational software. Other areas,
ranging from laboratory notebooks and problem sets to lecture notes and reports
on innovative methods, are growing.
A second strength of the Archives is its extensive collection of links to other
sites that are of interest to mathematicians. Resources available through these
links include electronic journals, preprint services, grant information, and
publishers of mathematical software, texts, and journals.
These educational resources and the organized collection of links combine to
make the Mathematics Archives a comprehensive site for mathematics on the
Internet. [quote from website]
Computer Science Web Sites
Computing Research
Association
http://www.cra.org/
The Computing
Research Association (CRA) is an association of more than 200 North American
academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related
fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging
in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies. [from web
site]
American
Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
http://www.aaai.org/
Association for
Computing Machinery (ACM)
http://www.acm.org/
Canadian
Association of Computer Science (CACS/AIC)
http://www.cs.usask.ca/spec_int/cacs/
Centro
Latinoamericano de Estudios en Informatica (CLEI)
http://www.clei.cl/
Computing Research
and Education Association of Australasia (CORE)
http://www.core.edu.au/
IEEE Computer
Society (IEEE CS)
http://www.computer.org/
Society for
Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
http://www.siam.org/
UK Computing
Research Committee (UKCRC)
http://www.ukcrc.org.uk/
USENIX Association
http://www.usenix.org/
BACK TO TOP

Charles W.
Chesnutt Library, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, N.C. 28301
Page Maintained By: Jan Whitfield
jwhitfield@uncfsu.edu
Last Updated: 2/25/10 |